We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, disappointing food”

Zizzi - Port Solent
Ranked #105 of 653 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Zizzi Port Solent is located on the boardwalk of Port Solent marina, with fabulous views of the marina and the surrounding area. We have a large, heated, outside seating area so you can enjoy a glass of wine in the sun and one of our fantastic Antipasto and garlic breads share with a friend.Dine al fresco with an outdoor dining area for sunny weather. And tweet what you eat with WiFi available here (if you’re in to that).
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice location, disappointing food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had a birthday lunch at this restaurant on a nice sunny day. On the plus side there is a good outside seating area with a view of the moored boats in the Marina. The waiting staff were also friendly. However, the quality of the food was very poor. In fact the menu listed a range of starters that all sounded unappealing (a first for me). We eventually settled for tomato bread, which turned out to be just a sliced margherita pizza! My wife's main meal was pasta in what looked like a big pool of olive oil and half a jar of pesto. It would have been fine if seasoned more delicately..! My main was a simple pizza, which was so hard that I had huge issues cutting it, even with a serrated knife. It was also pretty tasteless.

Overall, the location, staff and price are all fine, but the quality and uninspiring range of food on offer are what let this restaurant down.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alarmclock_since2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    131
    76
    46
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another lunch in the sun”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

An Italian experience on the South Coast. Overlooking the boats in Port Solent whilst sitting in the shade on the hottest day of the year was a good start. Second visit this time less crowded and we didn't succumb to the specials menu ( there isn't one for lunch ).
A risotto and ham coated chicken were both well done the service at the right pace for a leisurely lunch. Will be going back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BazzaBear34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this afternoon with the wife, it's the second time we've been and will go again. The service was quick and the food was good, what more can you ask.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this particular zizzi's!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely day out with our children completely ruined..we waited well over an hour for food then the waiter stuck his hand on his hip so he could argue with me over our order!! Not something my 9yr old found very comfortable! We will never go back (we eat at port solent most weeks) I'd choose another place to eat!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deehbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food ...but....”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Port solent on a sunny day what could be nicer? Attracted to zizzi with its focus on healthy options as well as the usual Italian fare. Service was excellent throughout the attentive staff friendly and genuine. I opted for a pizza and it was splendid base proper thin and crispy and the toppings generous without being piled on. Mrs T enjoyed the chicken and courgette skewers with Tuscan spuds, everything cooked really well.

So where is the "but" I ordered a side salad of mozzarella and tomato, and had Mrs T realised that her meal came with no veggies she would have done likewise. The salad we ordered consisted of no more than a dozen halved cherry tomatoes, 4 bits of mozzarella, 3 stale chunks of breadstick and half a dozen basil leaves.....£4.35! Didn't realise when ordering but all sides came in at this sort of level. This seems to be a growing trend amongst the chains charge full price for a main (£12) and then rush you the best part of a fiver to add some veg.

Real shame as this rather spoiled what had been an excellent meal, the bill was also bolstered by nearly a fiver for 2 diet cokes and nearly £7 for just one large bottle of beer.

Food excellent, staff terrific but you pay through the nose.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinym32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zizzi - Port Solent also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Zizzi - Port Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing