We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Stayed here for two nights at the end of May, and can't believe some of the reviews below! We paid £60 per night between us which for a decent chain like IBIS and a superb location was a good deal!

There is a secure car park round the back of the hotel and check in was nice and smooth. Rooms are decent, possibly a tad small but don't suppose anyone staying in a city centre hotel is going to be spending much time in their room..... The bathroom again was on the small side, but the shower was superb and easy to use which was a pleasant surprise as some hotels showers are hopeless and are not clear which was to turn for hot/cold etc!

The staff were really friendly as well, and went out of their way to help and answer any queries.

Location is great, the strip of bars/clubs is on the doorstep and the sea front/Gunwharf about a 10-15 min walk.

Would definately recommend, as it did seem a lot cheaper than local Travelodge's/Holiday Inn's etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyBoySmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2010

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Gergely Kollin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,340 - 1,346 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2010

I stayed here for a week in May 2010 while starting a degree at Portsmouth Uni. After reading the reviews, I was a little apprehensive about what I would find but the hotel is not nearly as dreadful as some on here have made out. I don't doubt that some have had poor experiences here but I think on the whole I feel the problem is with a gap between expectation and reality.

The Ibis is a budget hotel; it has a two star rating so luxury and fine dining should not be at the forefront of your mind when booking here. Yes, the rooms are small but they are not cramped and I am 6'6" tall. They are an extremely good example of a "lean" environment - everything is available and functional but it stops there. There isn't too much space; enough, but not more than is absolutely required. Most importantly, the rooms are clean, the water is hot and the housekeeping is good...in my experience.

I ate breakfast only at the hotel and while it suited me, I would question whether it was worth £6.95. There is a cold meat buffet, fruit, yoghurts, breads, cereals etc as well as the normal English breakfast fare and it is all-you-can-eat so for some it will be worth the money. If you aren't pressed for time in a morning then there are cafes locally that you could eat at instead. The service at breakfast is polite and effective.

The internet service at the hotel is expensive at £4.99 for an hour or £9.99 for 24 hours, although there is an offer where you also get the movie channels within that.

Location is one of two issues that this hotel has. Portsmouth is, at most times of the year, full of students and there is a very popular student nightclub over the road from this hotel which means that 2 - 3:30am is a noisy period several times a week. If you do stay at this hotel, as for a room that does not face WInston Churchill Ave and preferably as far away from it as possible. Any rooms overlooking the car park would be fine. Also, this hotel is not ideally situated for Gunwharf Quays which is a 15min walk away so if you are coming for that shppoing experience, bear that in mind. Also, the best restaurants are at Gunwharf although the walk back was welcome after a large meal.

The second issue is the bed. The mattress is so hard that on a couple of occasions during the week I woke wondering if I had fallen out and was sleeping on the floor. If you like a really hard, orthapedic-syle mattress or you are a regular user of Ketamine then you are in luck; otherwise this is a dealbreaker. It is a shame because the bed is a good size with decent linen but it is just SO hard .

Would I come back here? It depends...

If this was the cheapest hotel I could find and price was the main factor, then yes, I would come back; I'd just fetch a camping mat and sleep on the floor!

The main problem is that for a few pounds more per night, there are other hotels that I would probably choose. Premier Inn and Travelodge both have rooms that offer more space than the Ibis but usually at the expense of the availability of breakfast facilities etc. and at a similar price. Also, in my experience, the beds are a great deal more comfortable at both those hotels. Most importantly, I am back for a week in September and will almost certainly choose to stay at the Holiday Inn at Gunwharf but then the company is paying so price isn't the most important factor for me.

Overall, I've rated the hotel as average; you broadly get what you pay for but I would caution that there are other hotels that offer more for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripitakaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for taking the time and give an honest feedback about what we can offer for travelers. Your constructive comments are most welcome and much appreciated.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Gergely Kollin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

The rooms were small! The housekeeping is terrible!
DVD's were taken out of our room. Nobody wanted to help us!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zika13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Very small room with an ensuite even smaller than the ones found on the ferries...but OK we could live with that and did.
Dinner that evening was pretty atrocious....but after 7 hours on the road we just needed to eat "something" and that about sums it up. The "chef" clearly hasn't mastered the art of heating up food...basics like soup and sauces ( to accompany steaks ) were cool...not even stirred to get rid of the usual lumps that form when food is chilled . In case anyone should suggest he may have been too busy...we were in fact the only TWO diners in the restaurant at that time. The best part of the meal was the ice cream. Usually I do complain at the time...but as I say, after 7 hours non stop on the road we had gone beyond that point. Breakfast...well that too left a lot to be desired. Some orange juice machines were broken while the tea and coffee machines were in need of a good clean. Would we use this hotel again - NO. Would be use an IBIS again...NOT without first checking it out fully on Trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuesdayLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2010

Dear Customer,

I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay.

Thank you for your feedback, we treat all comments with the utmost seriousness and will be
investigating the matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Gergely Kollin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Stayed for three nights in May, value for money, i was able to leave the car in the car park (at £3 per day!) and walk to my meetings, the dockyard is only 15 mins walk away, and the resturants in Gunwharf Quays only 10 mins walk. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly, the internet TV keyboard had no batteries in when i arrived, but a quick word with the reception staff quickly sorted this. I didn't eat at the htoel (much more choice at Gunwharf), but i would stay here again, on business,,,, not for pleasure, as the room was small and the bathroom tiny

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Although it is a budget hotel the decor and quality of the bedrooms was poor and the bathroom allowed you to use all three main sanitary wares at the same time!!! If the staff forget your towels you need to collect them yourself from reception.
Fine if you can get the basic cost room at the lowest price for enjoying the sights of portsmouth but if you end up paying the higher tariff we think you'll be disappointed.
Reception and bar area fine but the poor bar man on his own struggling to serve and make sandwiches.
Bedrooms were clean.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2010

Dear Customer,

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I’ll look into this matter for
you! If you have 5-mins, please give me a call to discuss.

Kind regards,

Gergely Kollin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We are regular users of Ibis and the Accor chain hotels (we even have them on our Tom Tom GPS) so it was a shock to find such a terrible place. We booked though Booking.com (which we use frequently, excellent service) but when we arrived the hotel said they did not have a room for us. Booking.com sorted it out and Ibis found that they'd had a sudden 'cancellation'. Anyway, everything else about this hotel was truly awful and summed up above. There were people who sounded drunk shouting in the corridors until well past midnight and the management refused to do anything.

However the car park is secure, not too expensive (£3 per night) and it is very close to the ferry terminal (we had an early am ferry to catch).

My message to the management (Ibis, that is) is to sack the local management and bulldoze the hotel. Then build a new hotel to modern standards and try to choose better staff next time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallox, manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2010

Really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to
discuss with you in person. Please could you call me on 02392 640 000.
Many thanks
Gergely Kollin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,034 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £40 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing