We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The hotel needed some attention on the outside, hence the scaffolding, but the inside was clean and presentable. The room we were given was at the front of the hotel and had a sea view. The room was much larger than we were expecting and had a large and comfortable bed. All furnishings appeared to be new and the room could not be faulted (the bathroom door was a little sticky, but that was all). The staff were generally helpful and polite and the food was a very good standard (we only ate in the hotel at breakfast). A particular mention for the staff at breakfast, who were very helpful and friendly, which is not that common in what was a busy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your comments which I will pass on to all concerned, we are carrying out a complete exterior renovation which when completed will transform the look of the hotel, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    481
    188
    59
    28
See reviews for
207
483
87
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed here for a quick weekend break. Was slightly peturbed to see all the scaffolding on the outside and struggled parking my almost new car in the extremely tight car park but they were the only downsides. Inside the rooms were comfy, the decor good and there was a pleasant bar / reception area. The staff were all very helpful and polite. Would return again once the scafolding has gone but would not pay the rack rate (bargain via late rooms).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your comments they are appreciated, scaffolding on the front will continue for short term and we are all looking forward to its removal when the building wll be returned to its former glory! I would always suggest you contact the hotel direct either via our website or telephone when you will get the best rates available on the day, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

On arrival disappointed to find front of hotel covered with scaffolding for redecoration. Disabled lift not working and an unsightly steep metal ramp covering most of the entrance steps making it difficult for healthy bodied people to enter withour tripping over it. Had booked what was supposedly a premium room with sea view but was given a back room. On complaint searoom apparently not gauranteed but an appropriate discount was given as 'hotel full'. Metal ramp was slippery-with normal shoes- when pushing up a wheel chair - at 70 not recommended.
Staff were very pleasant and hotel inside was nice. Our room was better than my friends room but the bed was a small double very uncomfortable with my feet sticking out the bottom. Reception told us the beds were all new- very doubtful for our room. The restaurant was good the food excellent and service exceptional. Will actually return to the hotel as the staff and food are so good. Hoping the bed was an exception and has since been dumped..

Room Tip: Seaview rooms appear better but are now £15 supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your comments and the compliments for the staff, food and service. On the day of your arrival our main lift which also serves as an accessible entrance was put out of action due to water ingress through the main shaft this creating the need for a temporary ramp and I totally agree that it is a nuisance, with regard your room please contact me should you decide to visit us again when I will ensure your request for a seaview room is taken care off, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelty, Fife
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Having used this hotel for business lately I found the hotel to be quite basic but functionally sound. Rooms are a bit tired and in need of some tlc although fairly comfortable. The bar and dining room offer a nice view of Southsea Pier. Parking can be a bit of a nightmare with a rather small car park available with on street parking required if this is full.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keltygaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you are happy with the overall service, we are continuing to make improvements to the hotel to further improve standards and hope you will visit again Regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

i am a wheelchair user and i was invited to a wedding reception in one of the rooms at the royal beach hotel. There is five steep steps at the front so on enquiry we were told to go around the back of the hotel. This entailed going down a side street, through the car park down a steep slope to a door. There was a slight ramp to the door but the bell and voice communication was out of reach for me. My son rang the the bell and about a minute later a voice from behind the door said there would be someone along soon. About five minutes later a maid arrived opened the door and we were led through a long dingy passage through the kitchen into the reception area. One floor in the lift then another dingy passage to where the reception was being held. Later in the evening i enquired where the disabled toilets were and was escorted back to the lift and down to the reception area to the toilet. So in summary if you cannot get up the steps at the front do not consider this hotel. Incidently there is no reasonable in the area disabled or otherwise.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank derekportchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, Let me apologise that the doorbell being to high and the speed to which you were attended to wewill correct that straight away. I would also like to add that the age and design of the Hotel has made access for wheelchair users more difficult than in other hotels, for example the angle and height at the front of the building means that a ramp access would cross into the main road, also the function suite you were attending is a seperate adjoining building at an even higher level. We have recently added a further two accessible toilets into the hotel and two further wet rooms we are now decorating the entrance that has been added for wheelchair users and assure you that this will improve over the coming weeks, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here recently for a long weekend with other family members and also children.
Could not fault this hotel for the price paid, it definitly punches above its weight.
Had a sea view room and it was massive, everything we might have need wqas there,(hairdryer, iron and ironing board tea and coffee making facilities etc, beds were quite big and ours certainly was very comfortablevery.
Nice little touch was the cold water dispensers in the hallways.
Hotel was right across road from beach and not far from shops and other attractions. Breakfast was very good and staff innrestraunt were excellent, they could not do enough for you, like the rest of the staff throughout the hotel.
Would deffo go back again and would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel

Room Tip: We had a beach view hotel on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoopmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay, we look forward to welcoming you back, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I had stayed one night at the Royal Beach Hotel at Portsmouth, in March 2012, so I decided that I would take my wife there to see if she approved. We both like an above average standard but also value for money. I had pre booked D, B&B and we checked in during the last week of June 2012.
The welcome was encouraging, and we had porter assistance whilst I was seeing to my wife. The room brought a big smile to our faces, a good size; warm and comfortable on a cold day; lovely view across to the Isle of Wight. The lounge bar where we had a cup of tea was pleasant and friendly. The dining room was well used with most tables full. This was easy to understand for the menu choice and quality was good with a range of daily specials. I particularly liked the hors d’oeuvres.
The beds were very comfortable and all facilities were in good working order. Breakfast, although we eat lightly, seemed to offer plenty for everyone.
The staff were without exception very kind, considerate and pleasant. The price we paid showed good value for money, our only extras being for drinks.
We have had several cruises over the years and this hotel compares favourably to the P & O. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your most pleasant comments they are appreciated and I will have great pleasure in passing them on to all the team, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
870 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,512 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing