We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Leeds
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Super budget hotel in a central area 20 minutes walk to the Historic Dockyard and Gunwharfe were there are numerous restaurants. Staff were efficient and friendly. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed amazingly comfy. Breakfast was good and varied. Free wifi through out and a pool table.
I didn't give a five as the bathroom was tiny - no room to linger, and the car park inadequate - we managed to get the last place - but if you can get in its worth the £7 if you'r exploring on foot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunholstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us in Ibis Portsmouth. I am glad to see that you enjoyed it.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon again.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    543
    414
    166
    112
See reviews for
221
569
144
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Not withstanding the ludicrous £110 a night charge which was then further hiked by a £7.50 parking charge and £8.00 per person charge for breakfast, this has to be one of the worst hotels I've stayed in. The room was tiny and the bathroom so ridiculously small you could barely fit sideways into the shower. The window had a chain preventing opening and as a hotel with no air con, the internal temperature of the room was sweltering. The prison like room had a third bed which we did not need or ask for resulting in such a small floor space, you couldn't even walk past your partner. Not a single picture adorned the walls. The parking was at least secure but this is not close to the old dockyard or harbourside development. It's at least thirty minutes on foot or £7.50 in a taxi. The buffet breakfast that continued on until midday was the only good thing about our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WaterwaysExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for spend a minute of your time and write this review about your stay.

I am so sorry to see that your night with us did not meet your expectations.

I will be looking forward to hearing again from you very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Ideal location for Uni open day like us! Right next door. Hotel is easy to find from station, few mins walk. Nice open airy reception, very Ikea looking. Rooms are small but have what you need, especially if it just an overnight or two. We were three in a room and could manouver round each other ok. Bathroom is bijoux, no locks either which is a bit odd. Only gripe was no air con and it was a bit warm in the room even with window ajar. However no noise from outside, or from other guests. Breakfast was good, plenty of hot buffet selection, and continental too.
Staff were a little under pressure though in the morning and could not help if you needed extras as they were busy with a line of guests entering the restaurant. But on the whole, it is good value for money and we will choose this hotel group again for a different trip elsewhere.

Room Tip: Possibly higher floor for less noise / street noise, although we were at the side of the building an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dranrab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. It is nice to receive constructive feedback, and I will share it with my colleagues.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our UK holiday. Very central to most things including the port areas Over all every Ibis Hotel we stayed at were of a high standard so do not let the budget price turn you off booking

Room Tip: Good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice comments. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you again soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Horrendous hotel.. £70 for a room not worth that money. The carpet in the room was soaking wet in areas. £7 for a car parking space that your not going to get and £7.95 for a breakfast that was cold, served on plates that you can't fit anything on and they didn't replenish anything that ran out. If I'd paid £30 for the night then I could understand but I don't think £70 is really budget

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annoyed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking a minute of your time to write this review. We always appreciate constructive feedback.

I am sorry to read that, this time, your stay did not meet your expectations.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you again soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We chose this hotel due to it's central location and weren't disappointed. When we arrived the receptionist was very helpful changing our twin room to an adapted room for my son who is in a wheelchair. The room was spotless and the bed extremely comfortable. The young lady waitress in the restaurant for our evening meal was most helpful and cheerful. The food was tasty and piping hot. All the staff were very helpful. It was a pity that there was only one girl trying her best to sort all the guests out on her own at breakfast. We had to wait 25 minutes for the sausages and bacon to be replenished so we could have our cooked breakfast. She still served everyone with a smile on her face. We would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice comments about our staff. I will share them with them.

Of course, I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will be looking forward to hearing from you very soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing