We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Have stayed at this hotel before and although some of the rooms are not too bad, overall they are a little tired.The room we had this time though was really awful, smelt odd and was so tiny I am sure it was really a single but they had put a double bed in, overlooking the car park with scaffolding outside the window, lovely!. We tried to change but were told that they were full and there was nothing they could do although friends in our party booked at the same time and had a huge room with sea view.I know that it's the luck of the draw but we were paying the same rate so I don't know how the Best Western organise these things. If we hadn't been with a party and had already paid we would not have stayed. Having said all this the food was good and overall the staff friendly, obviously didn't find reception staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Check out your room before you pay your hard earned money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktm351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you found the food and service in the Hotel to be good but obviously dissapointed you were not happy with your room, we were carrying out a major external refurbishment at the time of your visit hence the scaffolding at the rear of the hotel, if you would like to saty with us again please contact me directly and I will ensure you have a seaview room at a specialy discounted rate, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    486
    191
    60
    28
See reviews for
210
488
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The organisation I work for has held a number of functions in the Royal Beach and they have always been excellent. However, the last one was mine to organise completely from scratch and from the outset the support from the event organiser was top class. On the run-up to the function itself I felt totally supported with timely and friendly advice on how to get the best from my event for all participants.

The function itself was outstanding with fantastic food, well presented and with discreet and professional service from all the staff. This efficient and personal service was provided throughout the whole evening, despite a couple more functions also being held in the hotel.

I cannot recommend the Royal Beach enough if you want a professional and memorable event organised.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mws_dds_dtoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for an excellent review of the hotel and its Functions team, I will pass on your comments to Davina Jones our Conference manager and hope you visit the hotel again, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Recently spent a weekend away with 80 guests for a special event, everything from our first contact months before to departure was extremely well orchestrated . The events organiser could not of been more helpful and all members of staff from the manager to the room attendants were polite and friendly. The food over the whole weekend was excellent. I found the hotel to be clean and well presented with good sized rooms. The hotel is well located within easy reach of many attractions. I would definitely return and have no worries recommending this hotel for a relaxed weekend away or a stress free large event.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel, I am really pleased you found everything to your satisfaction and that all the departments delivered to your group, we hope to see you all again, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Staying in the Best Western Royal Beach during a secondment from my normal working site. Although not recommended by other work mates i found the hotel to be very clean and tidy, as expected it is very traditional holiday resort type hotel. Room good size and clean. Breakfast excellent and evening meal menu has a good selection. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and its positive content all you need to do now is convince your work colleagues to come and stay as well, many thanks Chris Gilmore Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It's hard to over-rate this hotel. Our third stay was as good as the first. A superb operation: everything we came across works, is clean and polished, and above all every member of staff we met couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - and this applies from excellent booking help from Reception right through to servicing of our room. With a grandchild in tow especially, all this matters. And Dining Room service and food quality puts many a restaurant to shame. We can't wait until our next stay.

Room Tip: For us a family room was essential. We were superbly provided for, on the front with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which I will pass on to all of the team, we look forward to your next visit, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Pre agreed a rate of £75 for a nights stay but the receptionist tried to charge me £93 on departure !

She also didn't notify me on arrival that in order to use their customer car park I needed to give them my car registration number so not to get clamped. Stayed in loads of hotels, normally you always get told this !!!

Way over priced I was one of three people sat in an incredibly large restaurant that had huge old fashioned chandeliers with music from the 1930's being played in the background. Felt like it was straight out of the Shining! Everyone was eating in the bar & I can see why. £16 for chicken and chips & it was nothing special.

And here's my biggest gripe & the reason a hotel will score a big fat zero every time, the bedroom windows were nailed shut!! Like 90% of the population, I like to sleep with the window open at night. Woke up at 2.00am and couldn't get back to sleep.

Raised the above with reception who was pleasant enough but not prepared to offer any gesture of good will towards the bill, she just added more on instead!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Secker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Following your comments I have looked into your stay with us and would reply as follows,
Your booking was with an agent not direct with us and the confirmed price given to us was £93.00
The hotel has limited spaces and to ensure only residents park in the car park we take registration numbers on check in.
You dined from the three course Bistro menu priced at £15.95 for one course and £21.95 for three courses including coffee, we believe this offers value for money
Our restaurant with its edwardian chandeliers reflects the ambience and style of the hotel and is one of the most popular venues for lunch and dinner in Portsmouth
Having checked your room there is a locking latch for security on your window and this opened as it should, at that time in the morning you may have not noticed it and during the cold weather we try to ensure all rooms are warm for our guests.
In the circumstances I dont feel the Hotel is at fault for any thing during your stay, Regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I was only there for one night, few issues the hotel room door did not feel secure at all, there was a safety deposit box but you will need to pay extra to use it. For the most part it was all clean and generally a pleasant atmosphere.

As for the breakfast I felt a bit ripped off it was about £15 which was most certainly not worth that kind of money, quite horrified when i got the bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel, You will be pleased to hear that we now provide the in room safe facility free of charge and the breakfast for room only guests has been reduced in price should they wish to take it, i hope this encourages you to stay with us again, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
890 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing