We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still fantastic in every way”
Review of Capers

Capers
Ranked #114 of 656 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Still fantastic in every way”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

When this place opened, it was a breath of fresh air (a decent unpretentious café with good food and reasonable prices) and having not been back for 2 years, after I moved away from Southsea, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it has not changed. Quality food, and smiling service, I yet again had the best eggs benedict in Hampshire, and the coffee is simply amazing. Delighted it's still going strong, despite the new competition (Garage Lounge, etc), it's still number one in my book.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheEntertainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    50
    15
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“WE WILL BE BACK”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and l ended up trying Capers on Friday as our usual favourite Smile was closed due to holiday.

I must say l was pleasantly suprised at both the fresh approach to their menu and also the friendly service. I had the capers breakfast and my friend the quiche of the day which both were hot and tasty washed down by tea and a coffee.

We were tempted by the cakes, however had no room so l think that is excuse enough to return.

Try it well worth it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gingerbiscuit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous, inventive, fresh food”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I come to Southsea every 6 weeks to visit the hairdresser and this is where I always lunch. Today it was boiling hot and there was a prawn and tropical fruit salad on offer served with a coriander, ginger and lime dressing - perfect summer fare. The mushrooms on toast served with pesto and tomato chutney is great and the salads are always excellent. The bread is far superior to that served in most places. There is an excellent choice of soft drinks and the staff are friendly. I have tried many other places in Southsea and this is by far the best!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Apart from the breakfast being average (considering costing over £6), not a bad place to eat. It's abit cramped but weren't too busy to complain. Overall, worth a look.

Helpful?
Thank Curt_mcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
1 review
“Lovely food, great service, child friendly.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I just wanted to post a review to say we visited here for the first time yesterday and really enjoyed it. The food and drinks were lovely and the staff were really helpful, in particular with our young children, splitting portions for them and bringing a booster seat outside for our youngest. Will definitely be going again and trying some of the other great things on the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laj104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capers also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Capers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing