We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing ”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Square Tower

The Square Tower
Ranked #20 of 118 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic building built in 1494 during the reign of Henry VII is one of the few remining Tudor buildings in Portsmouth.The Square Tower is fully licenced for weddings and civil ceremonies and is also available to hire for funeral and memorial services, naming ceremonies and other types of events.If you would like to visit the Square Tower or hire this atmospheric venue, please visit our website where you will find an events calendar listing our comprehensive programme of events and all of the contact details you need to get in touch with us.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We were walking around Old Portsmouth and passed by the Square Tower. There really isn't much to see from the outside. It maybe suitable for a wedding but as a tourist attraction it is hardly worth mentioning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Freda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SqTower, Owner at The Square Tower, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Freda

I'm SO sorry you found the Tower disappointing: I can only guess you didn't come inside?

We're not really a tourist attraction, but why not come back when we've got our pop-up vintage tea room running and I can show you around, tell you about the building's amazing history and show you the magnificent views from our roof terrace.

Do have a read of what people who've been inside have said (not all are wedding couples by any means, some have simply popped in when we've had our tearoom open or for a play or gig or when the Tower's just open).

Please may I ask a favour of you? I'd be really grateful if you could withdraw your unfavourable review until you've had a chance to see. If you want to contact me, please just go to our website; there's a phone number and email address.

With best wishes

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    27
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I would like to say that I would definitely recommend The Square Tower either for just the ceremony or to include the wedding breakfast as the service I received from the flamboyant Steve Hender was second to none. No request was to much trouble. And as nervous and as chattery I became as my big day got closer, Steve managed to make me feel calm and delivered all my requests as asked. I was very impressed with the treatment and wished I had had the whole day at The Square Tower. Thank you Steve! xxx

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SqTower, Owner at The Square Tower, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hey Laura

Thank you so much for choosing the Square Tower for your fantastic wedding. It was a great wedding and it was so lovely being albe to hold it. And what fun with Monty the Bulldog losing the rings!!!

Best wishes to you both

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My cousins beautiful wedding....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My cousin Katie and Matthew married here yesterday 22/5/2014...
What a beautiful venue this is,nothing was too much trouble for the team who ensured that everyone had a perfect day.
The attention to detail that was given to their day was amazing and nothing was too much trouble at all.
It truly is a venue full to the brim of history and stories,overlooking the bay
I certainly hope to visit them again when their baby arrives for what I hear is a lovely tea experience too,until that day I hope that people reading this review will take the time to go and visit and see for themselve

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SqTower, Owner at The Square Tower, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you!

And they are such a lovely couple, aren't they? It was a joy hosting their wedding!

We look forward very much to seeing their baby in a few months time...

Best wishes

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife held our wedding at the square tower on the 2nd February 2014. The day was totally amazing and with the help of Steve who looks after the venue made it that extra special with a few little touches like raising the St George's and St Andrews flags. I Would highly recommend this venue to anyone for a wedding as you can make it really magical.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SqTower, Owner at The Square Tower, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hey Dave

Many thanks for your kind words and for giving me an opportunity to fly the flags! And thank you also for posting the picture of them flying in the breeze!

Do give my fondest best wishes to Mrs H!

Best wishes to you both

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a place amazing ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

A place full of history set in Old Portsmouth overlooking the Solent with great views of the IOW.
A wonderful venue for a wedding or special occasion.
Been here lots of times love it ....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miss J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SqTower, Owner at The Square Tower, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hey Mary

Thank you so much for your review; come back soon!

Best wishes

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square Tower also viewed

 

Been to The Square Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing