We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking seafront location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cracking seafront location”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip, didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that, room was a family room so had a double bed and then a room with bunk beds down a walkway, very roomy and clean as you would expect. Location is great overlooking the sea right outside the hotel. I'd stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Sea front room would be the best because of the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel, I am pleased you enjoyed the experience and hope you stay with us again soon, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    486
    191
    59
    28
See reviews for
209
488
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel is nothing special which is a shame as location is great. The sensor lighting at night wasn't very efficient so walked down dark corridors for a few seconds which is a bit daunting. On arrival lots of people milling about but only one serving the new arrivals so had to wait a while. Some staff could do with smiling a bit more. The breakfast host man was excellent. Our room was lovely and clean but faced the fire escape when our friends had lovely sea views. Would say to friends it's okay but not marvellous and to ask for a sea view or at least to avoid room 115!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and i am pleased you found a lot positive elements to your stay, as you may have noticed the hotel is refurbishing all areas during the course of 2013 and we are always looking to further improve all service areas through additional training and development, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Myself and my husband spent a long weekend in Portsmouth and overall had a great time. Our room was clean and smelt lovely and fresh, it was a joy to come back to after a long day out. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and the standard was fantastic. The reception staff were superb, and so we felt very welcome. The was one incident that occured on the Saturday daytime at the reception bar though that really upset our day. The young lady working behind the bar was extremely rude and very cold to use when we ordered our lunch. After waiting for atleast 10 minutes for someone to appear, she eventually came round to the bar, without apologising for our wait and very rudely snapped 'yeh?' at us both. She continued to be very arrogant and rude to us until we had had enough and left the bar area. The rest of the staff we had come across during the weekend had been very pleasent and helpful toward us, it was just this one member of staff who really let the hotel down.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel, I am really pleased you found everything to your liking and that you found all of our team bar one to be helpful and courteous. I have spoken to the member of staff concerned. I hope given this that you dont hesitate in visiting us again soon, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal if you are staying a couple of days in Portsmouth. The hotel is clean and well facilitated, the only slight drawback are the parking facilities where if you are not careful you can easily be blocked in by other vehicles.
A good restaurant with excellent service and a good menu. Bar meals are also available with very generous portions. The room, quite large, comfortable and clean and well stocked with tea and coffee making facilities.
The staff were helpful and friendly, would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_WNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for the positive comments on the hotel and its team, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our car park is small for the hotels size but all street parking around the hotel is free of charge which does help, I hope you decide to stay with us again soon, regards
Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed at The Royal Beach Hotel for 3 nights for a reunion.

My room, albeit a single, was spotlessly clean and had all the facilities of a Best Western Hotel. The room had tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, safe and an iron and ironing board. Facilities expected from a much higher rated hotel was here as standard. My room was sea facing and it is worth the extra supplement.

Free Wifi was available but struggled a bit on the top floor. However the hotel provided an internet terminal for guests next to reception.

The food was good and the breakfast excellent although the waiting staff were a bit too keen to whip away your plates. The drinks pricing is typical of hotels so not unexpected.

If you want to stay near to the attractions of Portsmouth or the vicinity I would recommend giving the Royal Beach a good look

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are worth the extra supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kernowlad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your comments on the Hotel and its services, I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back, I have spoken to the restaurant team re your comment, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Just back from a lovely weekend staying at this Hotel. Couldn't fault it. We had amazing accommodation. We overlooked the sea and pier (shame it's being left to go to rack and ruin). The rooms were huge, bed very comfortable. Food and service were excellent. Couldn't fault it. Thank you to everyone who made the weekend special.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hannahLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel, I am pleased you had a great weekend with the reunion and by all accounts it was one of the best, I look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

I'm glad my company put me here-the staff put up with my awful jokes and are helpful to the end. Real commitment to service here. Parking spaces isn't up to much in quantity but its free and even if full the street 100m down the road if that is free too. Sea facing (stayed twice for work) although I havnt had a sea facing room, it is what it is when you get there. Food was amazing, quality produce used and actual talent in the kitchen.

This is a good hotel people!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordHelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your review, its always nicer when some one else is paying, I will pass on your compliments to the Kitchen team and hope we see you again in the future, regards
Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
888 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
655 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,524 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing