We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great service, child friendly.”
Review of Capers

Capers
Ranked #104 of 660 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Southsea
1 review
“Lovely food, great service, child friendly.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I just wanted to post a review to say we visited here for the first time yesterday and really enjoyed it. The food and drinks were lovely and the staff were really helpful, in particular with our young children, splitting portions for them and bringing a booster seat outside for our youngest. Will definitely be going again and trying some of the other great things on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laj104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    50
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This cafe is lovely, the food is great and interesting. They do the best vegetarian breakfast in Southsea. It is good value for money and the staff are always happy to see you. They also do a loyalty scheme if you go there a lot.There is a lot of choice on the menu and the specials are always changing. Would recomend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not very child friendly”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great venue, great food, good prices - shame they seem to be very anti child. We were totally ignored by staff for a good ten minutes, whereas everyone else who walked in was greeted warmly (who didn't have a pram) I would not recommend if you have a child under 3. You are NOT made to feel welcome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for breakfast, lunch or light snack!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A lovely cafe in the heart of Southsea. A really warm welcome and delicious food. The menu has a real wealth of choices - all freshly prepared, with tasty, fresh ingredients. The staff are really friendly and attentive. In fact the only criticism, was that there was almost too much on the plate! I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, delightful feel, friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I ate lunch here one sunny spring day and it was just superb. I had the quiche which seemed overpriced at £7.50 or so, but it came with several salads, all of them bursting with healthy food and really delicious. The quiche was divine too, and there was a good choice of healthy drinks. The staff were really friendly and despite being busy we were served very quickly (we were in a hurry). The decor was easy going and comfy, it's the kind of place I could spend all day. I don't live locally but I'm back down in that area this weekend and will make a point of going back.
This is how all cafe's should be.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capers also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Capers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing