We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a little break away from it all. Lovely hotel. Lovely pool area, lovely rooms, lovely breakfast! Just lovely! We visited the area during our stay, historic dockyard, went to the Isle of Wight for the day and a bit of retail therapy on our last day! Will look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shan085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for you Lovely feedback and we would love to see you back soon !!

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here last week for the New Years Eve dinner with a party of 8 friends. We had a fantastic time and the hotel could not be faulted on any aspect of service, rooms, food, breakfast etc. did not make use of the pool area but it looked very inviting. The dinner dance itself was excellent, the food and service was spot on, the DJ and band, The Lionel's, were very good, value for money was good, wine a bit expensive but you expect that in an hotel. Overall a top class experience we will be booking for next year!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank jimmackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Happy New Year to you and your friends and Thank you for celebrating with us in 2013. We have received alot of great feedback like yours and we hope to see you again soon !!

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Wet back again this new years eve. Helpful staff, comfortable rooms, clean and tidy. Easy access. big car park. Kids love the indoor pool and breakfast was a delight. They have a starbucks in the lounge. Only annoying thing was the bag pipe player for new years eve but that is a personal choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattyCOYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Happy New Year to you and Thank you for the great feedback, we have noted from other guests as well that the piper was a bit load, so we have think about something else next year. We hope to see you again in 2014.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Driving home back from Gatwick to the West Country during the very fierce storm on 23 December we only managed to get as far as Portsmouth and were absolutely shattered by the atrocious driving conditions. With no reservation we pitched up on their doorstep and were welcomed as if we were long standing loyal clients of theirs; with a room rate to match. What a relief to get into the usual, high quality Marriott family room; both spacious and comfortable. The total opposite to the hotel we had left behind in Switzerland!!

Breakfast the following morning was great and we felt totally refreshed to carry on with our journey. So many thanks to the welcoming reception staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonBlueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback and I have shared it with my team already,

We hope to see you again soon,

Best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I cam here for a works Christmas party. And I was blown over by the quality of the room. I decided to opt for one of the more expensive rooms and It was very upmarket indeed with no expense spared. It was a very comfortable room indeed.
The meal that followed was very pleasing and I have to say I had seconds :-) Not like me normally. The rest of the evening was very entertaining. The staff were very attentive and helpful which is what I expected for a hotel of this caliber. All in all one of the best hotels I've stayed in this year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DexterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Wow !! what a great review. Thank you for the nice comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Have a great Christmas and a successful New Year.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Porchester Suite last night, and we could not fault the room, we did order room service, the only problem we had, was the waiter forgot to bring 2 sets of cutlery. We had to wait a further 10 minutes for additional cutlery, which meant our meals were cold when we finally got the cutlery. Then, when we came to eat our dessert, we found we had no dessert spoons, so we had to wash up our dinner forks. Overall, we will be back again, as generally the service is good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marc1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and choosing our great suite and we are pleased you enjoyed most of your stay. We apologise for this silly Room Service personal mistake.
My Restaurant Manager has investigated that day and you were served by a new associate, although this is not an excuse, we have retrained the whole team to double check the RS orders before they bring it up to the rooms.
Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

We hope to see you again soon and have a great Christmas and New Year,

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Sadly stay was ruined by nosey smokers in hut located under my room. Not sure who thought that would ever work, especially over the Christmas Party period.

Staff attitude was disappointing 'Sorry Sir, we have to cater for all our customers' which roughly equates to 'Sorry Sir, we have to make as much money as possible from all our customers'.

Smoking bit was closed off at 2230 - not very helpful as I'd been lying in bed listening to them since 2000 (early flight in the morning).

So if you don't mind noise and can sleep through anything - this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Ask not to go near smokers hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kachariw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and we do apologise for the moise from the smokers hut. They were located outside hotel and restaurants in the UK, we decided to build it away from the hotel and our policy is to close it at 22.30 and customers can then only smoke in front of the hotel. Unfortunately my tea did not know that you went to bed early, please let us know next time and we close it earlier. Also please ask for a room facing Port Solent for your next visit. On this side of the hotel, there are no smoking facilities for guests.

Best regards and a Merry Christmas,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,050 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £66 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing