We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty specials - well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Merchants

Spice Merchants
Ranked #24 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty specials - well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Visited after reading previous reports. Had to make a return visit because I really wasn't sure what to say after my first meal. No doubt the food is nicely spiced, the service superb and the prices are average. A nice cosy atmosphere all makes for a good experience. My second meal there was well above average - chosen from the chefs recommended list - melt in the mouth chicken wonderfully spiced. Will certainly call in again when in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blokeontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    73
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newport
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice meal and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Visited the spice merchant on the bank holiday weekend with family...really nice meal and attentive service...if we are in the area again we will not hesitate to revisit....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phil1962Newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday evening with my wife and 7 yr old son . Found the restaurant through trip advisor and it was research well done . Friendly welcome and prompt drinks and poppadoms ,Starters were tasty ( king prawn puree asked for spicy and got it) well presented and again promptly served , 3 empty plates ! Main course again was well flavoured and spiced and for the mild curry lovers my son loved the chicken korma ! All in all was a great meal served by lovely people and any curry lovers visiting pompey should make this a must, We will be back !!! Thanks again. .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Visited here for my 30th birthday and it was fantastic. There were around 30 of us and we were very well catered for. Food and service were great. Everyone commented on how good it was.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Great food and friendly attentive staff. Delicious deserts, rare in an Indian restaurant. Very extensive menu, hard to choose, so will have to visit again to try something different!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golidilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Merchants also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing