We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At last a reliable tasty Takeaway”
Review of Spice Merchants

Spice Merchants
Ranked #29 of 646 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bangladeshi, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“At last a reliable tasty Takeaway”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Delicious! Have only experienced the takeaway service and that's the best we've experienced. They also take card payments at the door, so convenient.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Floss67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    75
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I have to say, as a somewhat Indian cuisine expert this was pretty damn good. The food was absolutely A1, the service A1, the restaurant A1. Could not fault any of it. Chappati so cooked to perfection, the fish curry awfully good without the half a kilo of onion of some establishments, the beer, wine, everything else we ate absolutely close to perfect. I used the word Brilliant not lightly having ate in the Southall Brilliant as recommended by Gordon Ramsey, this was just as good for food. Brilliant probably topped it in presentation in my book,, but in Portsmouth, this is a gem.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrmichael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Never Fails”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A frequent visitor here for many years, quality never varies and staff are always friendly and helpful. Menu is extensive and they are quite happy to make variations to suit your taste. Decor is a bit '80s but don't let that put you off.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PMPORTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fish curry”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What a great curry house-wish we lived nearer! We like fish curries and this is a great example.
Had a halibut coconut/chilli dish which was superb.Also had a chicken signature dish which was as good.Staff were excellent in helping us choose the dishes to our liking.The menu is extensive with normal curries but we recommend you try something different.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deans22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in southsea”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have eaten at many Indian restaurants in portsmouth and southsea and this is by far the best one we've eaten in. The food was tasty and high quality and the service was lovely. We will definitely go back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LJChunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Merchants also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing