We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay at the Seacrest Hotel”
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great stay at the Seacrest Hotel”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My sister and I had a lovely stay at the Seacrest. Everything about the hotel was very pleasant. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room was bright and clean, with a lovely view across the gardens to the sea. The beds were very comfortable. The parking arrangements were flexible, and we were kindly allowed to enjoy free parking while we went for a walk on our last day. The breakfast was delicious, and we were offered some lovely choices. We will definitely be returning! Many thanks.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, Antoinette, Ana and the Team at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I so enjoyed our little chat on the Sunday morning, and am pleased to hear that you were comfortable during your stay here at the Seacrest Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your sister back to the Seacrest, and thank you for the lovely review, which really does mean a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    207
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
180
439
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The staff were very friendly and quick to resolve any problems. The breakfast was excellent. Room was bright and clean. Parking permit was brilliant as no problem with leaving the car there whilst we toured around via the bus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing the Seacrest Hotel for your visit to Portsmouth.

Ana Tudor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milborne Saint Andrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Both times were excellent! The room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection. The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Both times we stayed we had our dog with us. Perfect for walks along the prom at night with the fairy lights before turning in or a walk in the morning before breakfast,

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are really quiet and shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank operadiva42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we especially like the "home from home" comment. Number 12 South Parade (currently The Seacrest Hotel) started life as a Lodging House in 1863, and has been welcoming visitors through its doors for nearly 150 years. It DOES have a certain ambiance and we all feel it here and are so pleased that you felt it too.

Ana Tudor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Seacrest for 2 nights and must say what a pleasant experience it was.
The staff were very welcoming on arrival, and provided us with some local info, which we thought was nice, a personal touch.
The room was nicely decorated and finished and the view across the gardens to the sea was lovely. The bed was very comfortable, and as with everywhere in the hotel spotless.
The breakfast was superb, hot and plentiful, a real start to the day.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, a lovely and pleasant weekend.
Thanks, and we will certainly stay with you again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you found the Hotel to be welcoming and that we met your expectations. We hope that you will visit us again when you next come to Portsmouth.

Ana Tudor
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff very welcoming & nothing is too much trouble. We booked a family room & a twin room, both rooms spotlessly clean, bed very comfy. Had a wonderful meal in the hotel restaurant & breakfast following morning, food was absolutely delicious & perfectly cooked. Service was superb. Would defiantly stay here again. Thank you to all the staff at Seacrest how made our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is warming to hear that you found the Seacrest to be a happy place, we certainly enjoy working here. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you here again.

Ana Tudor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Seacrest and it was lovely, the room was spotlessly clean with lovely additions of extra pillows, lovely big towels. The staff were very welcoming and we enjoyed hearing about the history of the hotel, my grandparents stayed here in the seventies. Breakfast was delicious, lovely choice, didn't need to eat mid day. Location was good for all local attractions and the view over the Solent was superb, Will definitely be visiting again. The only criticism I have is that the lighting was too low to apply make up and so we had to use the bathroom

Room Tip: A seaview adds to the enjoyment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
So nice of you to take the time to write such a lovely review. Antoinette really enjoys talking to our guests, especially about the history of the building and the surrounding area. Your Aunt would have stayed here at the time when Victor Humphreys and Kurt Rotowski owned the Seacrest. Your Aunt would have had a lot of fun during that time as they were very much larger than life characters and certainly knew how to run a happy Hotel.

Ana Tudor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

we spent 4 days at the Seacrest on holiday in the UK. Our room was clean, airy and bright, the bed was comfortable and overall it was very clean. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend the Seacrest to anyone looking for a beachside hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We always try to do everything we can to make our Guests' stay as comfortable as possible, from the cleaning staff all the way through to the Management. It is always a pleasure when we hear we have succeeded. Thank you for your kind review, it really is very much appreciated by us all.

Ana Tudor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Property: Seacrest Hotel
Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing