We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“really needs updating”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 3 nights over the august bank holiday, on arrival we were greeted by a large drunken wake of a biker with mourners drinking outside of the entrance. Not a great first impression though no fault of the mourners. The hotel was easy to find and had a large free car park though a bit far from portsmouth attractions if you wanted to walk.
Receptionists were both really friendly and helpful and check in really quick. This hotel must have been built in the 80s and the cheap noisy hallway floor all the way to the room declared this with every creaky step.
The room was clean and there looked like they had updated the furniture to try and bring it up to modern standards, however the woeful bathroom fittings totally undo this. The whole double tap would twist when you turned it on , the sink was some dated onyx replica amd the toilet flush a right mess. The decoration in the in the very large room was very dated and worn.
This hotel really need to spend some money on these rooms to makemthe best of what could be a good hotel.
First night was disturbed by drinkers in the car park again, then atb5. 30 the room above were walking around on there creaky floor.
Not all bad but could be better, ok for drinkers on a cheqp weekend but not for a nice treat.
Good points, cheap, pub attached, free parking, big rooms, nice staff.
Bad points, too far from sights, really fixture and fittings, poor breakfast, noisy hotel

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jusanmius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    89
    120
    75
    63
See reviews for
92
140
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CATFORD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although we enjoyed our stay, a bit disappointed with overall weekend. There was a wedding and we were not told prior. We could not use the restaurant until later than we wanted, although that wasn't a problem we ate in the pub. The room could have had a better clean. We had stayed before that's why we went back. I did email the company and they did send an apology.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLSPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn Lodge. On arrival reception was fine and quick to book us in. On getting to our room the door card would not work so contacted reception who said this was an ongoing issue. Once finally in the room the problems began , damp bedding , peeling wallpaper and mildew . The room was very dusty and the t v ariel was faulty . On our departure morning the maid gave a single rap on the door and came in the room much to our surprise as we were lying on top of the bed not fully dressed ! This was an hour before the due departure time , perhaps a Do Not Disturb sign would be of use. Very unlikely to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Where to start...so we arrive and it takes the receptionist a few minutes to realise were there as she is to busy talking to a gentleman behind reception. When shes done telling us where our room was that was the end of all communication until i handed my key back at the end of my stay. Also when was acceptable to sit down behind the desk and check guests in forcing them to have to look over the desk to be able to see the staff?
Now for the room, i booked an executive room as they looked big and spacious which was delivered apart from the bathroom...which had a lump in the floor and a ridicolously loud fan which meant if we even turned the light on we would wake not only each other up during the night but probably the rooms around us.

Overall i'd say the hotel was okay i'd consider staying here again but probably look into other hotels first as for the price i'd want better service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy0C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a night at the Innlodge. We have stayed before but have found the rooms have got worse over time in terms of cleanliness.
We found huge cobwebs which obviously hadn't been removed for weeks, squashed spiders on the curtains and up the walls and the taps were mouldy and wobbly.
We had booked a family room, but they were overbooked so we got an executive room to find no sofa bed or z bed made up for the children.
Overall a very disappointing stay and we would definately not be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Needing a good nights sleep before we headed off to France. We chose the hotel due to its location to the Brittany ferry port.
Rooms were comfortable, warm and cosy with nice lighting options. we were downstairs and the floorboards above were a bit creaky but this caused us no problems. The shower was hot and VERY powerful.
Check-in was 2pm but the receptionist allowed us to enter the room early, she also provided us with instructions to the ferry terminal, she was also very informative about the local area as we wanted to go out for lunch - she directed us to a place called Gunwharf, her name evades me but I'm sure it began with a J.We never ate in the hotel and had left before breakfast so we can therefore not comment. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21loplop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good location, looks good from the outside but the actual hotel could do with a complete refurb. A bit drab and not overly clean. The breakfast was just ok and we waited ages for our drinks to be served.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcasey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
2.4 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
754 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#26 of 38 in Portsmouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmhouse & Innlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmhouse & Innlodge

Property: Farmhouse & Innlodge
Address: Burrfields Road, Portsmouth PO3 5HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Farmhouse & Innlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the eastern edge of Portsmouth the Inn Lodge features two restaurants, a childrens play centre and a lively sports bar. With fully licenced function rooms you can have a full day wedding from ceremony to evening reception. Portsmouth Continental Ferry Terminal is just 2 miles away. The Pony Club childrens centre features an indoor soft play area and an outdoor playground. The hotel also has free on-site parking and a large garden with outdoor seating. The spacious rooms at Inn Lodge Portsmouth each have a work desk and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. All rooms have free view TV and tea/coffee facilities. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi in the relaxing lounge. The Hungry Horse restaurant serves a wide variety of meals including the big plate specials and the Sports Bar offers real ales and Sky Sports. Inn Lodge Hotel Portsmouth is just a 15-minute drive away from Portsmouth's historic waterfront, featuring the Naval Dockyard and the popular shopping destination Gunwharf Quays. The M27 motorway is a 5-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Farmhouse & Innlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmhouse Innlodge Portsmouth
Farmhouse Innlodge Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing