We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BURDLE'S MINI BREAK AUG 2103”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BURDLE'S MINI BREAK AUG 2103”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

had the pleasure of staying at royal beach hotel for 2 nights in triple room with my two children aged 11 & 13 found hotel to be very clean room was very modern and had recently been refurbished had amazing sea view. room was very large & spacious and not at all cramped. Hotel staff were very courteous and very helpful. hotel offered a fantastic home cooked breakfast which was help yourself quality of food was superb & cooked to perfection.
nothing was too much trouble for the staff to assist you.10/10. the environment of hotel was of a very high standard and took advantage of the evening fresh cooked full Carvery which again was of a superb standard & quality of food was exceptional. great to see the Executive Head Chef come out to ask you if your enjoyed your meal which is excellent touch & makes one feel the whole team care what they do to achieve a very standard of service. Again superb highly recommend a visit great location too with parking & well stocked bar with professional staff We took advantage of the great discounted deals they offer for quality rooms during a week day .We had a fabulous 2 nights stay and will re book for sure oh and the weather was superb so a massive big tick all-round 10/10. a big thank you to the Royal Beach and its quality staff well done see you guys soon :) big thumbs up !! thank you :)

Room Tip: triple rooms are fantastic value for money and modern and very clean and tidy 10/10 sea view was a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review of the hotel and I am really pleased you had a great stay with us, I will pass on your comments to all of the team and look forward to welcoming you back, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    466
    179
    56
    28
See reviews for
203
462
84
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Me my husband two children two friends and there son stayed at the Royal beach the weekend 30th August .The rooms we big and clean the bed was so comfortable we wanted to bring it home .The breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from the staff was very helpful we would go back any time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
thank you for your review and I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction, especially the comfort of your mattress, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions as a couple with friends, with family and have taken almost 100 people on a bowls tour. The moment we first walked into The Royal Beach the atmosphere felt "comfortable". The staff have been excellent on all occasions, the rooms clean and comfortable and the food varied and tasty. Although the hotel is away from the town there is a good bus service to all the areas of interest. We walked to the shops on several occasions. I feel there is a good variety of things to do for both adults and children with the beach, piers, historic interest, shops, skateboard park, indoor pool and walking just to name a few. We are booked to take 112 people on the Bowls Tour back in 2014 and hope we can visit again before then. I would recommend The Royal Beach to anyone as value for money with excellent service and good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merveene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel, I will pass on your comments to the kitchen team and we look forward to seeing you all again, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013.The room was average but had everything we needed.The hotel staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful.Nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the restaurant was varied, tasty and well presented. The restaurant staff were attentive and efficient. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatHurdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your comments to al concerned, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel itself is a little worn out but the rooms themselves are nice and big. Give the Carvery buffet a miss as the food is overcooked and dried out. The location is far from the train station and ferry dock, which was a bit of a hassle as one had to take a lot of cabs. The best part of the hotel is the wonderful staff. Helpful, polite and really making you feel like they care.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I will pass on your compliments to the team, we are continuing to update the hotel and new corridor carpets and refitted bathrooms are on the agenda for the latter part of this year, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice hotel, great location, great view. Old fashioned but charming. Good vale for money and good breakfast included. Not a great shower compared to other hotels in the ensuite and maybe could do with some air-conditioning eventually.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness room so ignore the ratings for those. I asked for a sea view if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found almost everything to your satisfaction and to inform you that we are continuing to install power showers in all of the rooms as I write, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked in at the hotel for two adults and one child as a stop over from Yorkshire to get the crossing to Bilbao the following day. Ate within the hotel which was 'fine'. The hotel played host to a birthday bash that evening which went into the small hours. We were kept awake by the overly load music and the Smashy and Nicy style prattle of the DJ. Once the music had finished we had to endure the booze laden cackle of the stragglers leaving, who didn't quite want to leave, it seemed. Once we finally had a bit of quiet, about half one, the guy in the next 'interconected' room was on the room 'phone blasting at some poor sole on Reception for something they didn't seem to have done, but maybe should have-?? Half an hour of this and Reception got another call, from me asking if they needed a hand to talk this fella down from the top of his tree. Another 15 mins and they finally got him off the 'phone. He didn't stop there, he then spent the next 15 telling his wife how he played them into a corner and that they weren't getting away with it and they'd better brace themselves in the morning on Reception - it was morning !! On and on he went until he got a knock on the 'interconecting' door. Silence. We finally got off to sleep at around quarter to three. Staff were understanding and apologetic, and we weren't affected enough for it to spoil the start of our holiday, so we had a lovely breakfast and went on our way. Would recommend that if you are thinking of staying here, check whether they have a party on and also check that the joker who stayed on the 10th August 2013 (sorry, can't remember his room number) who balled at Reception for long enough isn't booked in!!

Room Tip: Any room on a quiet night, another hotel if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teapot2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review, sincere apologies for the noise from the function, we do now have sound limiters in operation and restrict music to 12 midnight, unfortunately other guests sometimes do not consider other residents. I am pleased you were happy with the food and service you received and hope you had a pleasant holiday abroad, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing