We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alan and Sue surprise birthday stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Alan and Sue surprise birthday stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just come back from a two night break at the Seacrest and can't speak highly enough of the welcome we received. I was even treated to a bottle of wine in our room for my birthday and Anton decorated my dessert with happy birthday in hundreds and thousands! The Hotel is decorated to a high standard, is clean, and our room was lovely with a seaview. The bed was the most comfortable one we've ever had in a hotel.
The staff were all lovely - we had some good chats with Carmen and Ana - they were lovely - couldn't do enough for us - we are definitely coming again in the summer as we would love to see how the refurbishements turned out - we will also be recommending this Hotel to our friends.
Also the food was excellent - Anton is a top chef.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBowen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you with us for your birthday, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team at the Seacrest send you their best wishes and we all look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    203
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
178
417
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Seacrest Hotel for two nights over the weekend and had a lovely time. The room was small but the bathroom was one of the most spacious that I have seen in hotels. The staff were very friendly right from the moment we arrived at the hotel right until the end of our stay. They went out of their way to help us out especially when we were trying to find somewhere to get something to eat and kindly gave us a map of the area. Parking is very easy at the hotel and the staff provide you with a parking permit for your stay. The restaurant was lovely also with great service and very tasty food, compliments to the chef! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Portsmouth as it has everything you need! Well done to all the staff for making my stay so enjoyable! :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank em_246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your lovely review. We thank you for choosing the Seacrest and hope that you will visit again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Made to feel very welcome. Charming hotel with very friendly staff, comfortable rooms and lovely views. Must say had the best nights sleep in a long while and topped off with a magnificent breakfast. Will visit again soon xxx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karendgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and slept well. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Seacrest Hotel and thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staines
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here this week for one night whilst visiting the Royal Navy Dockyard. Did so because there were so many positive reviews. So perhaps I was expecting too much. Was rather disappointed. The room was very small, although it had everything required and we did have a lovely view of the sea. But it did seem more like a B&B than a hotel to be honest. The breakfast was great but a shame it was served in the basement!! Can't imagine we will be rushing back any time soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paxcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay. We would willingly have moved you to another room had you let us know you were not happy.

Our Dining room, which is greatly admired, is stylish, light and spacious, its ceiling being the same height as most modern properties built in the last 50 years. We are sorry it was not to your liking.

We regret that we did not meet your expectations and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for a weekend with breakfast included. My wife and I felt we were made to feel like we were really welcome, all the staff couldn't do enough when asked but also respected our privacy. Having breakfast in front of an open fire in the restaurant was lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel, much better than any chain hotel. Thank you for a lovely weekend seacrest. P.s we are not related to these people this is a genuine review.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you will come and stay again one day. Meanwhile, we thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

stayed at the seacrest in the past ,the staff are very helpfull and polite, we stayed in room 25 opposite the lift so you can hear when the the lift starts and stops but not enought to keep you awake , the bedroom has a nice sea view ,and the bed is huge. the bathroom shower a little small but not alot that can be done to change that . needs re decorating but that is an ongoing thing the first floor is already being done ,so things in hand ,nice cosy bar although we did not use it ,breakfast ,very attentive staff and owner breakfast was very nice,served hot plates ,at last ive found somewhere that heats the plates ,parking not an issue as you get a permit from hotel so you can part outside ,,cab to town only £4.50 and arranged at reception , this is a very nice clean hotel great staff great location ,cant go wrong staying at the seacrest

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boxer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. The present Management have been at the Seacrest for just over a year now. During that time, and with the help of an Interior Designer, they have refurbished the Lounges, Reception, the Dining Room and one of the Superior Rooms, all of which has been a great success. They have now turned their attention to all of the Bedrooms and Bathrooms, which are being completely overhauled this winter, and at no inconvenience to our Guests, who won't even know the Builders are there.

The owners and staff are very proud of what has been achieved here in just over a year, and are delighted when we receive a review such as yours. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you to the new Seacrest Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel in MAY 2013, it was a suprise booking for Her as we were visiting Her Father for the 1st time since meeting her, I had personally asked for room No15 as recommended from a previous reviewer!

what can I say the room was fantastic, and my partner was blown away by its beauty!

we stayed for one night, and had breakfast the next morning which was definetely a deleight to eat

the staff were very welcoming and polite,

really felt warm and welcomed, sorry the review has taken a while but but late than never thanks again and I hope to book again soon X

Room Tip: no 15!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1050DaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
What can I say Daz? It MUST have been special if you remember it all this time later! This was our first room (a seaview superior) to be refurbished and you will be pleased to know that if you come again, you will be spoiled for choice, as we are currently refurbishing all the others to the same high standard. It was obviously a very special time for you, so its so lovely to hear the Seacrest had a small part to play in making it that bit more special. Thank you for the review, its the best ever! Happy New Year to you, and we look forward to welcoming you here again. Ana and all at the Seacrest Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Property: Seacrest Hotel
Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing