We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay super food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    461
    178
    55
    28
See reviews for
202
458
83
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just stayed here for a night partly using Best Western points. We had a large sea view room which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of storage space and a bath!
All the staff were friendly and the service was excellent. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast at the hotel and all the meals were of a high standard.
The hotel is an old fashioned seaside hotel and very well positioned on the sea front in a quiet area of Southsea. The walk along the seafront to Portsmouth takes about 30 minutes but there is so much to see on the water that it is a real pleasure. We spent quite a lot of time watching the hovercraft landing on the beach on its journey from Ryde.
Parking at the hotel is limited so would be difficult in high season.
We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Amazing views from sea facing rooms spoilt only by the closed south parade pier opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAXINEOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for a lovely review and I am pleased you had an enjoyable visit to Southsea, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights over Mothering Sunday weekend. My mother and I were in Portsmouth to see the Anton Du Beke show. Whilst the Royal Beach is more in the style of a traditional South Coast hotel ie slightly old fashioned and dated, the service from the staff was excellent. I could not fault the care and attention to small details they displayed to my elderly, visually impaired and disabled mother. Excellent choice of items on the buffet breakfast and a la carte dinner menu was great and nicely presented. Only disappointing factor is the size and accessibility of the car park. It is far too small for the size of hotel, it is not well signposted, nor is it wheelchair friendly. My mother and I had single rooms on the top floor with direct sea views, the rooms were well equipped and the bed and bedding extremely comfortable. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank OurLakeViewVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your comments which are appreciated, I hope the show lived up to your expectations as well, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torfaen, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have just spent the last weekend at an association AGM at the Royal Beach organised by Isle Of White Tours.
Food

Evening meals were a carvery style, all meals were hot well presented and tasty at all times.

Full english came as part of the package and there was everything you could ask for, constantly replaced with fresh food

Rooms

We stayed at room 308 overlooking the old south pier. The room is very large with a queen size bed which is very comfortable, spare pillows are readily available.

Staff

All staff I encountered were very helpful and polite throughout and only too happy to assist.

All in all a great weekend in a comfortable well run hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytripawayTorfaen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your review, As I have previously said in a prior review the feedback has been very good from all the members of the group and I hope for your future get together you consider staying with us again, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Royal Beach is always clean and the staff very friendly. Breakfast is buffet type and good quality compared to other Portsmouth Hotels. This is the quiet end of Southsea and about a 25 min walk to Gun Wharf at a normal pace. Parking is a bit tight but no worse than the other hotels in the area and after 6pm there are no on street parking charges. There is also free WIFI in all rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and hope you visit again, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here March 28th to 31st for our SAMA 82 AGM. We can not fault this hotel Staff, Food or Rooms they were 1st class. Hope to have our AGM there again one day. Shame the pier was out of action as the hotel is right opposite, but the shops were just a taxi or bus ride away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 140682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for a great review, I am pleased you had a wonderful time. The feedback from the SAMA reunion has been extremely good so I hope we see you all back again soon, many Thanks, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I ate at the restaurant today for mothering Sunday. We have been to the restaurant on a number of occasions, typically with a party of 20+ but today there were just 3. The service in the restaurant is excellent, the menu has not changed for a Sunday in years so we know what to expect, and it is fine, you get what you pay for. The location is great, but as others have said, parking is not great and today I was parked a good ten minutes walk away. The hotel certainly set out to make money today, serving food in the bar as well as the restaurant so having a drink and finding a seat before our meal was impossible. As a consequence the reception area was busy with standing room only and the restaurant would not let anyone in before half twelve. With some thought they could have let people sit earlier, just not eat before half twelve. Our experience today was let down by a very rude, obnoxious receptionist who perhaps is not best suited to working in the service industry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley_Proudlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you always find the restaurant to your liking. The Hotel was busy on Mothering Sunday for a number of reasons one of which was hosting a weekend reunion for the South Atlantic Veterans, this resulted in a full car park so I am sorry you did not find a parking space available. We always serve food in our lounge bar, this was not different to any other day of the week and we are generally always fully booked on a Sunday due to the popularity of the Carvery lunch. I spoke to the young lady on reception, who you discussed your parking issues with, who felt you may have interpreted her response incorrectly, she apologises if that was the case, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Address: South Parade | St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing