We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My partner and I along with friends spent one night at the hotel (5 Feb) and must say after reading the reviews felt I must make comment. The hotel decor is a little dated but but we found the room clean and well equipped. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Had a lunchtime bar meal which was good and breakfast was excellent. Would we stay again YES would I recommend YES. What more can I say.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your very positive review and I am pleased you found the quality and service good and sometimes most importantly value for money, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    486
    191
    59
    28
See reviews for
209
488
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a voucher for bed,breakfast and evening meal. Had a lovely big room with sea views, bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good with choices. The car park could have been bigger for the size of the hotel as we had to squeeze in a small gap. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased we ticked most of your boxes and hope you visit again soon, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I spent a night here for the weekend. I must admit that having read the reviews on Trip Advisor it wasn't our first choice, but we left it too late to book a few of our preferred options.

On the whole however we were more than happy with our choice. The hotel is traditional in appearance and located right on the seafront (although we didn't get a seaview ourselves).

Reception was both efficient and friendly and were happy to allow us to leave our luggage there on a couple of occasions as well as ordering a couple of taxis for us.

The room was lovely and large. It was a twin room (I think that we had asked for a double), although being English we didn't ask to see if it was possible to change and we were happy with our lot.

The buffet breakfast (about £12 extra for both of us) was excellent and one of the best that I have had.

Overall a nice stay and well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter11435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am pleased you had an enjoyable visit with us, I will pass on your comments re breakfast to all concerned, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Had an overnight stay at the hotel, evening meal and breakfast were good. Comfortable ,spacious bedroom with on suite, pleasant sea view. Staff were very polite and attentive, overall an enjoyable visit. Car parking could be improved, especially for older people, we had to park some distance from the Hotel and walk in the rain =(( Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hotel and I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Car parking is limited at the Hotel but as you found off street parking is available and not to far away, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very friendly staff and lovely rooms with sea views. Good food with excellent choice at breakfast and diner. Does need some repair to windows which do not seal correctly. Would recommend this hotel. I have to puy 200 characters but cannot think of more to say so I hope I have put enough now.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and I will pass them on to all concerned, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great location, excellent family room, fantastic breakfast, parking available on a first come basis but street parking also available. A bit old fashined but this is the style of the hotel. There was some noise from the Saturday evening entertainment but it did not cause too much disturbance. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, my apologies for the slight noise nuisance, we hope you visit us again, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
889 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
655 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,524 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing