We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked a night of romance at this hotel in Southsea. The hotel was undergoing some refurbishment when we arrived. We managed to park outside the hotel and was given a parking pass which saved us some money in Portsmouth. The hotel did over look the sea and I booked a superior double room with seaview. The room itself was not that big and I didnt feel it was finished to a great standard. The room was clean and we did have a hairdryer which was useful. The room was on the first floor and did over look the gardens. The room itself was a little disappointing as i was expecting more for the money I paid. The breakfast was ok and we were allowed to leave the car outside the next day until we came back from Portsmouth. Nice room but nothing special, very expensive for what it was.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the sea, the back rooms look out onto a street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FresianUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    207
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
180
439
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed here for three nights in room 27 third floor by the lift. I was worried about the noise but this was not a problem. The reception and management were very helpful and kind. The room was fine but the view was not great into the back road but the room was quite adequate clean and roomy with good shower and toiletries renewed daily. Daily biscuits were appreciated.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and great each morning. Lovely fresh fruit, compliments to the kitchen staff/chef.
I would definitely return. Lovely location particularly if you have a seaview room.

Room Tip: Top floor due to creaky floor boards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DebbieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is located on one of the areas promenades with only a Venetian garden and two roads seperating it from the Solent. The first thing you notice when you enter the hotel is a pretty large TV room to the right and a smaller reception to the left.
The lady who welcomen us in the reception was basicly expecting us, knowing who we were even before I had given my last name. She handled the paperwork quite swiftly and introduced us to the facilities and the surrounding area. We actually got two rooms. Room 23 on the 3rd floor, a family room with a double bed and two single beds, facing the Solent and with an excellent view over the garden, the Solent and towards the Isle of Wight. The room and the bathroom were a bit small, but allright for a family. You didn't really hear any noise from the street and even if the room was quite small there was enough room for the kids to play.
The other room was room 19 on the 2nd floor which had a single bed. This room and bathroom was also fairly small, though a bit roomier than the family room. This room faces the street behind the hotel. Even though it was located right next to the lift you didn't really hear that, or people walking in and out of it, and the street behind was also quiet enough to enable the window to remain open all night.
This hotel might not be close to the railway stations, Gunwharf or the Historic Docks, but it is close to so many other things that they more than make up for this and a cab from Portsmouth & Southsea Railway Station cost around 5 GBP.
I wouldn't mind going back here in the future but if you're travelling as a family with younger kids, and can afford it, do get two rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiclasAa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

There were some very good points about this hotel. Friendly helpful staff. A very good breakfast with plenty of choice. Free parking provided. Tv DVD player and iPod dock. But it is a 2star hotel and the room could have done with an upgrade. Had to wiggle the shower head to get it working well, it was also a bit small and the drawers in the dressing table unit had dropped a lot. However the bed was really comfy. Overall not bad a bit pricey for what we got.

Room Tip: Try and get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Only a one night stay, but staff could'nt do enough for us, the hotel manager was very friendly on our arrival, and offered us a good selection of nightlife and restaurants in Southsea. There was a good selection at breakfast, and again staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble, would definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DollyRawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A great little hotel in Southsea! A sweet little hotel just minutes across the street to the sea. The staff are super friendly and went out of their way for me. I'd bruised my hand and the manager and receptionist assisted with an ice pack and kind words. It was much appreciated.

The receptionist Carmen was a delight and wonderful to deal with. She is a true professional and I enjoyed dealing with her. It was nice to deal with a person who was sincere and truly concerned with the customers..
The rooms are nicely decorated, comfy bed, quiet and had all that I needed for my two days here. There is a lift, so that is helpful but a little noisy as I had a single room right behind it. Not too bad though, as many people only use the lift to haul their luggage, otherwise most take the stairs.

Breakfast is served by a delightfully friendly lady who also doubled as reception in the morning. There was some renovation work going on in the bar area, but it didn't bother me one bit. From what I gathered, if a drink was required, it could be obtained and consumed in the lobby/reception area. Not really necessary as there are pubs within reasonable walking distance.

It isn't far to the Historic Dockyards and to the Gunwharf quay shopping area. I could have walked it but the weather was poor and took a taxi. Walking might take 30 minutes or so. The Seacrest is close to the Southsea Castle which I found worth visiting. There is a seaside promenade close by and a lovely rock garden near the sea. It was quiet and lovely.

I would stay here again because of the kind and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

having stayed there last year we were looking forward to staying again not knowing that it had changed hands. The room was rather tired and somehow I felt a little uncomfortable. There was work being done in the bar and the whole hotel smelled of paint. Also there was work going on outside either side of the hotel with scaffolding, workmen etc. the staff were very pleasant and the food was excellent. We didn't sleep very well, the bed was comfortable but there was a lot of noise outside the hotel during the night and early morning (cars and people) and as we were staying for four nights this left us rather tired. If it was just a stopover it would have been okay, unsure whether we would risk booking there next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Property: Seacrest Hotel
Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing