We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, cheap & perfect location”
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We booked the Seacrest for an overnight stay whilst visiting friends for an engagement party.
On arrival we were very kindly greeted & promptly booked in.
The room (and the whole hotel) looked like it had been re-vamped very recently to a high standard.
A nice little bar with good priced drinks was a good touch.
And the full English was just cracking. Top marks all round- well done!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leebeemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are hoping that we have been able to fill a need in Portsmouth for an independent family Hotel that offers a flexible range of bedrooms to suit every need at a reasonable price. We have everything from our truly superior rooms, all the way through to our classic rooms, which, although smaller, offer every comfort in a quality setting. We are pleased you enjoyed our new look family room, which is just awaiting its 40 inch TV entertainment centre, which should keep the kids entertained..... We are also happy that you enjoyed our breakfasts. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

we have just come home from a weekend break at the sea crest hotel,a wonderful weekend, the room was lovely,the staff wonderful,we would recommend it,looking forward to staying there again.the staff were very attentive.

Room Tip: higher floors have better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying in one of our newly refurbished bedrooms and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Seacrest hotel on the 5th April. The welcome was great and the reception area really nice. We booked the family room on the top floor. I did read a bad review complaining of strong paint smells but thought that that was solved! Mistake! We opened the door and the room stank of fresh paint, to the point that I didn't think it was reasonable to expect anyone to sleep in the room.
I opened the window and immediately this solved part of the problem but then made the room cold!!!! I did tell the lady on reception but she just said that she will tell the owners.
Bottom line......... Non water based paints smell....open the windows, it helps. As the hotel is refurbished, I believe clients should be warned about the smells when booking! I was told that the decoration had taken place some 5 weeks prior. As a decorator, I know you need to keep windows open!
Upside- everything else, and breakfast fab. I would book again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Awfully glad to hear that the Seacrest was to your liking, and that you would return.

We are sorry that you could smell fresh paint, especially as the room had been painted over five weeks prior to your stay with a water based paint. Unfortunately, we need to refurbish if we are to achieve and maintain the high standards that the public today demand.

The "Great overnight Stay" review underneath yours refers to the family room you stayed in, and as they do not mention paint smells, (they stayed 17th April) I can only assume that all is now well.

Thank you again, Ana Tudor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Arrived with 7 members of the family for an overnight stay in 3 rooms. Very welcoming and pleasant staff. Great location to get to the Historic Docks by bus. Rooms were all good - the sea view from the Family Room was lovely - with all advertised facilities, lovely bedlinen and decor (enjoyed using the toiletries!). Evening dinner in the comfortable dining room was absolutely fine - everyone enjoyed the food. Breakfast was excellent. Despite being full the hotel was peaceful and quiet. Public rooms are comfortable and newly refurbished to a lovely standard. I was so pleased that we found the Seacrest through Tripadvisor - my in-laws enjoyed their treat very much, thank you. We would certainly recommend it and would stay again when in this area.

Room Tip: Plenty of room in family room at the front (3rd floor) for 2 adults and 2 young teens (both of whom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

It was so nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at The Seacrest Hotel, and in particular, our new look family room. It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Seacrest in the future. Meanwhile, thank you for your kind review, which means a lot to the team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed with a group of friends. Rooms were clean and recently refurbished to a good standard. The food menu had a good choice and food was cooked as required and well presented. The staff were friendly and efficient. Parking was in the road by permit supplied free by hotel. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

It was a pleasure looking after your little group over the weekend and it was lovely to see you enjoying yourselves. Thank you so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. We arrived early (about 10.30am) and I went in to ask about parking so we could go into Portsmouth until it was time to book in - but we were warmly welcomed and told we could book in straight away as the room was ready; we were given a parking permit and a map and then enjoyed a lovely easy walk along the seafront and through old Portsmouth to Gunwaharf and the Historical Dockyard (which is a must - so much to see). Our room had everything we needed and it was spotlessly clean as was the modern bathroom. The free wi-fi and parking were a lovely bonus. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, all cooked to order and there was a good assortment of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and fruit juices; my husband had the full english which he said was first class and I had 2 poached eggs on toast which were cooked perfectly. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and we will definitely consider staying here again if we return to portsmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEL219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are always happy to check our Guests in early if we are able to. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Seacrest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My girlfriend & I were visiting the areas of Southsea, Portsmouth & the Isle of Wight. We stayed at the Seacrest for two nights & found the Hotel was ideally situated for our planned excersions, using the local bus routes & Hovercraft across to the Isle of Wight. On arrival, we received a warm and friendly welcome and were impressed by the decor in the reception room. Our room also didn't disappoint. We stayed on the second floor, in a double superior with sea view. The room was luxuriously decorated and perfectly accessorised. We had a wardrobe, chest of drawers, lounge chair, dressing table t.v & tea & coffee making facilities. We also had a lovely view along the seafront & across to the Isle of Wight. The bathroom was modern & freshly decorated with the option for a relaxing bath or choice of two shower types. I can also honestly say the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.
The dining area was also a lovely place to start the day. We ate fantasically well from the cooked breakfast menu, to help set us up for our journeys ahead. I had the scrambled eggs and salmon on a toasted muffin and my girlfriend ate the Belgian waffle with fruits & syrup. The second day she took the scrambled egg & salmon option and I went for the full English. All were beautifully cooked & tasted great. We also sampled from the breakfast buffet which contained cereals, joghurts, fruits and juices. The attention to detail & service were wonderful. All of the staff that we encountered were friendly & helpful throughout our stay.
The lounge & bar areas were also relaxing & styled in keeping with the rest of the hotel. We feel that credit must go to the owners for the renovations they have undertaken in the past year. The entire hotel has such a warmth and homely feel to it. They obviously have a lot of love for the Seacrest. It will be a pleasure to stay here again in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Seacrest Hotel. You stayed in Room 16 on the second floor of the Hotel, which has lovely views across the gardens to the sea. This room has recently been completely refurbished along with all the others, and we are pleased you found it to be comfortable.

Back in '83, the Seacrest was just one of 9 traditional seaside Hotels on the small terrace between Florence and Burgoyne Road, facing the sea. It is now the only one, the others having been developed into apartments, a fate that the Seacrest escaped by just a few days back in 2007. She is very special old lady with a long history, having had just five owners in her 150 year life. You are very intuitive when you say she is much loved. The present Owners have owned the Hotel for 31 years, having leased it out during a 10 year retirement period. They are delighted to be back and are enjoying bringing the old girl into the 21st Century.

We thank you for your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florence House
Florence House
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
749 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £67 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing