We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,530)
Filter reviews
1,530 results
Traveller rating
628
579
218
69
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
579
218
69
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view car park sea front south parade pier lounge bar buffet style single room bit dated lovely hotel room was large reception staff isle of wight street parking breakfast was excellent weekend break enjoyable stay a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 1,530 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

My first stay at this hotel.

Considering the price paid (£69 B+B) the overall experience was fine. The room (427) was at the rear of the property and very much a single. The bathroom was tiny but functional.

The general decor of the hotel is conservative but in good order and clean. Wi-fi is free and worked fine.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Pelikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The service is fantastic right across the whole hotel . The staff are welcoming and polite as well as a clean and light restaurant the food is of a very high standard . Would recommend this hotel to anybody . Well done to the staff and management awonderful really relaxing break

Room Tip: All the rooms areyou of avery high standard
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tracielegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thank you for a good review of the hotel and team, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Booked a room for the night as we were attending a charity event. Check in went smoothly. Hotel is a bit dated but remember this is an old building. Small bar but well stocked and good service. The room was ok good level of comfort and a nice tea tray. Best thing about hotel is location car park is tight and small and first come first serve. I can't find a lot to get excited about this Hotel sorry a bit over priced at £95 a night.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil101066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your review, from your comments all elements of your stay seemed to be enjoyable and I hope your charity event raised the amounts you were expecting, we are refurbishing areas of the hotel at the moment and we will try to continue to give good service at a competitive price, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

we had stayed in another Best Western hotel at Limpley Stoke the day before traveling down to Portsmouth and what a difference a day makes, we had a totally different experience here, same rating same group but this was a "Royal" experience by comparison, staff helpful, obliging, bar facilities good and properly staffed, restaurant in completely different class to previous experience of day before, breakfast presentation and approach to service, top choice and a great set up for a busy day. in fact we enjoyed our stay so much we had another day, car parking a bit hit and miss but little a Victorian hotel can do about that, (not every Victorian visitor would have a car so car parking not an issue when built) we found a parking place on side street and left the car there and walked everywhere for two days good exercise and appetite building to boot.our second room for the extended night had a toilet in front of a floor to ceiling window and with frosted glass and net curtain however one felt exposed and if ones in a lit room looking out into darkness one cant see anything, but it doesn't work in opposite direction from dark into light you can possibly see outlines not good for ones constitution (for either party) all above said we need to remember this is all subjective "one mans meat is another mans poison" and things can change from one day to another as demonstrated in this five day trip.

Room Tip: go for sea view
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found our hotel to be a "Royal" experience and I have taken on board your comments re the bathroom window, I hope you come and stay with us again, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews