We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Curry”
Review of Spice Merchants

Spice Merchants
Ranked #32 of 655 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Curry”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a top restaurant for fish curry & very pleasant staff with nice ambience.
well worth a visit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    75
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic...changed my views on how a good curry should be.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great restaurant, friendly attentive staff happy to vary menu to suit individual tastes. It was full when we were there, glad we booked in advance, but the layout is such that you don't feel packed in or rushed or under any pressure to do anything but enjoy the really tasty food they offer, if you are into seafood you will be amazed at the two pages of seafood options. good fresh tasting food, nowhere like some of the heavy indiscriminate tasting food you sometimes get in curry restaurants, my only wish....there was more and it was nearer where i live. thanks to the staff for making our anniversary dinner with friend's such a good experience, we will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lehodgsonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“At last a reliable tasty Takeaway”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Delicious! Have only experienced the takeaway service and that's the best we've experienced. They also take card payments at the door, so convenient.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Floss67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I have to say, as a somewhat Indian cuisine expert this was pretty damn good. The food was absolutely A1, the service A1, the restaurant A1. Could not fault any of it. Chappati so cooked to perfection, the fish curry awfully good without the half a kilo of onion of some establishments, the beer, wine, everything else we ate absolutely close to perfect. I used the word Brilliant not lightly having ate in the Southall Brilliant as recommended by Gordon Ramsey, this was just as good for food. Brilliant probably topped it in presentation in my book,, but in Portsmouth, this is a gem.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrmichael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Never Fails”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A frequent visitor here for many years, quality never varies and staff are always friendly and helpful. Menu is extensive and they are quite happy to make variations to suit your taste. Decor is a bit '80s but don't let that put you off.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PMPORTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Merchants also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing