We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find a youth hostel instead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Find a youth hostel instead”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Although it is a budget hotel the decor and quality of the bedrooms was poor and the bathroom allowed you to use all three main sanitary wares at the same time!!! If the staff forget your towels you need to collect them yourself from reception.
Fine if you can get the basic cost room at the lowest price for enjoying the sights of portsmouth but if you end up paying the higher tariff we think you'll be disappointed.
Reception and bar area fine but the poor bar man on his own struggling to serve and make sandwiches.
Bedrooms were clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Dear Customer,

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I’ll look into this matter for
you! If you have 5-mins, please give me a call to discuss.

Kind regards,

Gergely Kollin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    560
    428
    168
    117
See reviews for
225
589
150
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liveaboards
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We are regular users of Ibis and the Accor chain hotels (we even have them on our Tom Tom GPS) so it was a shock to find such a terrible place. We booked though Booking.com (which we use frequently, excellent service) but when we arrived the hotel said they did not have a room for us. Booking.com sorted it out and Ibis found that they'd had a sudden 'cancellation'. Anyway, everything else about this hotel was truly awful and summed up above. There were people who sounded drunk shouting in the corridors until well past midnight and the management refused to do anything.

However the car park is secure, not too expensive (£3 per night) and it is very close to the ferry terminal (we had an early am ferry to catch).

My message to the management (Ibis, that is) is to sack the local management and bulldoze the hotel. Then build a new hotel to modern standards and try to choose better staff next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to
discuss with you in person. Please could you call me on 02392 640 000.
Many thanks
Gergely Kollin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Westbury,Wilts
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Good place for Portsmouth station 10 mins walk. Central near pubs and clubs

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay
and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gergely Kollin
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I booked this hotel for a colleague for a single nights stay. The feedback from the stay is extremely colourful to day the very least! Cramped accomodation! The bathroom was tiny with a shower in the corner that barely allowed you rrom to wash. The tiolet was so close to the ooposite wall that you grazed your knees when you sat on it. Also the batroom door did not reach all the way to the floor, it was reminscent of o public tiolet door! The all you can eat breakfast was served on the smallest plat - ennough room for 2 sausages and a slat of scrambled egg! Certainly will not be booking again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daren-Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2010
Really sorry to hear that your colleauge's stay wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to discuss with you in person.
Please could you call me on 023 92 640 000.
Thank you
Gary Kollin
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2010

stayed at this hotel on a business trip. This is a typical Ibis, you get what it says on the tin...
No fuss, cleanliness, friendly staff, great service, confortable bed.
A special mention to the Manager Gary whom was looking after his customers and could not do enough to ensure all was fine with my stay.
Will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irish-magoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Dear Customer,

many thanks for your positive comments which I have passed on to the entire team at Ibis Portsmouth.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Gergely Kollin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We were going for an overnight stay after watching a football match at portsmouth fc, we found it to be a good central location for football and bars, rooms/bathroom are on the small side, but for what we wanted this was not an issue. If we were to visit again i would not hesitate to book this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topten_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Dear Customer,

We can not thank you enough for sharing this with your fellow travellers.

It is allways a pleasure to see the hard work of the team paying off.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Gergely Kollin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Stayed one night and that was enough. Maybe continental types enjoy this sort of hotel. No real amenties to speak of, dirty carpet and cramped quarters. Ended up leaving after one night and staying at the Holiday in Express in Gunwharf Quay. At the time the difference in price was marginal plus a better location and streets ahead.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilFox007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS_HOTEL, manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment but I was sorry to learn you did not enjoy your stay with us. I aplogize for the state of the carpet and if you could let me know about your room number so that we can action on that.
I am sorry again that our city centre location did not compensate you for the size of the room.

Wishing you all the best

Regards

Gergely Kollin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing