We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, perfect breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, perfect breakfast”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent there few nights and were very satisfied. The rooms are small, that's true, but we didn't spent much time there, since the Portsmouth is a really nice place to visit. What was a highlight of the stay, were the breakfasts, very good, fresh, tasty (except for the eggs prepared front instant egg powder, but they serve these everywhere), for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Take your earplugs, the street is quite noisy, especially during the clubbing nights on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    559
    428
    168
    116
See reviews for
224
588
150
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for two nights. Room was small but spotless. Bathroom (toilet area) is really small....a bigger person may have an issue in this room. Bed was comfortable, but the pillows were awful (hard). Called reception to ask if they had any others and was informed there's only the one kind although they did offer to give me another. Parking is good and convenient but there is an extra charge for parking. We found our room quite noisy ....pub x street (Monday night crowd). Once the pub patrons shut their party down it was fine. I would stay again but would bring my own pillow next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review. We always appreciate constructive feedback.

I am sorry to read that our pillows were too hard for you, but at least I am happy to see that you enjoyed our fantastic brand new bed!

I will be looking forward to hearing from you very soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very good hotel which is not cheap but not expensive for the place that it is. It's in the heart of Portsmouth very near to commercial road and Gunwharf. The rooms are a little bit small but is clean as hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, but above all, I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in Ibis Portsmouth.

I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here to catch the morning ferry. Thank good ness it was only one night.
The smallest double bedroom I've ever stayed in. The bathroom was a cupboard in which there was hardly room to swing a cat. Never again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyjAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for taking a minute of your time to write this review about your stay.

I am deeply sorry to read that this time your stay did not meet your expectations.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Hamble, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a budget hotel for sure.

Staff.
Very good, friendly, knowledgeable, multi-lingual.

Breakfast.
Surprisingly good, basic, simple but good. Not much choice.

Room.
Clean, small, compact, no real facilities apart from 3* inclusions such as TV, beds hard.

Bathroom.
Clean, no toiletries but very small of corner of room. The bathroom port hole window almost fell out (10 floors up) when I opened it!

I would not return on business but this is fine for 2* to 3* quality.

Ideal for: travellers, backpackers, tourists and those on a budget.

Room Tip: Take a high up floor facing away from the main road and nightclub quarter of guildhall square to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to receive such a constructive feedback, which will help us to keep on improving our services.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The room and bathroom were on the small side but they were spotless. The bed was very comfortable and the location was perfect being about 5 minutes walk from Portsmouth and Southsea station. The hotel was ideal for my needs and as always with Ibis hotels the staff were very good. I have been to Portsmouth a number of times and stayed elsewhere but in future I will use the Ibis.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for such a nice review and your kind words about our hotel and staff. I will share your comments with them.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will be looking forward to hearing from you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,216 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing