We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D-Day Museum

D-Day Museum
Ranked #8 of 117 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Portsmouth's D-Day Museum is Britain's only museum dedicated solely to covering all aspects of the D-Day landings in Normandy, France, on 6 June 1944. D-Day was a turning point in the Second World War, and a moment when the course of world events depended on the Allied troops taking part. Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother opened the Museum in June 1984, on the 40th Anniversary of D-Day. The Museum’s centrepiece is the magnificent Overlord Embroidery. At 272 feet (83 metres) in length, this is the world’s longest embroidery of its kind, and the Twentieth Century equivalent of the Bayeux Tapestry. It was commissioned by Lord Dulverton of Batsford (1915-92) as a tribute to the sacrifice and heroism of those men and women who took part in Operation Overlord. Designed by artist Sandra Lawrence, the Embroidery took five years to complete. An accompanying multi-language audio commentary brings the events of the Embroidery to life. The Museum's unique and dramatic film show uses archive film to create a moving experience that captures the wartime atmosphere. Extensive displays of personal memorabilia, maps, uniforms, vehicles and other historic artefacts complete your visit to the D-Day Museum. Full size dioramas include the map room at the Allied headquarters at Southwick House, and a Horsa glider that has landed in Normandy. A real LCVP landing craft is on display, as is a rare Beach Armoured Recovery Vehicle (BARV) tank.Please see our website for more details.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited yesterday with my 6 year old granddaughter who is studying D Day at school.
Loved the Overlord Tapestry and found out many facts that I never knew.
There were veterans present who you could talk too. Live locally but have never visited the museum .I intend too visit again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jkmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    206
    52
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Give it a go- I drove past it for a whole year!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I live in Pompey and drive past the D-Day museum most days. I was hosting a friend and instead of hitting one of Pompey's many pubs we decided to try this. The price was reasonable and we were lucky enough to catch a D-Day veteran in the museum. We stopped and chatted to him and he gave us his perspective on the battle and the war. The museum has presented the events of D-day and the war through several mediums, I found this different but tasteful. The visual presentation was accurate and concise. The order and layout of the exhibitions was sound. So overall very good, would recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but dim!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is an excellent museum and deals well with the subject. However far too many of the exhibits were poorly lit and therefore difficult to see. I got the point where I gave up trying to read any of the information cards because it was too dark.

I have visited many museums on military history and the best ones are those with a button to press which lights up the display area for enough time to view the exhibits. I appreciate there is a cost implication but the addition of a few audio notes would also help.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveOParley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

i live in Portsmouth and have passed the this place many times but never been in but have now , just to have a look and for history buffs , and people intrested in the ww 2 this is for you , as its the 70th anniversary this year , they have many artifacts and videos to watch , and the curators are very knowledgeable in there field, so if you are on holiday here during the celebrations go go, as there are many re enactments taking place across all of june , and many things to see and do and a fab café across the road where you can sit outside in the gardens enclosed or chip shop named rock and sole next door

also a word of intrest if you are a Portsmouth resident its free entry , Hampshire residents are subsidiesed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bambi301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pskov, Russia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Come this year!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Ive been here many times,its full of history and a very important link to Portsmouth and the 2nd World War. This year is the 70th anniversary of the D Day landings,and its even more so worth visiting,with talks and other commemorative activities coming up. A must for history buffs!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D-Day Museum also viewed

 

Been to D-Day Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing