We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Number Four Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,424)
Filter reviews
1,424 results
Traveller rating
590
527
207
67
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
527
207
67
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewcar parksea frontsouth parade pierbuffet stylesingle roombit datedlovely hotelroom was largereception staffstreet parkingisle of wightweekend breakbreakfast was excellentthird floora lovely stayenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,019 - 1,024 of 1,424 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A very comfortable and well appointed room (102) with generous tea and coffee. A large bathroom with loads of instant hot water. Excellently friendly reception staff. Very nice reasonably priced food in the restaurant, with professional and attentive staff who 'went the extra mile'. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandjclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your comments which I will pass on to all of our team and I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Royal Beach for just 1 night.
The hotel has a car park at the rear so once we had parked up we didn't needto worry about the car being parked on the road outside.
The check in was good and although the room wasn't ready on arrival we were given a complimentary drinks voucher as a gesture of good will for the wait, which was much appreciated!
The room itself was small but contained everthing that was needed for a one night stay. (although the TV could be bigger!). The bed was comfortable and breakfast the next morning was fine.
The staff were excellent .... friendly and welcoming.. with good customer service skills.
It did have a couple of coach parties arrive ..I guess for Goodwood but the staff were efficient and quick in getting the passengers checked in.
Overall a good nights stay in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is our third year at the Royal Beach and it will be our "beach house" for the next years to come as we always book in September for the Goodwood Revival.
We always ask for a sea view room because, looking at the pier and the beach drinking our first coffee early in the morning, is really relaxing.
We prefer this "vintage" hotel for its classic charm, the sincere kindness and elegance of their employees, the beautiful sea view, the convenient parking and for the excellent quality of food (we are Italian customers so we are a little bit difficult to satisfy).
Every night, after having enjoyed the races and the glamorous environment of the paddocks and the circuit, we return back "home" at the Royal Beach to taste a different delicacy of their chef.
Prices are reasonable, the atmosphere is smart and pleasant that we have booked yet for the next September! Very good value for money and, most of all,very good staff! Bravo!

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must, if you are lucky you will have a corner room as ours.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had another great stay with us and an enjoyable time at the Goodwood revival, I will pass on your very favourable comments to Paul our Head chef and look forward to welcoming you back next year, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I went to this Hotel on a coach trip I often eat at my local Best western which is Excellent and have stayed in other Best western hotel this one is the best ever the food and service was excellent will definitely go back again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0an10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your review of the hotel which was wonderful, I will pass on your comments to all concerned, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel is in a good situation, although we didn't have a sea view room. We needed to be fairly local to Goodwood and this seemed ideal. The hotel was packed with people attending the Goodwood Revival event. Our room was like stepping back into the 80's, apart from the TV. Wi-Fi was available but a bit hit and miss, so a little disappointing. Food good and staff very nice. Parking is a bit awkward as well.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a sea view - we had a peek into one and it looked a lot bigger than ours
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you were happy with your stay with us and I will pass on your comments to all the team, we are working on a programme of corridor and bathroom refurbishment during the next few months and I am sure you will see a transformation should you return in the future, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews