We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersGold level
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice for a short break”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night after deciding last minute to take a little break in Portsmouth. The hotel looks quite tired from the outside but inside is lovely. It is big and was quite busy when we visited. The pool was particularly busy and not that big which put us off using it. However I had a very good and reasonably priced massage in the spa. Our room was very nice - the king size bed was very comfy! We were going to eat in the sea level lounge but after we were seated the service was really really slow so we left. Breakfast in the morning however was very nice with lots of choice. The hotel is about 15 mins walk from port Solent where we enjoyed a lovely walk and dinner. You need to drive or get park and ride into Portsmouth itself though. Overall a mixed stay but I'd go again just for the comfy bed and the great massage!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beckie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Beckie,

Thank you for chosing our hotel and we are pleased you had a great stay and I have passed on your lounge comments to our F&B team, but pay more attention to a speedy service.
Just for your information is that our owners will replace all outside cladding and windows next year, so we will have a new outside as well.

We hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    477
    239
    86
    47
See reviews for
312
426
31
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions. Rooms are to the usual Marriott standard nothing flash but adequate. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere in the bar and restaurant is OK.

Parking is never a problem and the hotel is well located for easy travel. The only down side is there is nothing close by. The nearest amenities are located in Port Solent. You can walk there but not recommended in the winter.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor and if not available room not over looking the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing our hotel and for the great commenst and we hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed last week for one night and overall it was good but some aspects let it down. We found blood on the pillow but were too exhausted to call down to reception so we just put it on the floor and used another one but in the morning we found that the sheets had it on as well, not very nice. The other problem is the noise, it is an older hotel and I assume not double glazed, the traffic noise was incessant, I actually got out of bed because I thought the window must have been open, it wasn't. It woke me up early and kept me awake late so I would suggest asking for a room away from the busy road side of the hotel.

The girl on reception in the morning provided as much customer service as a nuisance PPI caller and didn't bother to ask how our stay was. It's a shame because the rest of the hotel is nice but I would stay in a more modern hotel next time just because of the aforementioned noise problems. I've stayed in budget hotels at the airport and heard less noise!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James236664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you forstaying at our Hotel and thank you for sending me your information, so I can follow up on the various service issues. I am pleased to inform you that our windows will be replaced early next year, as our owners are investing in new windows and changing the white cladding at the same time. We will be installing the latest technology - double glazed windows, so we will limit any noise from traffic and weather and improve on energy efficiences at the same time.
I have put a note on your file for a quit room for your next visit and I will get back to you with regards to the service issues soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend break in Portsmouth, enjoyed staying at The Marriott.
Lovely breakfast in bed.
The pool & spa are very nice and had a relaxing time in there.
Nice to sit at the bar of an evening, great atmosphere.
This hotel is worth a visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richie_Difference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for the great commenst.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked a weekend away for my wife & I, we choose the Marriott Portsmouth.
The initial cheak-in was great and our rm was ready early for us,which i had requested by phone..
My wife had a stressful couple of weeks @ work in london, so i booked her into the hotel spa centre, she loved it, an hr's massage, great service, very friendly.... I sat in the bar and watched the sports they showed on the giant tv, and had a couple of beers while i waited, reasonably priced,good service. after returning from the city we eat in the restaurant a light dinner, we had to wait a while to be seated which was the only negative(the staff just seemed to ignore us at the desk). But after we were seated it was quite efficient and we were able to get a fast meal and return to rm for a world cup game in time...
Cheak out was again good and friendly...
The only negative thing about the hotel is its location... A £10 ride in taxi from city centre... On the outskirts of Portsmouth..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your great feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your feedback with the restaurant team, they need to keep and eye on the entrance, even when it is busy or slow . Our apologies for the wait.

We hope to see you again soon,

Best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have been travelling to Portsmouth several times a year for the best part of 20 years and have stayed in many of the main hotels in the city i.e. Hilton, Holiday Inn, Premier Inn. The one we keep coming back to is the Marriott. There aren't huge price differentials between the Marriott and the other hotels but we find the Marriott is generally a cut above its competitors. The rooms are of a good standard, and last time we stayed we had a massive, extremely comfortable bed. Breakfasts are better quality than the average hotel with more choice and everything cooked properly (when a lot of hotels undercook their bacon and sausages). Service was friendly and efficient; plenty of spaces in the car park and once you work out how to get to the hotel, it makes for a good location from which to travel into Portsmouth

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanOSullivanE17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Sean,

Thanks you for staying with us and your great comments. We have been working hard on a great breakfast experience and we are pleased you like it. We hope to see again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Chose this hotel because of its location but it turned out to be extremely noisy. The rooms were clean bed comfortable, but ordered room service at 2215 and over an hour later it still hadn't arrived

For the price I paid I've stayed in better

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harben76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and your feedback. We are replacing the cladding and windows hopefully this year with the support of our owners and this will ensure proper insulation from noise and weather.
At check out you have mentioned this issue and the late Room service order to our Front Office manager and we have tried to follow up and investigate.
As discussed, please use her business card, which she gave to you for a free upgrade for your next visit.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
4.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
644 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Property: Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#12 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing