We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat performance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have been to the Royal Beach Hotel for several years and hope to repeat this in the future. The staff are so very friendly and extremely efficient. Having asked for maintenance to attend due to dropping an earring into an inaccessible corner I was astonished to find this was accomplished before I returned to my room after breakfast, prompt indeed. My only complaint is the extra pounds I have added to my already overweight frame due to the excellent food we enjoyed. A most enjoyable short break indeed. Thank you.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for the view that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review and the compliments you gave to the team, it is very satisfying that you continue to return and experience the same standards as before, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

A party of 8 friends went to visit the Mary rose exabition in Portsmouth,on the 25/26th September 2013.
We stayed at the BEST WESTON, ROYAL BEACH HOTEL,On our arrival we found the reception people to be very polite,with all the information we would need,We were asked if we needed help with our luggage.
The rooms were large,clean, and very comfortable (see view rooms),
The restraunt was very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful,
We found the food to be of great satisfaction,
As a group, or on our own we certainly would return to the ROYAL BEACH HOTEL on any further visits to Portsmouth, one of the best hotels that we have stayed in.
B&K.D. TORQUAY DEVON.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodman759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review of the hotel, to be considered the best is praise indeed and I will make sure the team are made aware of your comments, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Visited Portsmouth for 5 days on a coach trip from Lincoln. On arrival there was no delay, the Hotel staff were ready for us and we were directed to our room. The staff then delivered our cases to the room.The room was large,. clean and comfortable..As there were several groups staying in the hotel our group were scheduled for dinner at 1830 hrs. This was fine and after a little "nip" in the bar we joined our group in the restaurant. The food was superb, and the staff in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient.I know the hotel is getting on a bit, but the service we had could not have been bettered by a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review which is appreciated. I will pass on your comments about the food and service to all the team and hope we see you again in the future, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel, our original room was a good size (although the room was on the slant!). We got moved for the last night because of a plumbing problem in our room, they moved us without question into a large room with sea views & generously gave us drinks vouchers for the bar which we thought went above & beyond what we expected.
The breakfast was excellent with a extensive range of cereals, fruit, pastries & a great cooked selection.
We would stay here again, the only problem for us was that the hotel got overrun by a coach load of old folks on the last night and the bar felt more like a W.I meeting than a relaxing place to enjoy a drink!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeandanna1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review and I really pleased we exceeded your expectations on this occasion, I will pass on your comments to all concerned, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

visited on 28th for one night with a friend, lovely location opposite south sea pier!. Our room was huge with a sea view. The breakfast the next day was out of this world as well. My only niggle was that parking wasn't great but the staff are more than helpful with pointing out near by unrestricted roads. Also only £5 in a taxi to get to GunWarf, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlamourGirlxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review of the Hotel, I am really pleased with your comments and hope you come and visit again in the future, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and it really is terrible. The car parking is minimal. It felt like an old peoples home to start with, but I felt like I'd stepped back in time! Dated is putting it mildly. This place hasn't seen a renovation in over 25 years. the bathrooms look filthy and the smell of musty/damp is present throughout the hotel. Even the hair dryer is attached to the wall with a hose and nozzle. Don't stay here, save your money - it's a dump!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzanneHartshorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

I would not normally respond to a review of this type but on this occasion make these comments, had the accommodation and facilities been as described would you not at the very least complain or move to another hotel, we are not aware of any complaint of this nature, the bathroom hairdryer is designed and fitted as it is to avoid a guest being electrocuted, if you were not happy with this type why did you not use the standard hairdryer in the desk drawer, few hotels offer a choice in this area. The hotel bedrooms were renovated with new carpets, beds, flat screen televisions and curtains less than 18 months ago and we know we offer a very good value for money package to all of our guests, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed as a party of 8 for two nights in Septemebr 2013. The seaview rooms were large and well appointed with glorious views of the Solent. Breakfast was excellent, as were the evening meals we took in the restaurant. Special mention though should be made of the hotel staff. Everyone we met were extremely polite and helpful; nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
The only downside was the car park! It is very cramped, and while we were there another guest complained about some damage to her car, the result, or so she claimed of the bays being too small.
Overall an excellent hotel run by people who seemed to care. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can, spend a little more and get a room with a seaview! Well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review and I am pleased your party had an enjoyable stay with us, I will pass on your kind comments to the staff, many thanks Chris Gilmore Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
949 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £62 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing