We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Forewarned by hotel info about smallness of rooms. Most comfortable bed I have had in a hotel. Rooms very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast on first morning chaotic - woefully inadequate food/crockery/cutlery and understaffed. But the two staff on duty kept cheerful and did their best. The young Italian waitress deserved a medal (Ariane?). Management must have known hotel was full and should have anticipated problems. Improved next day after complaints. No staff on duty at entrance to breakfast to check on who had paid in advance - anyone could have walked in, even from the street!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking a minute of your time and let us know about your stay in our hotel. I am sorry to read that our breakfast service did not meet your expectations the first day.

On top of that, I will definetely share your kind comment with Arianna. I am sure she will be happy to know about it.

I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    543
    412
    166
    112
See reviews for
221
568
143
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed for one night in February for a birthday party at Gunwharf... only a 10 min taxi ride away (about 4 quid each way), so the location was good.

Nice budget hotel. The lobby is large with plenty of seating around the bar and pool table. Reception staff were friendly when checking in.

The room was a bit small, but very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The only downside was the size of the bathroom. Shockingly small... beware if you're of bigger build like me!

Drinks and snacks at the bar were very expensive (£1.50 for a Mars Bar!!), but you expect that in hotels.

Breakfast was very good - nice selection of hot and cold, constantly being restocked as well. When we arrived there were no plates or cutlery, but as soon as we asked they were on the case. There only seemed to be one girl trying to do everything.

All in all, a pleasant stay... would definitely stay again for the cost!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martynuk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your nice review. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I pre booked a one night stay at the Portsmouth Centre. Check in friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and comfortable, however clothing hang up space is at a premium as is the toilet arrangement in the en suite.
The hotel has a Restaurant/breakfast area as well as a bar. Service at the Restaurant on my visit seemed stretched with one couple kept waiting an excessive amount of time, especially when they were due out to attend a concert.
Breakfast bar set up in the mornings with eat as much as you want, - separate charge levied.
Food overall good, though the bacon was a soggy mass!
Limited car parking available on site. - Good location for most of Central Portsmouth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review about your stay at Ibis Portsmouth. We always appreciate constructive feedback like yours, and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excellent budget hotel. Rooms small but well organized. Bed against wall, access to bed from only one-side....but interesting for couple to share!! Bathroom tiny for big man!
Cooked breakfast better than some expensive hotels. Excellent, happy, conscientious waiting staff. Recommend hotel for food and bar by itself. Good value.
Slightly let down by receptionist: She did not ask for a credit card so could not charge food and bar to room, but easily put right. No printed bill offered on checkout. Same girl.
Fair walk to dockyard and shops but good quietish position.
Ibis consistently good the world over.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. It is a pleasure to receive positive and constructive comments from all our guests, and we will take into consideration what you let us know about your stay.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great value, great location, short walk to the harbour or city centre. Rooms are very compact but clean and have everything you need including a comfy bed. The lobby and restaurant shame many 3/4 star hotels. The public areas have recently been refurbished and look great. The buffet breakfast was very good and the coffee machine makes better hot chocolate and mocha than costa! If your staying in Portsmouth this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Near a nightclub so be prepared for some loud music till the early hours if facing out to the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jms000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice comments. It is great to receive constructive and positive feedback, and I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you liked our new lobby. We love it too!

I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just for one night and I think it was sufficient for just that. Located in a handy position to central Portsmouth, and other local areas and shopping, the Ibis provides budget accommodation in small rooms and an en-suite bathroom that is certainly designed for only one person at a time.

With two large suitcases and other small baggage, the room was quickly left with no space to move around. The staff were friendly; the breakfast very nice with a good selection and supply. Overall, the hotel and the room was well maintained, nicely presented and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for letting us know about your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, and I am happy to read that, apart from the size of your room, you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing