We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were on the third floor, which had a great view of the waterfront. The beds were comfy, the room large and clean. The bathroom was clean and spacious, and the shower pressure was good. The included cooked breakfast was great, and arrived quickly. There is no parking onsite, but the reception staff give you a ticket to display on your dashboard, and we parked opposite the entrance. The only drawback was the WiFi, which was hard to access, perhaps because we were on the top floor?
The staff were friendly and helpful, and we thought this hotel was good value.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anemarie t, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed our lovely seaviews, there is always so much going on in the Solent, which also makes it so interesting. Re: the Wifi, we are awaiting our new all singing, all dancing system, which should be up and running within the fortnight, together, hopefully, with Sky programmes to all our rooms. We do, in fact, have a private car park for ten cars, and I apologise if you were not made aware of this. Meanwhile, our refurbishments continue unabated, with as little disruption as possible to our Guests - the worst is now over - and myself and the team look forward to welcoming you to the new and very much enhanced Seacrest Hotel in the future.

Ana Tudor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    205
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
178
420
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here more than once and am yearning to go again -lovely people and friendly staff who excel at personal service . Took our dog and an 87 year old relative to visit our daughter who lives moments away and we were all thrilled with every aspect of our stay- really recommend the food too, piping hot -excellent ingredients and lots to eat -lovely waiting staff.Our daughter nips in and joins us for breakfast when we stay as we cannot find a better breakfast in Southsea . Stayed in different rooms - all have been lovely clean and comfortable -I speak as a bad back sufferer so I recognise a quality mattress !

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are worth the little extra -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzatazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anemarie t, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to the Seacrest Hotel. All our new beds are either Hypnos (which has the Royal Warrant) or Myers, so it is most gratifying to know that the quality is appreciated. This winter we hope to put lovely mattress enhancers on the beds as well, just to make them that little bit more snuggly. Until the next time,

Anemarie Tudor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel we stayed in room 22, the room was really clean, breakfast was outstanding, and the staff could not do enough for you and were very polite. They made my daughter feel very welcome we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We were so pleased to read your kind words, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a good weekend with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review.

Regards,
Ana Tudor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elstead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed in room number 4, for 3 nights last week.
All I can say is that the room was very, very dirty. Stained mattress, dirty cups , toilet brush holder looked like it was not cleaned for weeks, greasy layers of dirt around sink taps.
I would not recommend that place to anyone, I think you can get better , cleaner places elsewhere.
On the top of that, you will wait forever for the breakfast, on Friday , last day of our stay I waited about 20min for the menu.
I also overheard waiter complaining to another family , that he was working for month without day off, after coming back from his holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Magdalena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anemarie t, Owner at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Magdalena,
Your husband booked one of our smaller standard double rooms for yourself and your children, the only room available for that day. Carmen stated on the phone at the time of the booking that she did not think the room we had available was suitable for your need - however, he insisted that it would be just fine. Hence, it came to pass that you, your near new born baby and a very lively 3 year old all shared one of our smaller standard double rooms for three nights, complete with cot and all the necessary paraphernalia for two young children.
There was no problem on check in and you were quite happy with the room until the evening of day two, when after ordering copious amounts of wine to the room during the late afternoon, you decided that you would like a take-away. Our Duty Manager explained that Hotel Policy did not allow for takeways to be brought into the Hotel, but that the Restaurant was open and we would bring anything you wanted to the room. You became aggressive and declined saying that there was nothing on the Menu you wanted. It was then that the complaints started. You demanded to see the General Manager, who was called from her home that evening and spent an unpleasant hour trying to make sense of a somewhat inebriated woman.
1. You did complain about the taps and our General Manager came to the room to clean them. However, she could find nothing wrong with them, but wiped them anyway. Cannot comment on the toilet brush holder or the cups, as you did not mention them at the time. As of today, all is perfectly clean.
2. Re: Breakfast. We could see you had your hands full and our staff were very uncomfortable to serve hot food and a hot drink until you were able to give both your full attention, given that they had to lean over the baby who you had laid on the floor to serve you.
3. Re: the waiter. You only heard part of his conversation, which was of a personal nature, and he was actually talking to Guests who have visited the Hotel for over 25 years. However, I would like to point out that we had three staff members working in the Restaurant that morning doing everything they could to ensure a quality service for our guests.
4. As stated elsewhere on Trip Advisor, our hotel is under refurbishment. One of the first things we have done is to renew all the beds and bedding with good quality brand named products including Hypnos, Myers, Dorma, Foggarty, to name but a few. We have top quality breathable mattress protectors on our beds and pillows, all of which were spotless when they were put on.
We find your review titled “Avoid” to be inappropriate, given that when our General Manager offered to find alternative accommodation for you, you declined, saying that you were most comfortable at the Seacrest Hotel and that the staff had been very kind and helpful to you and your family.
As a small business, reviews of this nature really do affect us and the staff who work so hard here every day. We are all so proud and excited at the huge strides that have been made so far by the Proprietors to improve the facilities at the Seacrest Hotel.

Ana Tudor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at The Seacrest Hotel.
All the staff were kind, friendly and helpful & looked after us very well.
We took our dog with us who was equally well cared for.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Left Cyprus to come to England for a brief visit and then going on to France.
Stayed at the Seacrest Hotel on South Parade. Beautiful setting and magnificent seaviews.
Very stylish lounge and bar and a warm welcome. Food excellent quality and
good service. Will definitely visit again when coming back to England and would
recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at from have a magnificent seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveAnge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

WE stayed overnight before visiting the brilliant new Mary Rose museum. The hotel had a good position with free parking, and good sea views. The bedroom was of a good size, clean with a good en-suite. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice. Overall A VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: Room 16 had a very good outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Property: Seacrest Hotel
Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing