We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 December 2010

arrived 2 hours early but room ready. lovley double aspect sea view well furnished with v good queen sized bed ate i lunch and 2 evening meals good choise of food and wine at sensible prices .staff helpful but unobtrusive in comon with most hotels good self service breakfast all in all worth more than its 3 stars.the weekend we were there they had 3 large funcions no noise in or out will return again soonest

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AldershotDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we were attending a wedding celebration in one of the function rooms. The receptionist was a very friendly and welcoming guy who made us feel at home immediately. Check in was quick. Our room was a standard double on the 4th floor and we were given a seaview room overlooking Southsea Pier and the Solent which was a lovely view. The room and the bathroom were both large with loads of storage space. The room was spotless. The bed was huge and really comfortable. We paid £68.40 on a room only basis (no breakfast) through a website and I think this was a good price. Only a couple of niggles - the car park in the hotel was completely full at 4.00pm, but luckily we were able to park in the road running adjacent. The TV was not tuned very well and the sound and picture were a bit dodgy, but as we weren't in the room that much this wasn't really a huge issue... Would definitely recommend the Royal Beach for a stay in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollys65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We have stayed at The Royal Beach Hotel 3 times now and I have to say the service, and the staff are excellent. The rooms are always extremely clean and comfortable as is the rest of the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and the breakfasts are great, there is so much choice. We hope to return again next year and have already recommended it to several of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FossilHunter067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before going to the IOW.

Clean family room on the 3rd floor overlooking the seafront. Large room and the beds were very comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent with a vast choice from hot counter. Cereal and toast was also available, and coffee wasn't bad either.

Would I go back again? Yes, I would as I have travelled to Pompey loads over the years and really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbyb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed for one night on our way to Goodwood Revival, given the room over the hotel Disco and bar despite telling staff we needed to leave early.Bar noise until 4am and the revellers continued to party in their room right next to ours.Managed 2 hours sleep.
Room smelly and in need of refurbishment.
Absolutely ruined our weekend trip to Goodwood.
Wrote to the chief executive, David Clarke to complain and no response as yet.
Very angry and upset.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2010

Let me firstly apologise as did the duty manager on Sunday morning for other guests noisy behaviour, you can not always guarantee that other guests will be considerate to others.
A written reply is in the post to your letter adressed to our chairman. I would like however to react to your comments.

The Disco finished at 12.30 am and the bar closed at 1.00 am, not 4am
We can only assume that the bride and groom with some other guests finished the evening entertaining in there suite next to your room as no other guest complained of noise.

The only time we were made aware of your complaint was to the duty manager at 9am the following morning, had any of the night management been aware of your problems we would have reacted to it.

Your room was recently refurbished with new king size bed, carpet and furnishings – inspected and confirmed in excellent order by independent and unattached guest at hotel 4th October.

As a gesture of goodwill you were not charged for your room or breakfast, and whilst I understand your anger and frustration I feel the comments re smelly and in need of refurbishment and to request reimbursement of your ticket entry fees for Goodwood are totally inappropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

the staff were very helpful and friendly. the lift continues to be a problem, but a new one is being installed. we were a group of elderly and disabled (with carers), and the staff helped if there was a problem with wheelchairs etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed for 2 nights to visit relatives and to see the historic Dockyard complex. Spacious,clean room with sea views,but did get a bit stuffy-the sash windows can be opened though.We only had bar meals,but these were adequate and the service was fast and efficient.Nice buffet breakfast in the large dining room.Enjoyable walk along the sea-front into Portsmouth.Parked our car in the Hotel carpark at the rear of the building.Helpful staff and easy check-in and check-out.We enjoyed our visit and thought it good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoebecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
968 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,205 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £67 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing