We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southsea - on business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 June 2014

For a holiday hotel right on the beach it would be superb Definitely caters well for the older visitor. it was business for me, choice based on cost, so little seen of hotel itself and rated on that. 4th floor internal "family" suite was adequate. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Harvey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel and its positive content, we do have a large number of business guests staying with us on a regular basis and are always looking at ways of improving the variety of packages we offer, regards Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in the Best Western Southsea just outside Portsmouth Harbour. Some search engines may call it Best Western Portsmouth. Great Hotel, older than most but has been looked after ( they were painting the outside on the day we stayed). If you want to look around Portsmouth this is great place to use as a base. Parking on site is limited but we coped OK. Plenty of street parking. First Group bus No1 takes you direct to Gun Wharf bus station if you don't fancy the walk or parking in Gun Wharf. Bus Stop is left turn outside hotel and walk across road. Return stop is opposite.

The hotel is nicely decorated, its not new but is very well maintained. There are loads of meeting rooms and the restaurant dining room is really quite large. We only used the restaurant for breakfast. The food at breakfast has all the usual UK items, fruit and continental and is buffet style. There are some specials so do look at the menu. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, great service.

The room we used had big ( very big !) windows which looked out across the sea ( just across the road ). Great bed and slept well. Bathroom was a bit small, but do you really need a big bathroom for an overnight or short stay, not really. It did what a bathroom should.

Downstairs has a nice bar with decent prices. Not much to say there, a whisky or two later and you don't notice much !!.

Overall a good decent hotel for a decent price. Do make sure you get the room rate which includes breakfast as standard doesn't always come up automatically on some booking sites.

Local attractions. Gun Wharf Quay for shopping, good ladies shops, sorry chaps, no tool shops etc ! but some very good eateries.

Do go to the D Day Museum, its about half way from hotel to Gun Wharf so turn right out of the hotel. When you see the pyramid shaped building on the sea side of the road you are nearly there. The D Day tapestry is a great salute to all those that gave so much in WW2 and is a must to see.

The Royal Marines Museum is turn left outside the hotel and just a short walk away.

Would we stay again ?, in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Book a room on the second floor ( there are 2 lifts )
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelfcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us,
best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel a few times but mainly for navy reunion weekends. Stay on one night but the service was still excellent. This hotel is clean and the choice of food you cannot fault. The staff answer any questions you might have and if they don't know the answer will find out for you. Will be staying there again no doubt of that.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggot074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for a great review, we try our best to please, and I think the team are brilliant as well, many thanks Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I went with my parents of the 70th anniversary of D Day. The staff and room service could not have been more helpful. The room (108) for those with mobility challenges was first class and the other rooms were very pleasant with nice views to the sea.

The food was well served and very good standard

It is a three star hotel but I would say is at the top of this category and excellent value for money in a traditional Victorian hotel .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roghum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review and I will pass on your praise to all the team, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

What better way to pay respects to that fell on D Day. This old Hotel has served in 2 World Wars. This time they had a full house of Veterans and their spouses. Very respectful staff to the many seniors and a spotless dining room and bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, from all accounts the veterans had a richly deserved wonderful weekend, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel has only two disabled accessible rooms. Having requested such a room, we arrived to find we had not been allocated one. All the other rooms apparently have identical bathrooms with fixed showers over a high sided bath and a low toilet. This means that my disabled husband can't use the shower or the toilet for the four days of our stay. We are with a coach party so can't leave and representation from all concerned has brought no resolution. The Disability Discrimination Act is quite clear on this. It gives people with disabilities important rights of access to everyday services most people take for granted. It's not just about ramps and wide doorways, it's about making services easier to use for all people with disabilities. Under the DDA it's unlawful to treat people with disabilities less favourably than able bodied people in relation to their disability (Denying them a shower and a toilet they can use without assistance?) service providers have to make "reasonable adjustments" to the way they deliver services to enable disabled people to use them. A sturdy step and raised toilet seat in our case, had anyone asked. Clearly no "Disabilty Awareness" training (another requisite of theDDA) had been done by the duty manager and receptionist we encountered. Mild annoyance and no attempt at resolution, let alone an apology, left us completely stunned and reduced me to tears after a long journey. All my husband wanted was what anybody would expect, a hot shower and the use of an en suite loo. There is a public disabled toilet in reception, sadly not accessible to David alone on his crutches or his mobility scooter as he would have to negotiate two very heavy fire doors, one immediately behind a steep ramp up 3 steps with no handrail. All establishments were given 10 years to make the necessary changes which should have been in place by 2010 !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgran47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

I am sorry you were not allocated an accessible room on arrival and after checking with your tour operator no request for that type of room was made to us, both accessible rooms were allocated to other guests so no alternative was available. The Housekeeper has tried to make your room as friendly as possible but I can understand your frustration. I will try to organise another stay for you in an appropriate room as soon as possible, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

stayed at the Royal Beach for 2 nights attending a wedding reception. Had low expectations as when booking by phone the receptionist appeared a little abrupt. On arrival was greeted warmly and found all staff very helpful and efficient. Our room on the 4th floor was spacious and well furbished with a lovely sea view. The breakfast staff were particularly admirable with their ability to cope with large numbers of people, the food and service first class. Probably the best Best Western hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulavinaka_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for a great review which I will have great pleasure in forwarding to BW, thanks again, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
917 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,551 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £71 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing