We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou for great hospitality.”
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seacrest Hotel
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Thankyou for great hospitality.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

1. The staff are amazing. the owner, she's a total treat. thank you for all your help, advice and more.
2. the rooms, they are beautiful. I am on a hunt for the wallpaper from the family rrom as I need it in my bedroom.
3. the views are fab over the solent. I recommend getting a sea view room. you won't regret it.
4. breakfast! proper fresh fruit, juice, cereals, not just full English, plenty of other options too. And good strong coffee.

The family room, for 4, we had extra bed ( room 23) so for 5. with en suite shower. Still plenty of room. My sons would have preferred bath over shower, but that's just them being fussy as they like to laze in a bath at night.
good sized beds, very comfy, lots of pillows. super warm quilts. Fresh bottled water, tea, coffee ( plenty of milk) hot chocolate. Bathroom with shower gel, shampoo and body lotion all in orange scent.
Lifts only take small amount of people, but there are stairs.
I can't fault this place. I will defo return. Thank you for an amazing mini break.
free wifi and parking too! We didn't use the bar as we had kids. The room had great tv too so kids fell asleep watching dinos. :D

I'd call this a trendy boutique hotel at fab value with excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are definitely worth it. and trust the hostess, she's full of local knowledge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilts78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought our Staff and Owner to be helpful. Our views from the second and third floor of the Hotel really are second to none, as the Solent is an extremely busy waterway and there is always so much going on, we are glad you liked it.

The wallpaper in R23 is very beautiful, there are quite a few of our Guests wallpapering their homes with it as we speak. We are always handing out samples at Reception! It comes from Brewers.

We deliberately put a large Smart TV in the family room, as we envisaged the children would like it. We are pleased to hear that they used it, It is so nice when a plan comes together!

Many of our guests tell us that our accommodation is of a very similar standard to a Boutique Hotel. We have certainly aimed to make our rooms, the smaller ones as well as the larger, as attractive and as comfortable as possible, giving our Guests as enjoyable a stay as we possibly can - without the pretension and prices of a Boutique Hotel.

Thank you again for your lovely review, it really is appreciated by all of us here at the Seacrest Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    215
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
189
455
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Just got back from our resent stay at the Seacrest Hotel and what a wonderful time we had. The Hotel should definitely be more than a 2 star .We had a room with a sea view which was lovely. The food was excellent with a lovely select for both breakfast and evening meals. The staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome ,nothing was to much trouble for them. .We would highly recommend this Hotel to anybody and will definitely be going back again.

Room Tip: Front rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Seacrest Hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you during your time hear and we are delighted to hear that you will be returning. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed for one night as an anniversary surprise for my husband. Very warm welcome from the staff. Even though we had arrived very early we were able to check in shortly after to a very clean nicely decorated room with a sea view overlooking well kept gardens. Everything we could possibly need was provided. Bathroom was spotless with plenty of clean towels. Very comfortable bed.

Knowing we had only two days to explore, we were provided with a map and lots of local knowledge of the area to help make the most of our short visit. Free parking and wi-fi was a bonus. Perfect location. Excellent cooked breakfast in the morning in lovely surroundings - we highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a seaview and were not disappointed. Despite overlooking the front of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review which is so appreciated by all of us here at the Hotel. It is nice to hear that you thought the bathroom was spotless, the room nicely decorated and the bed comfortable. You stayed in Room 16 on the second floor, which has a lovely view across the Venetian Gardens to the Solent, we are pleased you enjoyed this.

I know that our Proprietor enjoyed chatting to you about his and your boyhood jaunts, as I understand you both hail from the same Town.

We are delighted that you would return to us we all look forward to welcoming you back. Meanwhile, Happy Anniversary to you both for next week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great hotel, lovely staff. Everything you need for a night away. Staff went above and beyond to help. Could see a tiny bit of the sea from our room. Don't park in the wrong place- use their car park at the rear if the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBonewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatham kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Mr & mrs lacy. We stayed here for 3 night in august 20 to 23rd. This was our second time in staying. We think the hotel is very clean, ant the staff and owners are very friendly and helpful nothink is never to much trouble for them. They have a nice selection for breakfast, and evening meals. It is in a good location right on the seafront, five minute from southsea town on foot, 20 minute walk to portsmouth town, 30 miniute walk to Gunwharf Quays shopping outlet and Spinnaker tower.There is a lot u can do within walking distance from the seacrest,also 30 minute walk to the historic dockyard. I cannot say enough how my husband and i enjoyed our stay.The owners sit and have a good chat with you as if you have known them for years.The lounge area is so comfortable , it is just like being at home it does not feel like a hotel, as soon ad you walk through the door it just feels right. So i would strongly recommend a stay st the Seacrest hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marialacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Seacrest Hotel started life in 1863 as a Lodging House and has been welcoming Guests through its doors for over 150 years, it is a very homely building and always will be. Our owners came here over thirty years ago, and have recently been able to adopt a less hands on approach to the running of the Hotel, which in turn gives them the time to chat with our Guests, something they were unable to do in the early days. I do know they enjoy this very much!

With regards to the standards in the Hotel, we are pleased that you found it to be clean and comfortable, Chef is also pleased that you enjoyed the food.

It has been a pleasure looking after you here and we hope you will return yet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and although our room was small, it was adequate. It had everything we needed for an overnight stay including toiletries, tea, coffee and fresh towels. And a seaview was a bonus.

The location is excellent and we walked along the front to Portsmouth and took a taxi back later in the evening. There is so much to see, lovely places to eat and drink and lots to keep everyone happy along the way.

On check in I asked what was going on on Southsea Common, as it was fenced off. Unfortunately the lady didn't know, which I felt wasn't very helpful when enquiring about what was on locally surely the staff show know! It was a family festival.

We had a lovely fresh cooked breakfast. Plenty of toast, tea and coffee set us up for another walk along the coast.
All in all a perfect and pleasant stay at The Seacreast.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EFrancesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Portsmouth and that the Seacrest was able to provide you with a nice comfortable accommodation in a good location whilst you were out exploring the many interesting sites in our area.

With regards to our Duty Manager not knowing what was going on on the Common. This is inexcusable and we can only put our hands up and say - sorry, we got it wrong.

Please accept our apologies and we hope that this will not deter you from choosing the Seacrest Hotel should you visit Portsmouth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Mr & Mrs Young / Midsomer Norton
We stayed from 18th to the 22nd aug 2014, We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful, The hotel and especially our room to be extremely clean each day .
We did not eat in the restaurant in the evenings as we like to try out local eating establishments But the full English breakfasts in the morning was very good , We would recommend this hotel and wish there were more hotels like this along Southsea sea front

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyyoung50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Those were the days when there were 9 hotels just on our little terrace alone! When the present Owners took over the Seacrest they inherited the Hotel Gong! The Landlady next door in the Grove Hotel also had one - and used it! She beat it at 8.00am for "Commercial Travellers", 9.00am for Holiday makers, and then again at 6.00pm for dinner! Thankfully, our Gong was put in the attic! Wonderful memories.... Sadly, the Seacrest is now the very last of the small traditional family run Hotels left on the seafront, and although its facilities have been updated to the 21st Century, we like to think that we have been able to maintain a little of the old fashioned magic (minus the gong) that made these dear old Hotels so special.

Finally, we are pleased that you found our little Hotel to be extremely clean and our staff friendly and helpful. We are also thrilled that you would recommend us, and hope that you would choose us should you visit Portsmouth in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
709 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Property: Seacrest Hotel
Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing