We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing less was expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Regularly stay in Marriott throughout the world so have come to certain expectations whenever I stay in one and know a bit or two about their brand standards. Stayed in February for 2 nights. Room good, Dining areas good, staff at dinner service excellent, food excellent, front desk no warmth - both at check-in and check-out. Checked in and out with no guests around but still not interested. Thats why 4 stars not 5.

TIP - ensure your reception does not let you down - your audit is due anytime.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank bachkerehna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our Marriott Hotel and for your great feedback. I have passd it on to the Front Desk Team and should have been be more welcoming and hospitable, please accept our apologies.

We hope to see you again soon,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by friendly reception staff. Had to wait for almost 20 min before the reception staff could attend to us as there were a few people in queue. After a tiring journey, the welcome orange drink at the reception area was a very caring gesture. The hotel room was very spacious with lovely range of pillows for a good night sleep. We tried dinner at the restaurant and the asst manager - Mr. Douglas was very friendly and approachable and ensured that we were taken very good care of. The selection of bread served was fabulous which was free. The entire staff at the restaurant were very caring and friendly and full of smiles. I must also thank the housekeeping staff for their exceptional work of keeping the room neat and tidy. My little girl loved her stay and even went to the extent of saying she never wanted to return home and wanted to stay at the Marriott forever .. ;-). Overall I am very pleased with our stay at the Marriott and have recommended this hotel to my friends.

==>The WC is very close to the bath and it is somewhat uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and we are pleased you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Initial appearances are ok,but reception is cramped into the corner. The bar/restaurant/lounge area are all together, doesn't work in this property. The ceiling is warehouse like, and the leisure club literally opens up to the bar with just a high wall separating them,the Smell of chlorine while having dinner isn't good. The pool is quite small, and overall abit dirty.rooms are average and bathroom is dated. Staff are great, the lady in leisure club, the lad in the bar and young lady at breakfast are great. (Sorry names don't stick!)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EAlex88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback.
I am sorry to read that you do not like the lay-out of our Great Room on the ground floor, which we call Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge. The Great Room is a new concept and planned as a great "living room" where people can sit everywhere to relax, read a book or eat and drink together. It was planned and designed as an open space. This was all renovated in 2009. The design of the hotel, atrium/roof of this space goes back to the build of the hotel 32 years ago.
In regards to the chlorine smell, we have installed a salt water system in 2013 with CO2 and therefore we do not use any chlorine in the pool. I have spoken to the Leisure Club Manager in regards to the cleanliness issue.
I have passed your feedback on to my associates and they were very pleased to hear your great comments on the service you received.

Hope to see you again soon,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked this hotel for a Valentines week-end with Spa package. We asked for early check in upon booking as we had a to hour drive. When we arrived at 2pm the room was not ready, something we cannot guarantee we were told......why offer this service? When are we supposed to know? The blonde receptionist was unhelpful and surly and told us to wait in the bar and she would come and get us when the room was ready. We went to the cocktail bar(mentioned in hotel description). This is a "glorified lean -too" which contains pool/ 360degree bar/restaurant. Who ever cme up with this idea has got it badly wrong. Sitting at the bar we asked for Martini Royal's not a complicated cocktail which we have had all over the country....we were told by bar manager that this was a cocktail ready made in a bottle!!!! Which they did not have. When we mentioned we had this drink many times he insisted we were wrong and walked off. Ashleigh to the rescue who used who used Internet to find the recipe and made them for us.....however charged us £24 for two small drinks.....aghast at the price....she went to another chap who then returned £8 and charged us for only 2 prosecco. Meanwhile the receptionist was back and forth telling guests there room was ready not us!! We sat in the bar which seemed like being in a municipal swimming centre as there were only 3 "sails" as a divider. At 3pm we went back to the reception to the surly blonde who would not deal with us but passed us to a nice friendly Cheyenne who said our room was ready. The room was on the 7th floor....nice spacious and clean. We had a swim and our massages which were ok.....kept waiting in a cold entrance for the therapist. We returned to the restaurant for our Valentine's meal again the atmosphere is ruined by the smell of the pool, crying children in the pool and people walking through in dressing gowns. The staff are very friendly but as they don't write down what you ask for we got the wrong starters and puddings!! Breakfast was buffet style and again the staff were friendly but not the best. I have stayed in many Marriotts but this lay out does not do it for me. Your literature implies you have separate cocktail lounge, restaurant etc. this is my first visit to Portsmouth which I loved and had a lovely stay with my husband but if I were nearer the centre I would have ate out......I would not recommend this Marriott

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your feedback. I was able to investigate what happened and the room you requested with feather free bedding was occupied the night before and due the Valentine’s day celebrations before, the previous guests checked out late.
The early check-in is "on request only" and unfortunately we could not honour this, due to the special request.
We do apologise for the inconvenience with the requested cocktail. Your favourite drink is not listed in our extensive cocktail menu and caused some confusion and after checking on the internet, the recipe was found and the drink was made. We apologise for charging the wrong price in the beginning, since the traditional recipe was served with Champagne, whereby we used a sparkling wine, so this was adjusted to Prosecco prices.
Unfortunately we can't change the layout of the Ground Floor Lobby and F&B outlets. That weekend a lot of families used the hotel, therefore pool was frequented by the children and until 19.00 they are welcome. This can cause additional noise in the lobby. We asked them to leave at 19.30, so the adults can have a quiet drink or dinner afterwards.
We made a personal mistake by taking the order and we apologise for this inconvenience. I have hear this was corrected immediately and without a long delay.
I hope this answers your concerns and we hope to see you again in the future, so you can give us a second chance to prove that we have a great hotel and team.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

First time I had tried the Marriott restaurant for a family Sunday lunch.

The food was very nice, and the service was very good, the staff asked us 3/4 time if we needed anything during the meal.

Meal price was very reasonable.

I would have no hesitation in going back again.

Well worth a visit!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Graham929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback on our Sunday Lunch and we are glad you and your family enjoyed it. We are planning to make it even better in 2014 with changes in some dishes and we hope to see you again soon and try the new menu and buffet dishes.

bst regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was the first time we had stayed here and it will definitely be the last - the statement " would you like to book for dinner" only served one purpose it guaranteed you a seat. The restaurant, bar, lounge are all in a row on the ground floor with no walls between them, and a roof that makes it look like you are in a warehouse, We were only there for one night and if we had been staying in Portsmouth longer we would have found another hotel. on Friday evening we came down for dinner only to find there was a function who were meeting in the bar area, they spread everywhere cutting through the restaurant area to get to the bar (Euston Station on a Friday afternoon is quieter) the bedroom was fine and the reception and evening bar and service staff were pleasant but the breakfast staff on Saturday obviously didn't do mornings!! add that to the unappetizing food (not like the normal Marriott standard) and we were glad to check out -we stopped on the motorway home for coffee and pasties!! after frequently staying at other Marriott's this was a grave disappointment

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benyemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and Thnak you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not like the New Marriott Great Room concept on the ground floor. It has an open plan design with a individual seating,a Lounge, Bar and Restaurant all in one open area. This was renovated for 1.2 million in 2009 with 32MB free internet.
We do apologise for the breakfast, we took on 60 additional rooms from another hotel the night before with 120 guests, due to water damage. With the additional volume, we were probably not our usual self with food and service.
The food buffet is the same Marriott buffet you will find in all Marriott's in Europe. Please let me know what you did not like.

I hope you will give us another change when you are back in Portsmouth and please let me know and we will look after you with an upgrade to a Superior Room for your stay.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for my birthday a nice break away from the children. The hotel is clean and modern, beds were very comfy i didnt want to leave the next day! Breakfast was one of the best i have had in any hotel it was brilliant. We will be booking again for sure great value for mobey and think we will upgrade to a suite next time. Very happy with our stay will come back again and again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel-lovers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are very please that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £67 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing