We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were travelling to the Isle of Wight and fancied a look round Portsmouth before going the next day.
The Royal Beach looked a reasonable hotel and so we booked. Our double room turned out to be a family room but that was OK as the double bed was a little on the small side and so I slept in a bunk bed.
The staff were friendly and for the most part, efficient. We ate both lunch and evening meal at the hotel and again the food was of a good standard. We would certainly stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you took advantage of the family rooms extra beds, hopefully if you visit again please book a queen size which will be more comfortable, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    457
    175
    54
    28
See reviews for
198
451
82
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel on Monday 9 June 2014 ahead of my cross channel crossing on Brittany Ferries the next morning. The Hotel is very easy to find from Central Portsmouth and the Railway Stations and Portsmouth & Southsea and Portsmouth Harbour. I had a great welcome from the Reception Staff who were very helpful. My bedroom was on the 4th floor looking over Portsmouth. The room was clean with clean bedding, clean en suite. Disabled access was great with a lift accessing all floors. If you are staying at the Hotel ahead of a Ferry crossing the Hotel is about a 25 to 30 minute drive if catching a early Ferry which I did (08:15) but can be longer if catching a afternoon crossing in event of a lot of traffic. Breakfast is served from 06:45am but can be ordered from bedrooms early from 05:00am. Reception staff will advise you on dinner arrangements on arrival.

Room Tip: I would say a room on the 4th floor looking towards the Solent as the back rooms only give you a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for a great review of the Hotel and we hope to see you again, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for a single night in a one person room whilst attending a concert at the Wedgewood Rooms, 70quid booking.com deal I think. Easy to find - right on the seafront. Room was clean yet spacious (especially since it was a single person room) with a great view of the opposite beach. Friendly staff, nice brekkie. Not that close to the central shops if that's your thing - about 15 minutes brisk walk. Was about 15 minutes from the Albert Street venue. Easy check in, check out, free parking (although as other have mentioned, it's a little tight and not that many spaces - didn't affect me as I got there about 1430, got checked in and left the car there until I checked out). Would certainly use again for Southsea/Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Well, I liked the single room with the sea view. not sure if there are others round the back, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for a very good review of the Hotel and I am pleased you had a good stay with us, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was my third stay here and very good again. I asked for a quiet room high floor which was noted and this was a great twin room. Clean and comfortable as before and helpful polite staff. We had a problem with our lights going out at 10.45pm. A phone call to reception and this was quickly resolved by staff in our room. Nice breakfast as before. The biggest problem is arriving late and parking but we did manage to squeeze into a space at the back. Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your good review of the hotel and I am even more pleased we can maintain the standards you expect on your visits, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were on a coach trip from Wales and when we arrived we had warm welcome and luggage taken to our rooms,good start.Facilities in room were great, if you ran out of beverages you only had to ask at reception to get more. Our room was great, we were at the back so there was no traffic noise from the main road,did not mind that we did not hadve a sea view as the beach was just across the road. Our duvet was depressing, 13.5 tog,in summer, well used,I think that could be binned ,mattress not something we would like to sleep on again Windows could be opened WIDE, so had a good breeze. Light above sink was not working so informed reception and when we got back in the evening it was sorted. Staff were really helpful, polite and curtious, mind you only two rattled my cage, for being impolite. Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from, only found out on my third day you could ask for scrambled, poached or boiled eggs when I noticed that it was on the reverse of the menu on the table, then when I did ask I was abrubtly told to ask the staff that came to the table, felt like I was at school. Evening meal was the worst we found, first course was poor, main meal, poorer, the vegatables, if thats what you would call them, broccoli was more yellow and brown than green one night and the next night we had broccoli and stilton soup!, carrots we okay, next day we had carrot and swede mash!, could not see the swede though but the dessert, now that was the best, 10 out of 10 for that. We thought the hotel was great, yes it could do with a bit updating but it was clean, gripes were sorted and staff were great, evening meals let it down for us.What we thought was a good idea was water coolers on every floor, so we had cold water any time.

Lynda

Room Tip: We found reception staff always willing to help, so if there is something you need or a question to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had a good stay with us apart from a few minor points and hope you decide to visit us again, best wishes Chris Gilmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, staff friendly, superb breakfast, bedroom had great sea view. Only slight issue was parking was a bit tight but found a spot. Would stay again , good location to get into old Portsmouth. But no noisy activity outside as it's well away from nightlife.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review which is appreciated, I am pleased you had a good stay with us and l will pass on your comments to the team, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very disappointing fixed menu food and access for disabled. Supplement for single occupancy in a single room incapable of taking a second person is bizarre. Poor service and food options for vegetarians. Owners only interested in money, not service. We were a group of ageing World War II vets who seriously struggled with accommodation, stairs and extremely high temperatures in the hotel, when it was cold outside. Will never go back. Before posting this, I put all the problems to the hotel, no reply received. Says it all.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am always disappointed to receive a negative review especially as I am unaware of the issues you have written, I have not received any correspondence to date and would have responded immediately. I am puzzled by your fixed menu comment as we offer a choice Carvery menu consisting of a minimum of five choices per course with vegetarian options on each, our staff are trained to offer any guest not finding dishes suitable to offer an alternative so I m sorry this did not appear to happen. We do have two lifts to all floors in the building to provide ease of access for all guests but I agree the accessible entrance does need to be improved but owing to the age and height of our entrance is proving difficult, if you would like to contact me to discuss this further please do so, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
4.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Address: South Parade | St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing