We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keppels Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keppels Head
Ranked #28 of 33 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Great location & very friendly staff. Breakfast good too, but our room 24, needed a spruce up & a shower would've been nice & a bathroom radiator that worked! Generally it looked tired, but was clean, a few little home comforts would've gone a long way.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DenF51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    121
    120
    45
    80
See reviews for
56
192
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed in room 39 for an overnight. Had booked at the last minute, unfortunately the picture on 'Find me a hotel room.com' did not resemble what we found when we arrived. First impression was that the exterior looked very rundown, and unfortunately the hotel matched this.

The furniture in the room looked like it had been purchased from a second hand furniture store, several years ago. The furnishings and décor were very dated and mismatched, and in desperate need of modernising. Fixtures were very worn, socket for TV not working so ended up with TV wires stretching across room.

Bathroom was spacious but very dated and shabby. There was only a bath with taps, no shower attachment. Towel shelf was hanging by wallplug from wall, carpet on floor was not appealing especially without bathmat, water supply was interesting, bath taps spluttered to life and when the toilet was flushed it sounded like the contents of the bathroom was going with it!!

Bed was the end of all jokes, discovered at midnight that the bed bases were not connected, head board was poorly attached and the mattress may as well have not been there as your bottom touched the divan bases........

Ultimate insult when we tentatively settled to sleep on the very dodgy bed was that the main bedroom door was so poorly fitted and the lock so inadequate, that the door rattled within the frame. My partner ended up visiting the night receptionist to request a door wedge so that we could wedge it properly shut...not ideal in a fire!!!

It is unfortunate that the building itself is so poor, as we were very impressed by the warm and friendly manner of all the staff. The location was fantastic, and brilliant that free car parking was included for duration of stay. There was a good choice for breakfast, however some of the ingredients could be improved ie sausage!

If visiting again, we would consider going back to the hotel, but would be mindful of the suggestions made by other people in tripadvisor reviews ie. requesting one of the renovated rooms, and also with a shower.

Unfortunately we discovered tripadvisor too late!!!!!!!! We know where to check for our next trip!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 39!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

From your courteous welcome from the obliging David to your final days breakfast in the Grand Salon of a breakfast room,also served courteously and efficiently,this was an interesting and highly enjoyable stay.

Situated perfectly within easy walking distance of Portsmouth Historic Dockyard where we visited the Mary Rose Exhibition (a must!) and the outlet shopping mall at Gunwharf Quays and the great Spinnaker,this hotel offers comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices.

Don't expect Premier Inn minimalism and boring reliability. This Hotel exudes the spirit of Miss Marple, Hercule Poirot etc......eccentric,characterful and reputedly haunted. Never dull or predictable. It offers free,safe parking,locked at night but easily accessible due to the 24 hour manned front desk. A spotlessly clean,comfortable bed,working Wi-Fi, a lethal lift and a cooked breakfast included in the price that really sets you up for the day.
If you're on The Hard there is no better place to stay. When we return to Portsmouth will we stay at the Keppel's Head Hotel ? You bet we will !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GretchenandDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Well,here we are again,reviewing a Hotel that is past its sell by date,but a lovely stay in all.As one person said,it felt like we were the only ones there,then at breakfast,the guests come out of the woodwork,so to speak.
The car was in the Keppels Head Carpark,next to the Lady Hamilton Hotel and was safe and secure in it.So that was alright.
The entrance to the hotel had seen better days,up to the steps to find a very pleasant lobby and the reception.One person on and another later on,they were chatty and friendly and very helpful.Our room was number 10 and we were surprised to find how big it was.The bed was comfortable and the windows looked out onto the railway and the bus station.But you look to the right and get a superb view of HMS Warrior and the harbour.The bathroom was ok,but needed sorting as the rest of the room due to peeling paint a torn shower curtain,but if the owner(s) put their efforts in,this can easily be remedied.The only thing that really let this room down was the shower head.Needs totally replacing,very inadequate!
Breakfast,was lovely and very tasty,the dining room was beautiful and very elegant,but even then,you look up to the ceiling,the ornate plasterwork needed restoring,it looked like there had been a flood sometime in the past and was totally ignored.Outside,the Hotel sign does need bringing back to clarity and on the Balcony,it should be Admiral Keppel,not Admiral Nelson,look upwards and you will see what i mean.
What this hotel needs,is someone who can restore it to its former glory,i read somewhere that there was a fire back in the 1800s and the portsmouth people actually paid to have it rebuilt. .Please let that happen again.It really deserves to be back to its prime and be a credit to portsmouth.My hubby and i have both said that we will come back again,as it is in an ideal location,but the outside lets it down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane_walsh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting Portsmouth for a short stay. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and really pleased to see us as we thought we might be the only ones staying there, as there was nobody else about and it was early evening. The bedroom and en suite were very dated and in need of urgent refurbishment, but that said the bed itself was one of the most comfortable we have experienced in a hotel of late. The dining room was very nice, although very dated, but we were served an excellent breakfast by a very friendly young waitress, and nothing was too much trouble. We would probably not recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay more than a couple of nights, but for a short stay, it would be ok. The location next to the station was ideal for us.

Room Tip: If you like a shower rather than a bath, make sure you ask for one, and also one that is working!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We chose this because it's so near the Dockyards and as it was only for one night we weren't too worried.The first impression was of old-fashioned elegance, and it clearly has been a lovely place, but is need of some attention. Our spacious room at the front had a wonderful harbour view and was comfortable, so we could overlook the tatty curtains and some peeling wallpaper. Breakfast was excellent, hot, fresh and tasty. I was remarking to my friend on the beautiful moulded ceiling when she smiled and pointed upwards-behind me was a large hole in the ceiling! Overall we liked the place-a pity it's not better maintained.
As you might expect there was some noise from the harbourside during the night-especially at pub closing time.

Room Tip: The front if you want the view, rear if you want quiet. Check if there is a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were visiting the historic dockyard and had no prebooked accommodation and this place was right next door so we took a chance. We went up in the lift, along a hallway (squeak, squeak), up a few stairs (squeak, squeak), through a fire door (squeak squeak), along a hallway (squeak squeak) and into our room at the back of the hotel (squeak squeak). The hallways, landings and room were very tired and although our room had an ensuite, there was no shower - only a bath. However, we are hardy travellers and stayed there for 2 nights as the bed was clean and comfortable. I asked whether any of the rooms had showers and was advised that some of the rooms had been renovated and had showers and also that the best rooms were at the front of the hotel (with views out over the harbour). We obviously just got what was left having just read some of the other reviews.
On the positive side, the staff were lovely, the breakfast was superb, there was parking almost alongside (which was a major advantage considering where we were) and the location couldn't be beaten. Would go back

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room (and specify shower if that's what you want) at the front overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-n-Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keppels Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keppels Head

Property: Keppels Head
Address: 24-26 The Hard, Portsmouth PO1 3DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Keppels Head 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keppel's Head Hotel (Est 1779) is situated in "The Hard" in Portsmouth. The Hard is a historical area with many connections to the Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, which is only a short stroll from the hotel. Gunwharf Quays is also nearby, which thrives with many shops, restaurants, clubs and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Keppels Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keppels Head Portsmouth
Keppels Head Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing