We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find! A real winner for all the family”
Review of The Square Tower

The Square Tower
Ranked #20 of 121 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic building built in 1494 during the reign of Henry VII is one of the few remaining Tudor buildings in Portsmouth.The Square Tower is fully licenced for wedding ceremonies and receptions and is also available to hire for parties and many other special events If you would like to visit the Square Tower or hire this atmospheric venue, please visit our website where you will find an events calendar listing our comprehensive programme of events and all of the contact details you need to get in touch with us.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a find! A real winner for all the family”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This a such an amazing place! Right next to the sea this venue is such a unique combination of great features. How brilliant to have access to such a unique historic building with added bonus of fabulous afternoon tea with great service! An easy choice compared to all the chain coffee and tea places. A real winner for all the family

Helpful?
1 Thank silverwombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    29
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holt
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Wedding”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We attended a family wedding here, and it was lovely. The people were friendly, and the whole wedding relaxed and enjoyable. The location was beautiful: right on the seafront and ideal for some stunning wedding photos - the bride and groom paddling in the sea...she in wellies,he in flippers!!
I,being a male, I hate weddings usually but this I enjoyed in large part due to the location and the staff.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Callam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fabulous place!”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is such a wonderful venue, steeped in history and character.

We held our wedding here on the 6th May and it was beautiful.

Steve and Julia Hender of the Square Tower were very helpful and
delightful to work with.

I would really recommend this place and am now thinking what other parties can I hold here!!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank glitteryshihtzus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Book it, you really won't regret it.”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My husband and I were married at the Square Tower on Easter Saturday 2011. What an amazing and unique venue! It's beautiful, full of history and atmosphere, and right on the seafront at Portsmouth's harbour mouth. I can't recommend it highly enough, not just for weddings but for any occasion - birthdays, wakes, a special lunch, a club meeting, - any event where there is a gathering of people.

All our guests were blown away with it too, to the point that a couple of them are thinking of having their own weddings there, because it's by far the best alternative in the area to a church or registry office.

We had looked at other venues in which to get married but found them to be fairly inflexible and bound by rules. However, the venue managers for the Square Tower, the lovely Steve and Julia, couldn't have been more helpful and were as excited as we were about our wedding! They were as flexible as could be with all elements of our wedding. This was a big plus point for us, because we wanted a very non traditional wedding and we got precisely what we had dreamed of, and much of that achievement is down to Steve and Julia. They helped us to make our wedding day incredibly memorable and the best it could possibly be, for both us and our guests, and for that we will always be very grateful.

I urge you to book the Square Tower if you want a beautiful, unique yet flexible venue for any event. You really won't regret it.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Performance of Anomie Theatre Productions - Outstanding venue, friendly staff!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We had a drama performance at the Square Tower last month (March 2011) and it was a fantastic venue for a performance. Because the place is big and versatile I think the venue could be used for various activities, including theatre. The venue is beautiful and just beside the sea which complements the atmosphere even more. The owner, Steve, is ever so friendly and very helpful to accommodate our needs. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Beepbeep25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square Tower also viewed

 

Been to The Square Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing