We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Friendliness of Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Friendliness of Portsmouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Royal Beach for just 1 night.
The hotel has a car park at the rear so once we had parked up we didn't needto worry about the car being parked on the road outside.
The check in was good and although the room wasn't ready on arrival we were given a complimentary drinks voucher as a gesture of good will for the wait, which was much appreciated!
The room itself was small but contained everthing that was needed for a one night stay. (although the TV could be bigger!). The bed was comfortable and breakfast the next morning was fine.
The staff were excellent .... friendly and welcoming.. with good customer service skills.
It did have a couple of coach parties arrive ..I guess for Goodwood but the staff were efficient and quick in getting the passengers checked in.
Overall a good nights stay in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    461
    178
    55
    28
See reviews for
202
458
83
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
220 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is our third year at the Royal Beach and it will be our "beach house" for the next years to come as we always book in September for the Goodwood Revival.
We always ask for a sea view room because, looking at the pier and the beach drinking our first coffee early in the morning, is really relaxing.
We prefer this "vintage" hotel for its classic charm, the sincere kindness and elegance of their employees, the beautiful sea view, the convenient parking and for the excellent quality of food (we are Italian customers so we are a little bit difficult to satisfy).
Every night, after having enjoyed the races and the glamorous environment of the paddocks and the circuit, we return back "home" at the Royal Beach to taste a different delicacy of their chef.
Prices are reasonable, the atmosphere is smart and pleasant that we have booked yet for the next September! Very good value for money and, most of all,very good staff! Bravo!

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must, if you are lucky you will have a corner room as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had another great stay with us and an enjoyable time at the Goodwood revival, I will pass on your very favourable comments to Paul our Head chef and look forward to welcoming you back next year, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I went to this Hotel on a coach trip I often eat at my local Best western which is Excellent and have stayed in other Best western hotel this one is the best ever the food and service was excellent will definitely go back again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0an10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel which was wonderful, I will pass on your comments to all concerned, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel is in a good situation, although we didn't have a sea view room. We needed to be fairly local to Goodwood and this seemed ideal. The hotel was packed with people attending the Goodwood Revival event. Our room was like stepping back into the 80's, apart from the TV. Wi-Fi was available but a bit hit and miss, so a little disappointing. Food good and staff very nice. Parking is a bit awkward as well.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a sea view - we had a peek into one and it looked a lot bigger than ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you were happy with your stay with us and I will pass on your comments to all the team, we are working on a programme of corridor and bathroom refurbishment during the next few months and I am sure you will see a transformation should you return in the future, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Only stayed here for one night - had hoped to be able to stay for another night but the hotel was fully booked. Room was clean and spacious with a nice sea view. Staff were very helpful and efficient. Restaurant was good, although we would have preferred a more exciting menu. Downside is the car park which is hard to find - behind the hotel and not particularly suited to large cars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your observations to all concerned, best wishes Chris GilmoreGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widley
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked an afternoon tea for a party of 10 people on a Saturday afternoon to celebrate a friends forthcoming wedding. The hotel has its own underground car park exclusively for hotel guests making parking easy and safe. Once in the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff, and seated in the bar area by the window with views of the beach and the pier.
Once all our party arrived the tea and coffee was delivered promptly followed by three types of sandwiches and various cakes and scones with Cornish cream and Jam.
The tea and coffee pots were refilled continuously throughout the afternoon. Drinks and champagne were available from the hotel bar.
We all had a really nice time, and are planning to return before Christmas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased our afternoon tea came up to your expectations, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

A traditional hotel right on the seafront, we had a lovely comfortable room overlooking the sea on the 2nd floor. The beds were really comfortable and a good size bathroom with plenty of fresh towels each day. The good choice of dishes on the menu which were well cooked and served by pleasant friendly staff. The hotel receptionists gave us the feeling that nothing was too much trouble, appreciated the ice-water machines on each floor as we had really hot weather, an electric fan was placed in each room as the windows did not open. Would rebook this hotel as it was in a nice quiet position .

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms at the front of the hotel are the best views, but all in all a very nice hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for a delightful review which I will pass on to all the team, we look forward to welcoming you back, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Address: South Parade | St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing