We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame that it is a tad Mediochre”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Yecla, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shame that it is a tad Mediochre”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Shame that the lift was out of action (it had been for 3 weeks, we were told) but some consolation that we were on the first floor. The other members of our family were on the third floor, but were young & fit !!

Our room (no 125) had all the necessary items in the bathroom for having a shower. Shower caps, shower gels even a notice on the wall to ask politely to always use the shower curtain.........pity the room didn't have a shower !!!!!

Breakfasts were buffet style and acceptable.

Special mention for Irene on reception, who was charming & most helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wsmYecla_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    272
    168
    113
    75
See reviews for
207
351
35
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Easy to find a parking space on arrival, and it's free to guests. Car park was full a few hours later though as there was a function, so recommend getting there early at peak times.

We had room 127, on the first floor. We had a balcony overlooking the common, and a sea view, which caught the sun in the morning. The room was very spacious (if a little dated), with a little 'dressing room' area with a wardrobe between the bedroom and the bathroom. Bathroom contained a bath and a separate shower, and there was a hairdryer.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, choosing instead to visit one of the many in the neighbouring roads.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabbycat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The Queens hotel is in a good position in South Sea, for restaurants and night life. Their food in the restaurant is overpriced and the bar menu I found the same, in the street outside the hotel there are a lot of good priced restaurants. The rooms of which I have stayed in a few over the past three years, are acceptable, normal windows so you can hear the city all night long, some of the rooms over look an inner service area, over all the hotel needs a revamp to bring it into the 21st century. For the price you can get better, as there is a large choice of Hotels, Apartments and Bed & breakfast within Portsmouth. Internet was a system called Cloud, which you have to buy time to use.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrighton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We went out for dinner here one sunday night. It can be hard to find the menu for the night you are going as there are several. The service is attentive and prompt. The food is absolutely gorgeous. Wine is refilled for you. Bread is served as a side. We had 3 courses, I had swordfish and was apprehensive but I would order it again from here. After a bottle of wine and 3 courses we were extremely satisfied. Amazing surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skydiver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We had our Wedding Reception here last April and had an amazing day. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Us and our 80+ guests were very well looked after and about 30 rooms were booked out by our guests and a lovely time was had by all. The food was brilliant - both the Wedding meal and also the breakfast we had the next morning. We had a beautiful room and our parents were given free upgrades as well. My inlaws returned last weekend to stay for a night and reminisce and had a lovely stay again. Would highly recommend for overnight stays and also as a venue for any special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viki83viki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Worth going for sea view out look from other rooms looks out onto other hotels? across the street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Lovely staff, excellent location over looking the common, fantastic to sit on balcony and watch cruise ships dock especially at night when lit up. Fab breakfast little expensive but beautiful surroundings. Rooms very clean and to a high standard very quiet would recommend for couples or families, and we are definitely going to return!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room with view £10 extra but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolMrsparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
655 reviews
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing