We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel, particularly when all bedroom refurbs completed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value hotel, particularly when all bedroom refurbs completed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent breakfast and public rooms very well decorated. Nice view across green space with sea in distance. Parking permit. Staff helpful.

Bedroom slightly old fashioned and we thought in need of refurbishment. As hotel is in process of renovating all bedrooms possibly ours was one not yet done.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourists-from-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We are pleased to hear that you liked the communal areas of the Hotel which have just been refurbished. We are now on the last 7 bedrooms, the room you stayed in is being taken off next week. We should be finished by the middle of April, by which time all our bedrooms will be completed. Please look us up on Facebook (Seacrest Hotel, Portsmouth) to follow our progress.
We thank you for taking the time to review us and hope to see you again one day in the "new" Seacrest Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    206
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
178
420
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely welcome ,by a lovely lady,great breakfast,the double room was small,but cosy and very clean,The shower wasn't very powerful and the radiator in the bedroom wasn't working but to be fair they tried to fix it but it didn't make any difference.They are refurbishing the whole place at the moment,which I think will make a big difference.its in a great location near to shops,and the museums.all in all we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We did have a problem with the radiator in your room the weekend you stayed with us, and we are sorry we were unable to fix it whilst you were with us. We are pleased that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for being so understanding. Hopefully, we will see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Recent refurbishment is delightful. Some rooms yet to be done and some furniture yet to be replaced. We had a very friendly welcome and a comfortable bedroom although I wish we had booked a sea view room which looked better still.
The location is only a short bus ride from dockyard activities. Free parking is also available.
The restaurant is very pleasant with an open gas fire and quite a good menu at a reasonable price. We would go again.

Room Tip: worth booking a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for recent review, it was kind of you to take the time. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here during a shopping trip to the Gunwharf Quays. Its not far away from the city centre and overlooks the beach at Southsea, so quite a nice outlook. I have to say that we were made very welcome during our stay here, with advice about nearby restaurants etc. The hotel itself is gradually being bought back to its original standard by the current owner and when finished it will be much better. The room we stayed in hadn't been refurbished so was a little tired, having said that it was clean. We slept well in our small yet comfortable room and in the morning enjoyed a lovely full English breakfast.
Overall a lovely hotel with friendly staff...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you so much for your taking the time to write a review, it is kind of you. We are almost there. We have ten new rooms as of today with another 6 in the pipeline in the next 2 weeks. They look absolutely stunning, and we are all delighted with them, we hope our customers will be too. The Seacrest is a "dear old lady", having welcomed visitors through her doors since 1863, first as a lodging house, then accommodating the WAAF during the war, along with the rest of the terrace, and finally from 1946 as a Hotel. She is very special and deserves the love and attention she is now getting. We hope you will come back one day, and look forward to showing you around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My first night away by myself in ages and couldn't have asked for more, even thought it was only me and only staying one night from the moment I walked in I was made to feel welcome, lovely decor in the front areas and the restaurant area was gorgeous with a lovely roaring fire. The room was surprisingly spacious for a single room with a good tv with dvd player in and all the other bits and bobs etc. Everywhere was spotless and the pillows were very comfy too. They booked cabs for me, lovely little bar with a couple of real ales too. Great nights sleep and the breakfast was yummy and looked amazing too. If I ever needed to stay in the area I would definately come back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xarneewoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Should you visit again, we will be able to offer you one of our newly renovated bedrooms, which are now nearing completion. We send you our best wishes, Ana and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just come back from a two night break at the Seacrest and can't speak highly enough of the welcome we received. I was even treated to a bottle of wine in our room for my birthday and Anton decorated my dessert with happy birthday in hundreds and thousands! The Hotel is decorated to a high standard, is clean, and our room was lovely with a seaview. The bed was the most comfortable one we've ever had in a hotel.
The staff were all lovely - we had some good chats with Carmen and Ana - they were lovely - couldn't do enough for us - we are definitely coming again in the summer as we would love to see how the refurbishements turned out - we will also be recommending this Hotel to our friends.
Also the food was excellent - Anton is a top chef.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBowen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you with us for your birthday, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team at the Seacrest send you their best wishes and we all look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Seacrest Hotel for two nights over the weekend and had a lovely time. The room was small but the bathroom was one of the most spacious that I have seen in hotels. The staff were very friendly right from the moment we arrived at the hotel right until the end of our stay. They went out of their way to help us out especially when we were trying to find somewhere to get something to eat and kindly gave us a map of the area. Parking is very easy at the hotel and the staff provide you with a parking permit for your stay. The restaurant was lovely also with great service and very tasty food, compliments to the chef! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Portsmouth as it has everything you need! Well done to all the staff for making my stay so enjoyable! :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank em_246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your lovely review. We thank you for choosing the Seacrest and hope that you will visit again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Property: Seacrest Hotel
Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing