We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff - bathrooms a joke!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Burnley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff - bathrooms a joke!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Car park very small and expensive. Bar drinks very expensive. Rooms basic but clean and functional. The bathrooms are TINY. All level access but if you have any kind of walking difficulty or use a whelchair you MUST ask for an accessible room as you will not be able to get a wheelchair in the bedrooms and the bathroom would be completely out of bounds. There is a large step up into the tiny shower pod so he very careful. The staff were excellent and friendly and the downstairs bar and restaurant area are roomy and nice to sit in. Would stay here again if only needed a night or two but would definitely ask for an accessible room. Room rates are high for what you get. Prefer Premier Inn for size of bathrooms.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind comments. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, but I am sorry to read that you were not happy with the size of the bathroom.

I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    552
    423
    168
    115
See reviews for
222
583
148
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spent 2 nights here during the August bank holiday weekend.
As an Ibis hotel, it's very basic, and we knew what to expect. But the price (£110) was very high for a hotel so basic, and it shows, because while all other hotels in the city were fully booked for this particular weekend, this one still had rooms available.
Also, normal (free) internet connection was only 0.4 Mbps, which is closer to dial-up speed than broadband, I think the minimum should be around 1 Mbps, it's 2014 after all. If you want faster internet you have to pay £3 per day. I didn't, so I don't know what speed is that.
The tiniest bathroom I ever been to (bar those of cruise liners), I think it'd be a problem for people of big size (not my case anyway).
The rest was fine, and staff was friendly and attentive.
Location is not the best, but not real bad either, it's a good 20 minutes walk to the seafront and all the attractions there.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms at this property are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovecraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us last bank holiday. It is a pleasure to receive such a constructive feedback.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you again oon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel served it's purpose - somewhere to sleep.

As other guests have mentioned rooms and bathrooms are very small.

Confusion over where my room was to be charged back to is still ongoing, and if I'm honest doesn't surprise me as the reception staff were not very efficent at the point of checking in.

Breakfast didn't look too appealing so gave it a miss.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comments. I am sorry to read about the problems that you experienced, and I really hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay.

I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I went to Portsmouth for the annual meetup with the lads. This time I went to this Ibis instead of the one by fratton park. This is alot better and about the same price (as it was bank holiday weekend) but to my shock, you HAVE to pay for parking at the hotel car park. I mean who does that?

If it wasn't for the fact of the £7 charge per day, it would have gotten more stars.

I think it should be sorted :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthvader666uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind comments. It is a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
742 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here last night. Nice updated reception area and restaurant. 15 minute wait for eggs at breakfast though, at 9am, not so good, waiter kept saying '2 minutes'. Room small but adequate, bathroom ridiculously small and shower (room 130) just a trickle, very unsatisfactory. Good location though and thought £7 car parking was good value. Late booking, but £95 room only was excessive for the product offering. On that basis, cannot recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comments. Constructive feedback are always appreciated.

I am sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations this time.

I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Rivoli, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight before coming back home by ferry. The hotel has quite a stylish and impressive hall and a spacious lounge and it is a 15 minute walk to the Historic Dockyard and Gunwharf shopping centre.
I have been staying in Ibis hotels in France many times therefore I was really surprised and disappointed at the poor quality of the room and service I got. Our double bedroom on the third floor was very small, the bed was so close to the wall that I couldn't walk around and the pillows were awful. The bathroom was so tiny that it is quite unusable. Ibis hotels used to be a good choice with competitive prices but I really think that the fare of £90 for a double room without breakfast and parking is too much for such a cramped room.
The male receptionist was not very friendly and welcoming.
I wouldn't use this hotel again. Not to recommend.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patpet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comments. Constructive feedback are always appreciated.

I am sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations this time.

I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Arrived at midnight after boat from France. No places left in car park but receptionist placed us right outside entrance for free, did the same for our second night. All we needed for a 2 night stay, small double room but everything well arranged. Shower excellent, bed VERY comfortable. All staff VERY helpful. Breakfast EXCELLENT with wide variety of choice and self service meant unlimited amounts! Central location, so easy access on foot to historic Portsmouth and Gunwharf Quays for shopping.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianR122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind comments. It is a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback, and I will share it with the rest of my team, including breakfast people!

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing