We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great short break”
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed at the queens hotel for a short break of two nights. We stayed in a deluxe room and would highly recommend this. We had a balcony and view on the solent which my husband really enjoyed as he could watch ships coming and going into Portsmouth. The room itself was large and decorated to a good standard with both shower and bath. The hotels entrance area had comfy chairs where you could sit and read the paper and like the rest of the hotel was edwardian in style. There was a small bar where you could spend a quiet evening or just have pre dinner drinks. The restaurant could do with some decorating and tender loving care as the furniture is a little worn however the food makes up for this. There is a summer menu at present and the food is beautifully presented, well priced between £8 - £15 for a main course and tastes great. However the menu is limited and if you were staying longer then you might want to look at eating out. The breakfast is fantastic. Buffet style there is everything you could want from continental breakfast to fully cooked. The staff are all pleasant, professional and eager to please even to explaining the history of the hotel. This is a well placed hotel for anyone wanting to visit southsea and portsmouth and we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

A grand building, superbly located, with very willing-to-please staff, the Queen's should be good. Sadly, it isn't. Even before you reach the pleasant reception staff, you're greeted by the smell from the basement of the men's urinals, which will follow you to at least the first floor. Your check-in, however, will be well handled and an enthusiastic porter will carry your bags to your room. (Those of a nervous disposition should not take the lift.) At this point, you will realise that everything in the hotel, except the staff, is shoddy. So, for example, the rooms have been refurbished in the last few years, but only to the cheapest DIY standards. All the fixtures & fittings are bargain basement, installed by amateurs, and even some of the windows & doors don't work. Nor does the expensive wi-fi. All this is nothing, however, to the experience of trying to eat in the hotel. Don't do it! Not even breakfast. (Room-only rates are available.) However, the rooms are well cleaned by pleasant staff, ample car parking is free and views from many rooms are excellent. However, the bottom line is that the gold-Mercedes-driving manager should be sacked and replaced by someone willing to do the job properly. The hotel and the staff deserve it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idiopathos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here with husband and 2 daughters in a double room (First floor) and a twin (3rd floor). Great sea views, rooms fitted out well enough and large bathrooms. Over bath shower in our room which wasn't particularly effective and had a tendency to fall into the bath, towel rail appeared rather fragile as well! Loo fitted with a macerator which briefly made a fair bit of noise. Breakfast was OK, but vegie daughter was disappointed there was no vegie option offered. Sausages and bacon were rather tasteless.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedwiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The hotel is in an excellent position overlooking the sea with many ship movements in and out of Portsmouth to watch. Southsea common and the town are nearby with a good variety of restaurants. Bus services to the many points of interest in Portsmouth and Southsea stop outside the door.
The service at the hotel is excellent with plenty of staff availabe to assist you. Being an old hotel the rooms tend to be large and are clean. Some have excellent sea views. In common with other character hotels it specialises in weekend functions but I have never been unduly disturbed by these during the three times I have stayed in the summer.
The breakfast is adequate but not sumptuous eg make your own toast, no cheese available. Bar meals are good but I did not use the restaurant for lunch or dinner.
The only really unsatisfactory aspect of this hotel is the single lift serving 3 floors. This did not function for the entire duration of my stay (7 nights). It had also failed for 2 nights during my stay in July last year. If you are elderly or disabled it is worth checking the lift availability before arriving at the hotel.

Room Tip: Superior sea view rooms on the second floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

From the outside, this hotel looks very nice, but upon closer inspection it doesn't take long for the cracks to appear (literally and figuratively).

The entire hotel (except for the recently redecorated bar) needs a complete refurbishment. Carpets are dirty and crumpled and the reception area smells like a public toilet (although oddly, the toilets are reasonably clean). The fake marble effect decor is hideous, all the furniture has seen better days, and most things are either faulty or broken. The lift was out of order (and apparently has been for weeks).

The food - well what can I say. I think I ate something that was formerly beef, but I'm not sure. Whatever it was it was roasted beyond the point of recognition. I dare say a DNA sample may have been required to assess what it was.

The staff - bit of a mixed one here. Some of them were very kind and helpful. Some were just plain rude.

In summary, this hotel is clearly lacking investment. The owners either have no money or just don't care (I'm guessing both). I would go as far as saying this is an awful hotel. Something like a Travel Inn would easily surpass what this place had to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swordfish805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I actually didn't stay in this hotel, my parents stayed to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. As part of their stay I contacted the hotel to organise a surprise at a local restaurant. Unfortunately my simple request resulted in my parents being left on Southsea pier by a taxi. They then had to walk to the restaurant I had booked. I contacted the hotel to express my disappointment and asked for some form of apology and perhaps a complimentary bottle of wine. To my surprise the hotel director took no responsibility for the error and blamed the taxi company even though I'd given the hotel the address of the restaurant 3 times. If you do decide to stay at this hotel then make sure you haven't got a surprise, it may be a lovely on the inside but if thingd go wrong then its not their fault remember

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank mrspegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

As the lift was out of action and on the 3rd floor No offer to take bags, Told to pay £10 extra for a sea Veiw which I didnt want Sleeping Mattress springs where showing through, Bath water pressure to low took 5mins to fill, Food ordered from bar menu Only fish and chips told fryer out of action. Better Value at a Travel lodge, Inn Keepers or Premier Inn

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 143430Glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
4.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £73 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing