We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded but Fine and well located.”
Review of Keppels Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keppels Head
Ranked #30 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having read other reviews I knew that the room I was offered might not be the best (Room 15) and was offered Room 39 instead. A pleasant enough room at the back of the hotel; it was not clean but everything important was. Crispy clean sheets, clean bath and lavatory. Two windows meant the room was airy.
All the staff were pleasant and efficient with the night barman being friendly and chatty and the malt whisky nice and cheap. Breakfast was really good for the all-in price with choices offered for everything. The odd piece of peeling paint and the missing call light for the aged rickety, but efficient 1920's style lift added to the air of faded British Grandeur. It's position next to The Warrior and just outside The Historic Dock-Yard (which contains The Victory and The Marie-Rose) added to that feel.
People wanting medium "classy" shopping, eating and drinking have the trendy Gun Wharf Quays within spitting distance.
Five ordinary pubs, two ferries, a bus station, a co-op food shop, a small harbour and a sea-food stall are also with about 20 yards of the main hotel door. My car was also within those twenty yards in the hotel's secured car park.

Room Tip: I would guess that rooms lower numbers facing the front are larger and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The last review that said faded grandeur had it spot on. The views from the hotel were non existent and the moment you left the gunwharf walls you knew you weren't in the best part of town. The staff were friendly and chatty but the rooms were dilapidated and a little dirty. I did enjoy the flaking painted wooden statue of what I assume is Keppel himself looking through a spyglass over the harbour. The breakfast wasn't good but it wasn't atrocious either. I wouldn't skip a meal for it. If you don't like chain restaurants, chain pubs, or chain bars there is likely to be very little in the immediate vicinity for you as it's entirely dominated by the gunwharf development. But for a good price there is nothing wrong with it especially it's serviceable but little else. I wouldn't go back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Dada T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

just come back from this hotel on the 11th august after a 2 day stay..... we booked this hotel because of its location to the historic maritime museum...the hotel is over 200 years old our room overlooked HMS WARRIOR... the room was large and the ceilings were very high ,we had a tv comfortable chair, tv and tea/coffee making facilities the bed was comfortable clean towels both days and each day the room was cleaned....,breakfast is made to order and was very good....the staff were all good and friendly..... the hotel needs a bit of TLC but it is clean...we emailed hotel advising them of our arrival time and we checked in early at 12.30 [thank you keppels]...do not book the hotel expecting 5 stars....I would certainly book this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mackem3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Maybe we were just plain unlucky. We had room 15. It has one very dirty, high sash window which looks out on a gap between buildings, a gap that is filled by a fire escape and a huge ducting structure.

The night was stiflingly hot so we had to have the window wide open. As a result we were able to hear the combined tv programmes of several other occupants, a noise that went on into the early hours.

At around 6.30 the following morning we were awoken by a huge explosion of sound, emanating from the afore mentioned ducting structure. Then the discovery that the shower, positioned within a partitioned room in the corner, didn't work. It dripped water from a hole in its hose, from the fitting connecting hose to shower head, and lastly a few drops from the shower head itself.

Our complaint to reception was met with an apology and look of surprise, with the offer of a £10 discount. Beyond belief!

Worst hotel experience EVER!!!

Room Tip: If you feel you have to go there, avoid room 15. Can't answer for any of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Having read the reviews, we weren't surprised by what we found and would agree with most comments. The hotel is in a great location, which is why we chose it, as we wanted to explore the Historic Dockyard and do a bit of shopping at Gunwharf Quay, both of which are on the doorstep!
We were in the Victory Suite and loved the size of it but like most of the hotel it needs some tlc. The room and bathroom however were clean and the tea and coffee kept stocked up.
Thanks to previous comments I took earplugs so was undisturbed by the noise and slept well!
All the staff we met were very nice and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Room Tip: Take earplugs in case you have a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

located a short walking distance from the historic dockyard with free car parking.Room 10 was massive with sea view.evening meals are not available but plenty of choice nearby.Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order.All the staff were very friendly and helpful,hairdryers kept in reception and available on request.Downside was noise from trains passing but this was negligeble with the windows shut.Good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Wenlock63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

As others have said first impressions are not good. The receptionist was very helpful though. We were in the Victory suite which is a great room, I just feel with a bit of extra work on it, it could be a fanatic room put a four poster bed in there the room is big enough.
We had a view over the water and the spinnaker tour, the shopping centre is minutes away as is the historic dockyard.
Breakfast was really good in the extravagant dining hall and they have limited parking.
Forget what you see to start with, take in the history and the excellent location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 39 in Portsmouth
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 39 in Portsmouth
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,564 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Ship Leopard Hotel
The Ship Leopard Hotel
#7 of 34 in Portsmouth
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keppels Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keppels Head

Address: 24-26 The Hard, Portsmouth PO1 3DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: £66 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Keppels Head 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keppel's Head Hotel (Est 1779) is situated in "The Hard" in Portsmouth. The Hard is a historical area with many connections to the Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, which is only a short stroll from the hotel. Gunwharf Quays is also nearby, which thrives with many shops, restaurants, clubs and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Keppels Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keppels Head Portsmouth
Keppels Head Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing