We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & Food”
Review of Spice Merchants

Spice Merchants
Ranked #31 of 661 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
“Great service & Food”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have been going to Spice Merchants for years, and every time I am greeted in a personal way, with outstanding service, wonderful food and excellent overall conditions. Great value for money, I will keep going back for years to come!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManuelaDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    77
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Could Do Better”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a table for 8.30pm at the Spice Merchants for a family curry night out, we arrived on time & were shown to outr table ( I have to say at this point that the restaurant was busy ) After about 10 minuites we wre asked if we would like to order drinks whick we did & Menus were presented, After what seamed ages our drinks arrived & our order were taken for the starter & main course, after an hour our starter still had not arrived although there were plenty of takeaway order going out, by this time at nearly 10pm we complained to a member of staff & were told that we were next on the list for service, another 10 miniute passed before we got our starter from that point things got better & the main meal came swiftly after, We were given a free round of drinks for our wait but i would have prefered better service from the staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Markctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“spicey”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

went here last week with a group of work colleagues

food was good, didn't wait too long and overall very pleasant, could have been a bit spiceier though

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - will return”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Good range of traditional curries and some other lighter/more unusual options, all equally well-cooked and so good to have curry sauces that have been made with fresh spices - you can really taste the difference.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hb17mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Popular Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Good, well cooked Indian food with excellent, courteous waiters anxious to please. A little noisy due to a large party of guys having a reunion. It was a Saturday night though.
Would go again on a quieter night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verinique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Merchants also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing