We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed Saturday overnight. We found the hotel excellent in all departments throughout our stay. We have not been to Portsmouth for many years and the reason for the visit was a trip to the Spinnaker Tower/Gunwharf Quays both excellent and the hotel an ideal base for a weekend break. We ate in the restaurant Saturday evening delicious food reasonably priced we were attended to by the lovely Caroline nothing was too much trouble she went that extra mile, lovely buffet breakfast on the Sunday morning.

Room Tip: We were allocated 625 clean/quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel over the weekend and the great comments. I have forwarded your comments to Caroline and she will be very pleased with your commenst on her service.

We hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    491
    249
    87
    48
See reviews for
329
434
31
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is just like any other marriott, the room was comfortable and clean.
Some of the private parties in the evening were a bit overwhelming, with large of groups of people gathering outside the main door. It seemed like a high street on a Friday night...not nice.
Breakfast was very good.
The spa facilities are ok, lacking signs telling people to shower before going in!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and your feedback, we did have a large wedding that weekend and we apologise for the inconvenience and I will share the leisure signage with my Club Manager.

We hope to see you again soon,

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfair Caereinion, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Well one night stay was about all i could take,, nothing wrong with the hotel rooms or staff.. my room was as it should be, it even had a disabled bath chair for me to use,, some what disappointed, that even though the hotel and requested disabled room, had been booked the day before arrival..it took some 45 minutes before i could use the room ,because it was not ready,, even after our arrival after 6 o'clock.
I suppose it is dont to choice ,,, and a hotel that feels like a air port waiting area is not my kind of place to stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your comments. I tried to find your booking, but was not able to without a name. During the Bank holiday weekend we were fully booked and we had several Housekeepers call in sick in the morning and unfortunately we were not able to get replacments quickly and even our managers and supervisors cleaned rooms which resulted in a delay in getting clean rooms back. This was also impacted by late check outs due to a large amount of families.

We apologise for the inconvenience and we hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend in Portsmouth. The Marriott is about a 10-15 minute drive inland from the harbour. There is a park and ride to be used at the halfway point. Great rooms and spa facilities and an excellent breakfast. Only downside is paid wifi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the great comments. We do offer free 32MB WiFi in our lobby and restauarnt and on Marriott.com we do offer rates including breakfast and internet at a reduced rate. Please check these out for your next visit.

we hope to see you again soon.

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott for a couple of nights while attending a business conference at the establishment. Breakfast was excellent and the rest of the food was ok. My room was clean and comfortable. Staff were polite. Exactly what I expected of the Marriott.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trixilita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank yourfor staying with us and for your great comments and we are pleased that yu enjoyed our great service.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for business over several weeks and each time was a wonderful experience.

The staff are friendly and helpful and as you would expect from a Marriott the rooms are amazing.

The hotel also has an excellent gym and swimming pool

Thoroughly recommended....will keep coming back

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thnak you for your great feedback and we hope to see you again soon. We just opened our free electric car chargers. Please feel free to bring your E-car we will charge it up for free during your stay !!

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We last stayed here 10 years ago but didn't have a very happy experience then due to the poor food and the rattling windows. On hearing it was revamped we thought we'd give it another go, but the revamp only meant a huge new bar downstairs which takes up half the floor space. The windows are single glazed throughout and don't fit properly so the wind rushes through and the traffic is so noisy you might as well be on the pavement. We spent one chilly night there and I've now got a bad chest as a result. Breakfast was so poor we handed the food back to the chef and left hungry. We did get a 50% reduction on our rate as we complained to the duty manager who was very good about it. The General Manager did email us to say, in so many words, that everything is the owner's fault, which I can understand as the staff are not working in the best environment. So if the owners are reading this I would say, based on over 800 nights I've spent in Marriott hotels, that I suggest you do the following - never have a restaurant in a lobby area, it's noisy, cold and makes diners nervous; never have a monumentally huge bar in a family hotel, the toddlers don't need it; never have a noisy pool downstairs and don't sacrifice floor space for such a tiny pool, it isn't worth the effort, turn it into a restaurant and build a pool annexe outside; revamp the rooms; get new windows urgently, your flimsy ones are making people ill. Finally dear owners If you want to see what a hotel bar should look like please go on a fact finding trip to the Waltham Abbey Marriott, if you want to see what a hotel pool should look like please go to the Durham Marriott and if you want to know what hotel food is supposed to taste like please go to St Ermin's in London. Consider it a fact-finding trip and put it on expenses (not that you will!)

Room Tip: Try the Premier Inn next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel last weekend and your valuable feedback. As requested I send you a personal response after the weekend. I mentioned that have been working with our new owners on this window and noise issue and hopefully this year we are looking at replacing the bedroom windows and cladding to stop the noise from outside and improve insulation. I did not say it is the owners fault, since they only have taken over this hotel last year.

I can see from your response that you don't like the great design of our Great Room which was renovated in 2009 with a new and contemporary design.

Our hotel was fully booked over the weekend and we had to cater for many guests for breakfast and dinner and some customers had to wait for tables for breakfast and dinner due to high business volumes. We encourage people to come down for breakfast early and to avoid queuing, but this does not always work.

We also had a wedding on Saturday night and these guests wanted large tables for breakfast which did not help the breakfast flow.

I will let you know as soon as we changed the windows and my PA, Helen Beard, will send you a quick note to inform you.

Some guests prefer rooms overlooking the atrium, since they have double glazing and are very quiet, perhaps you could try these rooms for your next visit.

Please avoid rooms overlooking the pool, since noise from children can carry up to the rooms, but rooms overlooking the restaurant and bar are fine.

Hopefully, this answers your concearns and let me assure you that we are working on it.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
997 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Property: Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#12 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing