We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful service and accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a night in February this year with my partner, and was extremely impressed with everything, the room was immaculate with beautiful views of the sea from our window, the room was very spacious and had plenty off tea and coffee facility's. the bed was extremely comfortable and we had plenty of extra blankets if we needed them and there was plenty of hot water for a bath, the toiletry's left by the maid were a bit limited but it wasn't a big issue .
The staff were very friendly and approachable down stairs and in the bar area, the food however was very over priced which was a bit of a nuisance as there are not many restaurants down the south side.
But all in all, we had a lovely stay and will definatly be planning another visit in the near future, big thumbs up from us :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorronE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

This Best Western was exactly as I expected - the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were standard buffet fayre (with lovely smoked haddock & scrambled eggs on request), the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Its drawbacks were also as I expected - old windows running with condensation, scruffy bathroom in need of an update, too much heating in the breakfast room and the general need for a complete re-decorate. But the location was just lovely and I would definitely return if I was in the area again (if only for the much-appreciated free wifi!).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freckle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed for two nights. The room was clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. It was nice that the windows were not locked so we could open fullly to hear the sea.
The breakfast was fine and the staff cleared a table so that we could have a sea view when eating (which was a nice touch)
The bed was extremely comfortable and wide enough so that my snoring could onle be heard at a distance.

Needed a Coke at 7.00am and the night porter was really friendly and chatty.
Really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneysunshinexxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I booked to stay at the Royal Beach hotel 24th-28th January 2011 via a well known 'at the last minute' internet travel booking site. I found the hotel ok, the rooms/floors looked fairly dated but the staff were pleasant and the food in the bar was suprisingly nice and inexpensive.
On checkout, the hotel charged me for my accomodation as well as meals etc as per normal which is fairly standard.

However when I returned home, I discovered that the booking though this specific website meant that I had already prepaid. Therefore I have double paid effectively. I have subsquently telephoned the hotel 4 (FOUR) times in the days since and have not been able to obtain any response from the hotel or even someone returning my call.
I would recommend caution if you are staying at the Royal Beach hotel and you have prepaid for your accomodation to ensure you do not pay on checkout. If a representative from the hotel reads this, you have my number (x 4!)

Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank mattcayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Grand hotel with a prominent location on the seafront - so some way off from the city centre and port. Now showing its age despite some attempts at renovation. We were upgraded to a huge sea-view room but it still did not feel especially good value. Very comfortable bed but rather ordinary bathroom and a TV that hardly worked. Decent breakfast in their restaurant overlooking the beach that must be great in nice weather.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

beautiful food, first rate service and spotlessly clean, excellent value for money

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

arrived 2 hours early but room ready. lovley double aspect sea view well furnished with v good queen sized bed ate i lunch and 2 evening meals good choise of food and wine at sensible prices .staff helpful but unobtrusive in comon with most hotels good self service breakfast all in all worth more than its 3 stars.the weekend we were there they had 3 large funcions no noise in or out will return again soonest

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AldershotDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
949 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £62 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing