We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you to you and your team, for making our day so spaecial!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank you to you and your team, for making our day so spaecial!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked the venue for a beauty pageant and were more than happy with the great service and hospitality form all members of staff that we came across on the day. The staffs attention to detail in making the rooms special and welcoming for our guests was wonderful. Our contestants and their families commented on how lovely the venue was and how helpful the staff were to everyone. All our requests were met and dealt with efficiently and quickly.

Room Tip: We did not have rooms as we hired the function rooms for the day. The two we used were clean and roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol65k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel , I am pleased we were able to help with your beauty pageant and look forward to your next visit, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    461
    178
    55
    28
See reviews for
202
459
83
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

When I arrived the car park was chockers with semi decent motors. This place is very popular and looks to have a dedicated following of business travellers. I wondered why these people would struggle each time with the car parking situation but as the stay progressed I wondered no more. As a diamond member I was given an upgraded room with a great sea view. The staff were professionally friendly, the facilities were 'traditional' without looking tired and the food in the restaurant was first rate. I was particularly impressed with the restaurant staff letting me in a good 15-20 minutes after they should have closed. My dinner was very fresh, very hot, very large and very good value. Breakfast consisted of the usual suspects all of good quality. A decent place to stay; next time I'm in Portsmouth I'll join the 'Royal Beach Massive' but will be sure to arrive early to secure a parking space.

Room Tip: Anything on the front is a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for a great review, we do as you say have a number of corporate guests who do like coming back and not for the parking so I am pleased you were pleased and hope we welcome you back in the future, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Checked into room326 with no working toilet and a dirty room it was tiny not suitable for a 3 night stay for a mature couple. We asked to be moved and reception did there best. The room we were giving had been re decorated and was lovely. We feel that staff could have cleaned the public areas (bar) tables etc as they seem to be standing around quite a lot but as this is an old/traditional hotel you could say that they were relaxed.
We would return to this hotel however apart from the history museums and amazing turkish restaurant we dont feel portsmouth has a lot to offer.

Room Tip: Sea view in redcorated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you experienced a problem with your toilet and room and we were able to satisfy your requests with a room change. Portsmouth historic dockyard and the harbour trips are a fantastic experience and if you have time to visit again should not be missed, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. We're put in room 227 which was tiny, no sea view even though we had requested one. The toilet hardly flushed. Taps groaned because the water pressure was so low. The room was shabby and far too small for 2 people. On a plus, the towels and bedding were clean. Staff were dismissive or rude. Our car got blocked in because parking was so congested. The hotel is really tired looking. Not 4 star ratings at all. It's location was really good and it could be a really nice hotel with the correct staffing and management. We visit portsmouth regularly to see family but we won't be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillyb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us and after looking into this more fully would reply as follows, your booking through booking.com was for a promotional rate standard double, you had requested a sea view room with them if available, unfortunately as the hotel was fully booked we were not able to give you a complimentary upgrade, The receptionist who discussed this with you the day after your arrival did report you were not happy but she was unable to satisfy your request. The car park is sometimes difficult but we do try to help everyone when we are full with alternative parking. Sometimes an initial disappointment can affect the overall impression of the hotel and I am sure this may be the case with your visit, should you wish to visit again then please contact me directly and I will endeavour to ensure you have a pleasant stay with us in a sea view room, regards Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel faces Southsea beach next to Southsea Pier. Had a sea view queen room which has 3 beds. Rooms decorated to a high standard, cleaned daily. View from the room was excellent and luckily we had fine weather for the 3 days we were there. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and room service quick. Would recommend this hotel - the staff are friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction, we believe we offer the best value for money for our standard of Hotel in Portsmouth and I am pleased you agree, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for 2 nights, having chosen the Royal Beach completely at random, never having been to Portsmouth before. Despite the first night coinciding with a fierce storm, the hotel, on the Southsea promenade, was warm and cosy, and since we had a sea view it was quite exciting to see the waves crashing onto the beach from the comfort of our room. Opt for a sea room if you can when booking, it is well worth the small extra cost.
The building is typical of older seaside hotels, traditional in style and decor, but nevertheless less equipped with modern facilities such as wi-fi, satellite TV and a modern bathroom.
The breakfast is served in a large seafront restaraunt. It is buffet style, with a good variety of dishes, well cooked and presented. For evening meals you have a choice of a full menu in here or a snack in the bar lounge. We did have a slight problem when we were only served 3 meals for the four of us, an oversight by a new member of the bar team, which meant a long wait for one of us, but a manageress apologised profusely for the error, and gave us free deserts by way of compensation.
Like many urban hotels built before everyone had cars, parking on site is very limited, and because of the bad weather we abandoned a plan to go out on the first evening, as we had arrived just in time to get the last space! There is on street parking nearby, but we decided not to brave the rain. In fact, we left the car at the hotel the following day, and the staff were very helpful, explaining that it was cheaper to book taxis both ways to the Dockyards than pay four bus fares.
I would certainly recommend this hotel as value for money, and would have no hesitation in staying here if we ever visit the area again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for spending time to review our hotel, your description of our style and values perfectly sums up what we try to offer our guests, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Address: South Parade | St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing