We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and convenient”
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I used the Seacrest Hotel for convenience - a short (cheap) taxi ride away from the train station and very close to Southsea Castle where I had an event to go to. I needed somewhere to change and sleep, basically. But I was so pleased that I had found somewhere clean, modern, friendly and a world away from the usual chintzy B&B's you usually find in seaside towns. The staff were friendly and helpful and let em have a later check in with no fuss or complaint and at no additional cost. They were very knowledgeable about the area, the time it would take me to walk places and comparison what it would cost in a cab. All really helpful stuff when you just want the quickest, easiest options to allow you to get on with your night. And contrary to some of the reviews, my room was very quiet. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank louchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

936 - 942 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have now stayed at this hotel more than seven times this year! Partly for the reason that it is a fairly basic, but clean hotel that provides a comfortable bed and friendly staff.

It has just changed owners, so I hope that the ambiance will stay the same, but some areas that need updating will be.

The hotel is close to the front with gardens opposite.I was given a parking permit on arrival and parked right opposite the hotel.

I was given an 'upgrade' to a seaview, the rooma wasn't huge but it was clean and tidy and the view was good, out over the gardens and then the Solent. The bathroom was rather tiny and the shower cubicle could do with an update but the towels were clean & plentiful.

There were tea making facilities in the bedroom & the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good with loads of choice & cooked to order, staff very friendly. The hotel is looking a little tired & could do with the carpets on the stairs upgrading.

The hotel is in walking distance of the main part of Portsmouth but I only really go out to local pubs to eat. There is a small bar in the hotel, good for a nightcap after walking back along the seafront.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SteveGreenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

what a lovely old place with some great old furniture. our room number 10 was very nice breakfast was excellent. staff took time to have a chat in the evening even the owners and we found things very comfortable. only got one night there on the 19th oct but will definately go back. free parking was a great help too. so come on you moaners see it for what it is....a friendly clean place to lay you sleepy heads.

Room Tip: room 10 very nice good shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank linlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The seafront location and the free parking just outside the front door are the only things really to recommend this hotel. The rooms are very basic, the public areas dated and the staff although friendly are not exactly efficient. Breakfast was a catalogue of disasters, a waiter who messed up our order, a new chef unable to cook fried eggs and grilled tomatoes and a twenty minute wait for a round of toast. I am sure this was not the usual situation and the receptionist was full of apologies but we wont be returning to the Seacrest or recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view, Room 2a although sold as a "double" is tiny and overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights for my daughter's wedding. Paid for a sea view room and that was great
however the price must be, in part, for the view. Like your previous reviewer, we arrived about 8.30pm on Friday and there were no spaces to park on the road. The receptionist told us we could park behind the hotel but this meant lugging our cases and assorted "wedding gear" around the road back to the hotel, oh plus our dog too! That was the reason we picked this hotel as they did allow dogs (plus point for us - maybe not for everyone). The room was a good size with a big double bed which was comfy. However, the shower tray was showing its age and the shower was not up to the standards guests expect today if they are paying over £100 per night which we did. There was no hot water from the tap - I left a message on Saturday morning and later in the day was told the boiler was faulty and someone would be there at 3pm to fix it. Fair do - there was hot water Saturday night but no one had made us aware there was a problem before I mentioned it.

The staff are very friendly and hardworking and the breakfast was great but I think that generally it needs a bit of a facelift. Some of the decorative items around were a little bizarre - kept expecting Alex Polizzi to pop up and start removing them!

It suited us for our stay but would be disappointed if I was staying for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juliekaren56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mirjam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YayainR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.6 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
688 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £65 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing