We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. We're put in room 227 which was tiny, no sea view even though we had requested one. The toilet hardly flushed. Taps groaned because the water pressure was so low. The room was shabby and far too small for 2 people. On a plus, the towels and bedding were clean. Staff were dismissive or rude. Our car got blocked in because parking was so congested. The hotel is really tired looking. Not 4 star ratings at all. It's location was really good and it could be a really nice hotel with the correct staffing and management. We visit portsmouth regularly to see family but we won't be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillyb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us and after looking into this more fully would reply as follows, your booking through booking.com was for a promotional rate standard double, you had requested a sea view room with them if available, unfortunately as the hotel was fully booked we were not able to give you a complimentary upgrade, The receptionist who discussed this with you the day after your arrival did report you were not happy but she was unable to satisfy your request. The car park is sometimes difficult but we do try to help everyone when we are full with alternative parking. Sometimes an initial disappointment can affect the overall impression of the hotel and I am sure this may be the case with your visit, should you wish to visit again then please contact me directly and I will endeavour to ensure you have a pleasant stay with us in a sea view room, regards Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel faces Southsea beach next to Southsea Pier. Had a sea view queen room which has 3 beds. Rooms decorated to a high standard, cleaned daily. View from the room was excellent and luckily we had fine weather for the 3 days we were there. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and room service quick. Would recommend this hotel - the staff are friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction, we believe we offer the best value for money for our standard of Hotel in Portsmouth and I am pleased you agree, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here with friends for 2 nights, having chosen the Royal Beach completely at random, never having been to Portsmouth before. Despite the first night coinciding with a fierce storm, the hotel, on the Southsea promenade, was warm and cosy, and since we had a sea view it was quite exciting to see the waves crashing onto the beach from the comfort of our room. Opt for a sea room if you can when booking, it is well worth the small extra cost.
The building is typical of older seaside hotels, traditional in style and decor, but nevertheless less equipped with modern facilities such as wi-fi, satellite TV and a modern bathroom.
The breakfast is served in a large seafront restaraunt. It is buffet style, with a good variety of dishes, well cooked and presented. For evening meals you have a choice of a full menu in here or a snack in the bar lounge. We did have a slight problem when we were only served 3 meals for the four of us, an oversight by a new member of the bar team, which meant a long wait for one of us, but a manageress apologised profusely for the error, and gave us free deserts by way of compensation.
Like many urban hotels built before everyone had cars, parking on site is very limited, and because of the bad weather we abandoned a plan to go out on the first evening, as we had arrived just in time to get the last space! There is on street parking nearby, but we decided not to brave the rain. In fact, we left the car at the hotel the following day, and the staff were very helpful, explaining that it was cheaper to book taxis both ways to the Dockyards than pay four bus fares.
I would certainly recommend this hotel as value for money, and would have no hesitation in staying here if we ever visit the area again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for spending time to review our hotel, your description of our style and values perfectly sums up what we try to offer our guests, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night - unfortunately. Room 208 was freshly decorated with a large comfy bed & a sea view to die for. The bathroom is a disabled friendly wet room. The South Parade pier, right outside, is closed now. Breakfast was excellent with fresh & dried fruits, good selection of cooked items on a heated buffet, 5 juices, cheese, croissants, pain au chocolat & pain au raisin, etc. Yum yum!! We will definitely visit again and for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review which I will pass on to all the Team, we hope you come and visit again soon, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I'll be honest, we didn't stay at the hotel, but having lived in Portsmouth for years I've only visited three times. We visited at Christmas and enjoyed an excellent Christmas meal as part of our work celebrations, we were so impressed we decided to go back for a Sunday lunch.

The carvery was excellent, there was a wide range of food choices, all of it excellent quality and incredibly good value. The restaurant atmosphere was calm and relaxed and the staff incredibly attentive and professional at all times, this is an absolute gem of a place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duechristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Sunday Carvery, I am pleased you enjoyed the choice and quality of our food, we are one of the most popular Sunday lunch venues in Portsmouth and I will pass on your comments to all the team, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed for a very stormy night in February using a discount voucher and I was very agreeably surprised by the high standards of comfort and service at this hotel.I had a very large room with two big windows overlooking the sea so I was able to watch the sea crashing onto the beach and the spray flying in all directions.The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very clean and well-equipped. Overall, a very good nights sleep and an excellent buffet breakfast in the morning. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only quibble would be the small car park, which was full, but I found parking on a street close by.I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, any supplement is well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyWSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had a pleasant stay and everything was to your satisfaction, we look forward to seeing you again, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My partner and I along with friends spent one night at the hotel (5 Feb) and must say after reading the reviews felt I must make comment. The hotel decor is a little dated but but we found the room clean and well equipped. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Had a lunchtime bar meal which was good and breakfast was excellent. Would we stay again YES would I recommend YES. What more can I say.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your very positive review and I am pleased you found the quality and service good and sometimes most importantly value for money, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
912 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £71 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing