We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Family Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good & Family Friendly”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here with our young kids and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The staffs are very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and nice. Breakfast was wonderful although they had a large number of guests at that time due to the Bank Holiday, but well handled. Drive to the Gunwharf Quays shopping outlet was less than 20mins. No complains and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k1deiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest,

this is Brialliant feedback and Thank you for your nice comments and we hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    482
    246
    87
    47
See reviews for
320
431
31
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Today my family and I went to the Marriott in Portsmouth purely for Father's Day lunch... When we arrived we were fairly swiftly taken to our table, however it being a Sunday we all opted for the roast carvery choice, we were all a little let down as there was only gammon and turkey available (where we had expected at least one other option), having been served a fairly measly portion of the meats, there wasn't any Yorkshire puddings, cauliflower cheese, potatoes and a sparing amount of gravy for each of us. The only saving grace of our meal was the attentiveness of our waiter, chris h- (didn't quite catch his surname), he was very polite, always smiling and dealt with our many (necessary) requests quickly and with lighthearted humour, although the food wasn't up to scratch we left satisfied thanks to him

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shriekforsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for visiting our Sealevel restaurant for Father's day lunch and Thank you for your feedback. We were verbusy that day and I have spoken to our kitchen team with regards to your comments and we need to fill up our buffet quicker. We had many reservation and I do agree we could have had a third main course on offer which we will implement on future large events to give customers more choice. We have passed the comments on the Chris who will be pleased with you kind comments

we hope you will give us another chance and hope you will see the improvements,

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding at this hotel. Me and my husband stayed here overnight on night of wedding along with many other wedding guests. We did get breakfast which was lovely. Scrambled egg yum yum! But that was because it was a deal under wedding party...we wouldnt have otherwise. ..so room's are expensive I must admit and definitely didnt like check in at 3pm considering we had to be at the wedding for 3pm as well. We had been travelling since early morning and would have prefered a midday check in to get ready etc.
As we arrived there we did notice right next door was a premier inn...prob much more cheaper but didnt know that at time of booking!
The hotel is really nice tho...rooms were lovely clean large and bed was a huge king size bed with lots of pillows!!!
The fridge has sensors built in them so beware. ..as soon as you lift something from its place in the fridge you will be charged! I found this fascinating!
Didnt see the pool so cant comment.
Staff were friendly.
Overall prob wouldnt stay here again unless no other alternative but only because its pricey and thats without breakfast! Rooms were lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniquemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and we are pleased you like the hotel. Please check our website for the best offers in future, since we offer good value deals if you book early.

we hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milnathort
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

At £105 per night, bed only, it was not expensive by the standards of UK hotels. Also, the standards of the hotel were high, like all other Marriotts in which I have stayed worldwide. However, I have a huge problem with having to pay for parking as this is as much a part of the stay as, say, using the towels.
Honestly, I couldn't have cared less if the room had been £110, but to charge for parking is obscene in my view. I heard other guests in the car park griping about it. Clearly an attempt by some clever person in the organisation to bring Ryanair business practices to the hotel industry. If not nipped in the bud, this approach might lead to other charges; such as charging for use the use of toilet paper or the television.
I felt so offended that I deliberately avoided what seemed a very nice hotel restaurant to have dinner and breakfast elsewhere in town. Clearly I will carefully check every hotel in future and avoid any which charge for parking.
Worse still, you have to drive over metal spikes to get out of the hotel grounds, which spring up and rattle off the underside of your car. I don't know if they did damage, but you have been informed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and your comments. We implemented a parking system more then a year ago to stop neighbouring schools and companies around us leaving their cars on our parking and blocking space for our meetings, weddings and weekend guests.
We only charge a nominal £ 3,- per night. This has ensured, that we have sufficient spaces available for our own guests. The crocodile teeth were installed, since customers were taking a short cut and we have had accidents whereby guests drove in against the traffic signs. These are weight balanced and do not damage the bottom of cars.
Your comments are well taken and will see if we can include these in our room rates.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

the moment i walked in it was very grand, the rooms very clean and the staff were very helpful and there was no problems. the rooms had great beds, bathrooms and televisions. later me and the family went down to the pool and spa area and they were very relaxing. evening meals were quite expensive and were not the best for that money. The morning buffet was amazing and had wide selection of foods for everyone. overall a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are pleased that yu enjoyed your stay with us.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed there for one night en route from the Isle of Wight to Winchester. The accommodation generally was very good, which is what you would expect from a Marriott. Staff generally were of a professional standard and very helpful.

A few niggles though - why isn't WiFi free in the room rather than only in the lobby? As usual in this chain, and many others as well, why is the coffee at breakfast always far too bitter and stewed rather than freshly made? Why only serve French jam/marmalade (orange jam!) for breakfast when you should be showcasing a good English make? Finally was not too impressed with the dinner on the Sunday night, not the best fish and chips I have tasted, sickly batter and mushy chips pre-sprinkled with far too much salt!

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room not facing the motorway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing747SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Unfortunately Marriott International is offering only free WiFi in Lobby's world-wide at the moment, but this might change in 2013.
We serve fresh Starbucks coffee from their machines each 30 minutes and I will investigate this and also your other suggestions a valid and I will look into these suggestions.

Hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed several times in recent months (Feb to current) for business in Portsmouth.

* Food (dinner) is good quality and varied. Breakfast is an average self-service offering, and nothing special. Starbucks coffee at breakfast is a plus in my book, but this is the only hotel I've been to in recent years that has (without warning) charged extra for an expresso rather than a standard coffee. As the name suggests, the Sea Level restaurant menu is sea food heavy, but I'm not a big fan and still found plenty of alternatives.

* In general, staff are very good - particularly on check-in, which has always been welcoming and efficient. Only complaint here is that although there are lots of them, the restaurant staff at breakfast can be very slow to seat people, leaving you stood in the open plan lobby/restaurant/bar trying to catch a waiter/waitress' attention

* Rooms are of the same Marriott template style/decor that leaves you looking for some stationery to figure out which one, in which country, you're in. They are well maintained and clean, but noisy due to the rather poor quality windows and close proximity to main roads. The hotel is quite a tall building, so on the higher floors you can often also add wind whistling through the gaps in the window panels in some of the rooms. Of all the hotel, this is the one aspect I thought could really use some maintenance work, and as a light sleeper it's a big down-side. I notice this has been mentioned in other reviews, so hopefully someone at Marriott will see it's worth some attention.

* There's a gym and pool. The pool is in the open plan lobby area, partitioned off from the bar, but overlooked by several of the rooms. I suppose wouldn't seem strange outdoors, but for some reason seems a little odd to me when it's all in the same inside space. The gym is well equipped with CV machines, free weights (up to around 30kg) and benches, resistance machines etc

I would return here - overall it's a well-run hotel, highly suited to business travellers (close proximity to several business areas mean there are plenty), and despite the noisy windows and impersonal character (more of a brand point than one specific to this hotel), the good outweighs the bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us all the time when you are in Portsmouth and for the detailed comments.
I will forward these to my team for their review and action and I just wanted to let you know that we are speaking our owners of the building to replace all the bedroom windows to improve insulation of noise and temperature. We have changed the brushes the last 2 years.

Hope to see you again soon,

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
982 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
869 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Property: Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#12 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing